We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer at Camayan Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel last April 20-21, 2014. We booked 2 rooms at the new building avoiding the beachfront building because of previous negative reviews. Booking was easy in their website and the reservations personnel responded quickly to my initial queries about rates and availability.

The rooms and veranda were spacious with 2 queen beds though the bathrooms were a bit dated. The accomodation came with buffet breakfast but the food was just so-so. We had dinner in the hotel and the food was just okay, nothing to rave about. We liked the performances along the beach at night which were entertaining while having drinks or pica-pica at the Sand Bar Restaurant. This was a good idea on the part of the hotel management because the area is far from the happenings in Subic and there is not much to do in the hotel at night.

The beach was peaceful and quiet in the early morning with only a handful of the hotel residents swimming and some monkeys swinging on the trees. However, at around 7:30 am, the beach visitors from the outside started arriving in groups with their food and paraphernalia and the beach was not as nice anymore.

This is a nice beach place to go considering the short travel time thru SCTEX and the nice restaurants in Subic where you can have your meals.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psl1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here because it is located next to the Ocean Adventure, then we were given 20% discount for the entrance fee in Ocean Adventure we were happy about that. As for the price of their room I think it quite fits the room quality it wasn't bad... their bathrooms have bath tubs and hot water which my kids loved, the room service is okay a little too slow sometimes, the minibar was almost broken needs replacing. The beds were comfy, our room location was fine since we asked for ground level room fronting near beach area, was happy about that too. Complimentary breakfast was okay. There was entertainment (live band and magician) during the night, they also have gaming area that me and my husband get to enjoyed for a bit (we played foosball). And finally the beach was okay, water is clear, it is no boracay or galera but good enough for a 3 hour drive, my only complain is for the people who uses the beach I saw garbage everywhere, maybe if the management could put up trash bins it could be prevented, anyway to sum up, hotel is good for a family getaway we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms third building fronting beach area for a convinient location to the resort facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has trust issues with its guest. First thet ask you for a 1000 peso security deposit, CASH! Staple it in the form and you can refund upon check out. Who does this obviously insulting gesture?
Second they have a checklist for every item in the room, towels and all. Third, they remind you by phone and letter that check out is at 12nn.

To the hotel management, I dont think any of your guest will steal your old stinky towels, or destroy your already worn out furniture and TV.

Aircon is busted, tea is not existent, bottled water is 2 but you paid for 4. Reception is hesitant to give you water. Breakfast is terrible, food is bland and the flies will make you loose your appetite.

Stayed: May 2014
10  Thank ilovehongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good Points:
1. Easy to reach via SCTEX. You will not get lost. Just follow the Ocean Adventure direction signs. Camayan Beach Resort is just beside Ocean Adventure.
2. Very friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. Special mention - Arnold of the Reef restaurant, Jamaica of Front Desk, and Ferlyn for taking extra effort to accommodate our booking requests.
3. Breakfast Buffet though limited in variety and selections, is good...at least they didn't use powdered juice drink and the brewed coffee is okay (not 3-in-one variety).
4. Clean and clear beach...no trash.
5. Monkeys - they provide a feeling that you are in an animal reserve.
6. Evening entertainment - good performers.

Bad Points:
1. Very ordinary room accommodations. The lights are too dim. When you're traveling with children, you want to have an option to turn on a bright light so you can see your stuff.
2. Badly designed and ugly bathrooms...everything gets wet and some bathrooms don't even have drain in the toilet bowl floor area...it gets flooded because of the pooling water. And no bidet.
3. Small and old TVs.
4. Flies, flies, and lots of flies in the Reef restaurant where they serve the buffet breakfast. I hardly enjoyed eating since I had to continuously wave away the flies. Couldn't they screen the area?
5. It takes forever to check-out because they will literally count every towel in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank word s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Was a great experience swimming with the fishes! And I didn't even have to swim too far from the shore! I saw a tiger fish, some zebra fish, cougar fish (is there such a fish?) and some others I don't know how to describe. I'd give it 5 stars if they had a pool, they served better food and their cable worked all the time. They had a really strong wifi connection though. ;)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Travel time from Manila to here is almost same as travelling to Laiya Batangas.
Concierge was accommodating and staffs are helpful. Our room was on the 3rd floor, they have no elevator, since my mom has knee problems. They "sometimes" lack manpower for assisting guests with their baggage.

Room has 2 queen beds which can accommodate 5 adults max. Bathroom has a big tub which you can shower there and a faucet. While the faucet layout in the room area is not well thought out. Sure, the location of the faucet is in front of the CR but the faucet layout is bad. You can't max the water level because it'll spill over.

The room was okay BUT they don't have a fridge.
How do they expect guests from cooling water or juices this summer, put it in front of the AC?
Also regarding the security of your room, when going to the beach, you can only lock the room via the doorknob. No double-lock or key card for preventing attempts of room theft.
There is no in-house safe. That's why we always bring valuables with us all the time.
The safe is on the concierge area which you can put your valuables there.

The beach has a fine white sand, but don't expect boracay sand level. I didn't get to enjoy the beach though because it is very crowded and looked like a public pool (I guess due to the holy week). There is a life guard in case something goes wrong,

Despite the negatives on the room and the beach. I love their restaurant. The waiters are very accommodating and nice. The performers at night is also quite amusing.
Honestly, the only thing I enjoyed here is dining night time by the beach. Their food is reasonably priced and is good. Service is excellent.

I think wouldn't go back in this area. Due to the fact that I can go to the South area which has lesser toll fees, almost same beach and variety of hotel to choose from.

The only good thing travelling here, that I can think of, is that it's near Ocean Adventure (if you have kids with you) and exploring Subic. Other than that, I'll only go here for cheap cars.

Room Tip: Choose the newer rooms near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceMendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Our company stayed there for 6days from Feb 1-6, 2014 for our Annual Conference. Rooms are big with Veranda overlooking the beach side. Recommended for leisure only and Team building. Venue for conferences are outside Camayan Beach Club. They do not have function rooms yet, hopefully in the near future. Staff are accomodating and needs were promptly attended. For the 4 nights of stay, they were able to set up different theme and venues for the buffet dinner.
The only scary thing happened was, a "gang of monkey" looking for food and if you left your door unlocked, they will get the food or they will search your bags, if you don't see them you will think that you are a victim of "akyat bahay". So be careful and always look around especially when you are at the dining area bcoz you'll never whose at the back that are ready to grab your food or your cellphone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank junebugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.2 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
264 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
193 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#5 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
4.4 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#11 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
141 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#16 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: Camayan Wharf | West Ilanin Forest Area, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon 2222, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Camayan Beach Resort, your escape destination where the forest meets the sandy shores of lovely Subic Bay. Relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and natural environment. Or swim, snorkel, paddle, and peddle your way through a wide array of beach and forest activities. Next door discover a world of wonder at Ocean Adventure, the only open-water marine park in Southeast Asia. Join us for an unforgettable vacation. Escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camayan Beach Hotel Subic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing