We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for families with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay at The Villas at the Moonbay Marina Resort. I learned about it through a friend. We stayed at one of the El Sol units, which come with a small kitchen. The pros: rate is very reasonable, the place is new-ish, and good if you want to stay longer and do some cooking to cut down on the costs of eating out. The room is big - we were 3 adults and 1 kid and we could move around easily and comfortably in the room. Aside from having its own kitchen, it had a big bathroom with a relatively clean tub, a queen-sized bed and a small balcony that had a view of the bay. The airconditioning also worked well -- we actually had to turn one of the units off at some point because it got too cold. WiFi also worked well -- a plus for some work I had to do while there. There is a well-maintained pool with slides for the kids, and a jacuzzi for the adults. Because the place wasn't too full, we had the pool practically all to ourselves. If you wanted to walk to the beach, you could -- but I wouldn't recommend it as the beach area along the strip from Lighthouse Marina (the Moonbay Marina's next door neighbor) down to Gerry's Grill is filthy. If you have kids who are likely to touch or play with the sand, skip it. Go to the other beaches instead, like Camayan (but this is 30-40 mins away by car from the hotel).

The cons: the breakfast was plated (maybe because the place wasn't fully booked?) and the quality, according to my hubby and kid, was only so-so. I just went out to buy additional breakfast at McDonald's (the room only comes with breakfast that is good for 2). The towels and bed linens could have been cleaner. I mean, they were clean and smelled clean, but not up to my standards. they also charge extra for additional mattress (but this I didn't mind since it ensured a good night's sleep for everyone) and for extra pillows (this one I was perplexed). Some repair work was being done (repainting) on the building while we were there. But nothing noisy or too annoying.

Overall, good for a quick break and a good hotel to be in if you want to explore the city. Lots of restaurants and a bar across the street for singles who like nightlife (I didn't check this out though). For those with kids who like to swim, the pool is open until 12 am and there is a lifeguard on duty who really keeps an eye on the kids. Staff is friendly and requests are attended to promptly.

Bonus: the property owner has 3 Golden Retriever dogs who are so cute. They're friendly, but I didn't try to pet them.

Room Tip: Villa units go up to the 2nd floor but there are no elevators, so choose ground floor rooms to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
51
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

With the good reviews that I read here in tripadvisor, I "googled" the moonbay marina website with the intent to make a reservation online. To cut the long story short, I booked a room using my credit card and received a booking confirmation via email. To my horror, my friend, whose wedding is the reason why I will go to subic, told me that she verified with moonbay marina and that it doesn't have a booking under my name. Immediately, I called Moonbay Marina to confirm this and lo and behold, my friend was right. Aside from the shock of being a victim of a fraudulent website, I am greaty annoyed and beyond grief that the staff that answered my phone call was without any concern at all. She was so inconsiderate and instead of answering my queries, she just gave me a one-liner.."we don't have online reservation." She did not even bother to ask the details of the fake website, which I think should have alerted them. The details of the fake website is accurate, from the rooms, facilities to the contact numbers. So, for this inconsiderate staff, it boils down to this, if you are not a prospective or existing client, she would not bother to act "customer or client friendly" or even have the decency to extend some assistance or compassion. Customer service at its worst!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank angelcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This place is at a good location! We had rooms right in front of the pool, nice big spacious rooms with kitchenettes and a living room area. Great for families and big groups of friends. The surroundings of the hotel is also nice with lots of greenery and even swings. Breakfast was alright but then again we ate at nearby restaurants like Jerry's Grill.Will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Moonbay Marina for 2 nights on May 31, 2013. We are a group of 6 (2 familes with 3 members each). We each have a little girl in tow.

PROS:
- Food is not cheap but you get what you paid for. Essentially, it is not spectacularly awesome but it definitely was unexpectedly delicious. We paid around 5k per night per room and it included breakfast for 2. The tapsilog was delicious. The garlic rice was very garlic-y and the tapa tastes like bistek. Since we had to order extra for our little girl, it was an additonal 170 pesos, which, as I have mentioned, not exactly cheap for a tapsilog but at least it was delicious.

- The rooms are huge. Queen-sized beds, kitchenette and living room. Our room can be accurately described as a "1-bedroom unit" since the bedroom was separate from the living room. There was also the patio where we can smoke (we are smokers). The sheets and pillows smell ok. The room does not smell moldy which is a number one requirement for me. There are plenty of drawers and a battery-operated safe as well.

- The swimming pools are heated and there is a separate jacuzzi with warmer water which was really relaxing. For those with babies, they have a separate pool whose water level is ankle-high. This I thought was very thoughtful.

- The lifeguards are really watching and are really doing their job. Sometimes I think some of the moms kind of abuse this and just leave their toddlers by themselves under the watchful eyes of the responsible lifeguards.

- Since we are staying in one of the villas, we had the convenience of ordering food and drinks by the pool and just charge it to our rooms. Good thing our kids are too small to realize this yet :-)

- It is located near a number of night spots by the beach but we weren't really able to check it out since we have kids in tow.

CONS:
- We don't want to sound like a snob but 5 thousand pesos per night is not exactly cheap in the Philippines. We were hoping for some privacy and serenity for the 2 nights that we stayed there but we were surprised to realize that the swimming pools are actually open to the public for 250 pesos per head. We don't particularly appreciate this.

- While we were all in the pool, we have beers and I believe around 3 sets of entrees (pulutan) in our table. There were 3 hotel employees not very far from our table, mind you. So here's what happened - 3 stray cats jumped on our table and picked on our food. They just dismissed it as "Ayy.." and I told her, technically, the poolside is still their property, they have to replace our food or at least, anything. And she says, "Sorry po ma'am hindi po talaga ganun". Moral lesson : Never order food if you all want to dip in the pool all at the same time.

- We are in the habit of bringing big bags of chips in our hotel rooms. We usually are not able to finish, say, 1 bag of Cheetos in one sitting and we just fold the wrapper in half and place it somewhere. Cheetos is very reliable with its crunchiness. The armies of ants in the rooms are crazy. We lost 2 almost-full bags of chips. The ants were the reddish and smaller kinds. I'm not sure if I would suggest ziploc or just maybe put them in the fridge.

- All of us have tiny purple bruises on our legs before leaving for Manila because the bed frame has sharp pointy edges to it.


Are we going back? We are not yet sure. If ever we do, it'd be for the food and the heated pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0phiebear_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

It's our first time in Moonbay Marina last weekend April 6-7, 2013 and our family stayed at the La Luna Villa. We just enjoyed the full convenience of our unit. The bedroom with two double-sized beds was perfect for our family(with two kids). The balcony added interest to the room with its view of the playground and just a glimpse of the beach (because there's another unit blocking the front). I was amazed by how the bathroom is spacious and neatly designed--with the glass shower enclosure and a separate tub, bowl with sprinkler and a neat sink. Although the water supply needs a little more pressure and the sink drains so slow. The warm lighting gives it a plus. It's so roomy you can dance while in the bath! The air conditioning was sufficient all over the unit. A well set mini kitchen enabled us to store and cook additional food (we brought our own pan). We just observed that ants immediately came out of nowhere. When we left a box of doughnuts on the ref shelf, ants got in it after a few minutes. Maybe a little pest control would help there. The living area was just perfect for our family chats over snacks and meals. And the couch is so comfy for lazy naps. Outside, the heated pool was enjoyed by the kids until almost midnight and jacuzzi was relaxing enough. Although it's not aesthetically ideal. It's kinda old fashioned design for a modern villa. The dolphin statue even proved to be a hazard for small children bumping their heads on way to the wading pool (I hope they would get rid of it). The tent roofed cottage provided sufficient shade. For our room-in breakfast, it was very filling and they served great beef tapa! Generally, I'd give a thumbs up for this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovehotelsandbuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pampanga, philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was looking for a place to stay at Subic for my birthday. I always come back to Subic for some peace & quiet but with a nightlife....

Requirements: with a pool, near the waterfront, away from the loud music of nearby bars, big room, with a veranda...

I've been around Subic Hotels, so I decided on my next.

The check-in was quick, but they sure charge for extra person but it was minimal (Php 330) considering it goes with an extra matress, pillow, blanket & towel.

It has a receiving area with its own AC, a spacious bath, bedroom and a veranda...

We ate at their Cafe Azul where the 2 free breakfast will be served. We had a late lunch and the prices were very affordable.

The pool was not directly under the sun, so swimmers won't get baked.

You wouldn't feel like you're in a hotel, because they are villas, with a playground in the center for kids... It has that homey feeling...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby_eli_cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon city 1106
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

My family stayed here for a weekend last Dec. 30 , 2012 ad it is only now that I had a chance to make a review. We stayed at one of the villas on 2nd floor and I would say this is a better location than being on the ground floor. The first time we booked here we were on the ground so you can hear and see much of the activities outside. Also on our 1st stay, there wasn't a pool yet so this time my kids had a grand time at the pool. Overall, the rooms were clean and what is good about this place is that you can cook your food. The food though at the restaurant has limited choices including their breakfast buffet. Still I will not hesitate to come back here this summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels
0.3 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#3 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Subic Park Hotel
Subic Park Hotel
#15 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
#5 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel
Vista Marina Hotel
#2 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort

Property: Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort
Address: Block 5 Lot 1 Moonbay Marina Avenue | Freeport Zone, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing