We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent steaks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Joe's House of Ribs

Texas Joe's House of Ribs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Texas Joe's House of Ribs is an authentic American Smokehouse restaurant. We feature slow smoked US Pork Spare Ribs and Pork Baby Back Ribs. We also smoke US Certified Angus Beef brisket and US Pork Shoulder as well as Chicken. We feature USDA Choice Steaks also. All of our food is prepared fresh using our own unique recipes. Over the years we have become a favorite place to eat in the Olongapo/Subic Bay area.
Philippines
Level Contributor
262 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Texas Joe is located along the waterfront road and has a Texas cowboy theme. I especially liked the wooden old-western style interiors. The food - especially the steaks are fantastic. Servings are good - one dish you upto the brim! I liked the art gallery and library they have put up (though oddly located en route to the CR!)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    186
    40
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great food and a good range. Reasonably priced but perhaps most pleasantly the service was very good. The same cannot be said for most restaurants in Subic or Olongapo so this was a prime reason for going back a second time. Steak was cooked medium rare as requested and once they worked out we were there for a decent session as well they kept the drinks coming without having to be hunted down and asked every time.

There is a reason TJs and Xtremely Xpresso are full every night and other restaurants in SBMA are near on empty. Go here for a good meal and good service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 857Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

nice place. food was delicious. free billiard game when you dine there. staff were very efficient and friendly. will recommend to my friends. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rllocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ribs are superb. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice place with cozy interior and good atmosphere. Very professional staff - this is my first time in Philippines when I was just delighted watching how waiters work.
Food was very good. Ribeye was ok, but ribs were simply delicious.
Great job, folks, thank you for the great evening!

Helpful?
Thank romanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Agree for the average tastebuds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The place was good and so was the service. As for the food, well I agree that the place is great for the average tastebuds. Ribs are sometimes tough and sometimes mushy. The brisket is obviously way overcooked most of the time. The only thing that striked me was the sour cream. The waitresses often times were near the bar chatting and some guest were having a hard time getting their attention. I agree with purpletrichome that this place doesn't really have the true taste of Texas.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rommel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Joe's House of Ribs also viewed

Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
 
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
 

Been to Texas Joe's House of Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing