We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A below average stay in April, 2011”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grande Island Resort
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A below average stay in April, 2011”
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Small holding area at the waterfront which needs some condition repairs.Upon arrival, we took a long walk up to the reception area...no staff to assist guests.Chalet rooms need refurbishing or renovation.Buffet meals were provided the whole stay but it was just good & not impressive at all...pasta was bland & with soggy noodles.No caddy cars or any sort of vehicle available to take guests at the island's historic or scenic spot.We commend a delightful service of the nurse on duty who personally checked on my son who had fever that night..she bought paracetamol syrup from Subic base.The restaurant manager was so kind to provide pitcher of water upon my request for my sick son.The view is okay, pool almost dried up, bring aqua shoes because it's a bit rocky at the beachfront.Our children enjoyed the banana boat ride despite of long queue.Ferry's airconditioning broke down the following day, so disappointed that Mgt. left dissatisfied customers.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessanavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    29
    11
    16
See reviews for
26
10
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My 1st time to go to Grande Island Resort...easty 2 get to (coming from Pangasinan). As soon as we arrived, the staff came up and grabbed our luggage, gave us chairs to sit on as we waited for the ferry to depart. ..WiFi connection immediately ON. It doesn't stop @the entrance, as we landed we were given a WELCOME juice....then proceeded to our rooms.
We were with the Rotaract group of youth leadership, from all over Luzon. The Rotarians are well trained in the sponsorship, settng up the agendas, and of course bringing in some 'artists' from GMA.
Aaahhhh.....the swimming pool is super large, with a lifeguard. The staff are @your service, riding on their ATV or bicycles HELPING the guests with directions to all the different areas as this resort has: banana boats, billiards, bunkers, rooms with coffee, refs, HOT shower, hair dryer....verandas where one can soak up CLEAN air and hear birds chirping.....DON'T MISS THIS~~~~~~~~~~~~ aloha, VenJie

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After boarding the ferry from Subic, you set out for 45 minute ferry ride to Grande Island. The ferry there is nice, clean and fast.

Once on Grande Island you are free to partake in unlimited water towable rides! From Banana boats to blow up donuts, you are towed around the water sports area. The guys operating these rides are helpful and make sure you are having fun.

For extra charge you can rent ATV's and go around the island. We rented 2 and a guide took us around the island. This was about an hour and really cool. We went through areas with a lot of trees and even out on private beaches.

The resort looked like it needed a little sprucing up but we were only there for the day. Perfect place for water fun, island exploration on ATV's and lunch.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

when the ferry touchdown the grande island resort.i remember all the bad comments in this place.and i proved right...no more no less..what should i do?? well just enjoy the sun.air and the trees..and after we left the place..i told to my friends that i will never go back at this GRANDE ISLAND RESORT again...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamfujiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
263 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We went to Grande island in a group, and stayed overnight. After reading some negative blog reviews on the net, I was apprehensive. However the place was excellent, much to my pleasant surprise

It cost us 4,400 pesos for the chalet (overnight stay + breakfast + ferry from waterfront road) and I will say it was worth it.

1) Booking -
You can book either through their Manila office or Subic office on water front road (Tel : 7065501 to 04 / +639 178738777 or (02) 7065694 to 97). On weekends - especially in summer and during sunny skies it is better to book in advance as they are often fully booked.

Their office is on water front road - NOT on Grande island itself

We were lucky to go there on a free day so we booked directly in the SBMA office in the morning.

2) Getting there - a ferry boat (free) leaves for grande island from the SBMA water front road office at 10 am. Sometimes they have another one in the afternoon. You can also take a bangka from Baretto (1000 pesos).

3) Cottages -
There are chalets that you can rent for the day (for day trippers) or overnight. I would suggest staying here overnight, as the place becomes very peaceful once the day trippers leave. The chalets (see the photo I have posted) are comfortable, with soft beds, hot / cold water shower, a sit out (which is the best part, as you can relax there sipping tea, coffee or beer).

When we were here, it started to rain, which was fantastic, as it became cool and crisp. We did away with the beers and enjoyed nice cups of coffee and tea, sitting in the sit out beside our room. There are a lot of trees in the vicinity (thank God no mosquitoes!) and so we had the comfort of a rain forest orchestra.

4) What to do

Most people prefer to relax and play along the small beach (white sand, clean), which is what some of our group people did. But the rest of us preferred to explore the island - which is in my opinion the better activity here. The walking trails are well made, and clear. There is a good canopy of trees so even during the sunshine it does not feel hot. Midway it started raining, which made the trail even better as it was cool. It is not slippery - just remember to wear closed walking shoes. A slow walk takes you to the naval battery (well preserved, with a fresh coat of white paint) which also has good views of the island.

Unfortunately the snorkeling along the island itself (close to the pier) was not great - there were some parrot fish and some colourful fish like blue damsels, but the corals are dead and bleached.

Chiquita island - there is another island called Chiquita island in the southern part, but it is approachable (by walking in the shallow water - remember to bring rubber slippers) only when the sea is not rough, so we did not try this. Our boat man told us that the snorkeling here is better.

You can find more details and photos on my blog here - http://subicbayphils.blogspot.com/

Remember -
1) The food in the resort is a bit on the expensive side - it is a good idea to bring your own fruits, soft drinks and some snacks.
2) The tariff includes only breakfast - it does not include lunch / dinner.
3) Bring along good walking shoes, rubber sandals, shorts and full pyjamas (for the trails or just walking along the island, I suggest wearing pyjamas and walking shoes, and carrying your shorts and rubber sandals in a back pack, with water, of course)

Shops close by -

By the way, there is a 7-eleven 2 minutes from the water front road office where you take the boat, where they sell snacks, coffee, soft drinks, beer, etc - it is near the Sao Roque church. There is also a ministop at Subic plaza building - just 5 minutes from the water front road office (along the same path) which has rice meals. For fruits - you would need to pick them up either from SM Olongapo or the Olongapo public market or Pure Gold or Royal (in SBMA)

How to reach Subic SBMA / Grande island water front road office and jetty -

If you are coming to Olongapo by bus (Victory liner from Manila), you can either take a taxi direct from the Victory liner bus stand to water front road (300 pesos, seats 9 people) or take a yellow jeepney to SM / main gate (9 pesos per head) and walk it up from there (15 -20 minutes leisurely walk through the ex navy base)

If coming by car, use SCTEX from Manila / Angeles, come into SBMA, through Pure gold junction - Park and shop junction - left turn - pass via Spanish gate - takes you to water front road. There is adequate parking space next to the jetty / water front road office (located next to the casino)

Room Tip: The houses on the further end of the island - north western edge - near the light house - are more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Before going to Grande Island I have read some of the reviews for grande island and noticed all the negative comments. I crossed my fingers and hoped that its not that bad....I purchased an accomodation for 8 person thru a group buying site hence our accomodation is a bit cheaper than the published rate. An overnight accomodation with ferry ride, dinner , breakfast, banana boat ride, trekking, kayaking and snorkling.
We just availed the banana boat ride and the trekking because the staff said that the kayaks are not available, while snorkeling is not that fun because you will just see the cellophanes, food wraps etc. floating on the water.
They only have 2 golf carts to bring their guests to the respective rooms which is very far from the lobby and the reception area..... We were at room 8843 and 8844 which is located at the near end of the resort and we walked I guess aboout a kilometer while carrying our bags because the golf cart service is not available that time. they should have at least 1 passenger jeep which can accomodate at least 20 person at atime to bring them to their rooms.

Upon arrival we called the Housekeeping because the aircon is not working as well as the TV and there is no ref in the room while it is stated that all the rooms have a mini ref. Luckily the staff arrived after 5 minutes and handled all our complains.

They also said that they don't allow outside food and drinks into the resort that only 1bottled water and 1 chichiria is allowed per person. So we complied to this rule but we were surprised that some of the guests even have their cooler and containers of water.

We ordered for 2 plates of pansit that has very high sodium content...

The banana boat is fine. then after the banana boat we went to the pool area because the beach has plenty of small rocks and some plastic wrapper floating in the water. The staff even discouraged us to do snorkeling because he said "wag na kayo mag snorkling ma'am basura lang ang makikita nyo" which I guest he is just being honest because even without the snorkles you can see those "basura"

The pool is fine but a bit slipperry but it is big, and we enjoyed the pool for ourselves because there are no other guests by the time we were there :p

Dinner time, the food is just fine. Good service.

To avail of the trekking call time is 5:30-6am and the trekking is for 1 hour around the island. with a pretty guide. You can see the old canyon used by the Americans during the WW2 like the things that you will see in Corregidor island.

Overall, Grande island could have been a nice place if they will improve their facilities and clean the area. If you are not a picky type of person who likes first class facility you can enjoy Grande Island for its scenic ambience... But if you want a 5star / first class accomodation grande island is not a place for you.

Room Tip: If its possible request a room near the lobby perhaps room 8801 to 8820 because its tolerable to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHAQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I had the opportunity of staying at the Grande Island Resort for a work team building event. To get to the resort you must use the ferry which seems run down and not well maintained. It's okay though, if it sinks it will spare you the night that YOU MUST spend on the island since you cannot escape once you're there. The "resort" centers around a large pool and man made lake. However the lake appeared to be missing water so it was actually a puddle. Walking to your room you get to witness two horses tied to a tree with their bones/ribs showing and there's quite a lot of litter. Usually the remnants of the team building that has just departed. Rooms were shabby and the toilet was awful. Photo's included.

Other "facilities" that are available are:

Soccer pitch - Two sets of goalposts randomly tossed on a piece of land strewn with litter.
Banana Boat - No they will not let you use it to ride back to the mainland.
Billiards Room - This has two tables which appear to have been used for ice skating given the huge number of tears in the cloth. It would be difficult to play a shot given the room is also used as a shed.

Worst resort I have ever stayed in. Thankfully only for one night.

The plus points... Homemade cookies were nice and the aircon worked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mowzertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0.4 mi away
Subic Park Hotel
Subic Park Hotel
#13 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#3 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.1 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#5 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#14 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Island Resort

Property: Grande Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Also Known As:
Grande Island Hotel Subic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing