We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Casita”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Decided on booking the expensive villa/casita (around $280/night) for our wedding anniversary. We requested for the farthest casita from the main area to get a corner view and to have the quietest holiday as much as possible.

It was a joy. The casita was awesome. It was huge and had a really huge soft bed. And the bathroom was huge too, with complete amenities, his and hers sink, and a nice tub with a separate shower area. The balcony was amazing as the casita sits right on the beachfront (you would even think the villa would just decide to sail away).

We did not bother to explore the place nor go swimming. The beach was a bit rocky and the infinity pool was far from our place. All we wanted to do was to laze away all day and night in the villa doing nothing. All I did was lie down on the minibeds out on the balcony, with an iPod and mini speaker, and just stared out into the sea, with jazz music, the waves and water ripples playing in the background. Just heavenly and perfect. We availed of room service and had all our meals out in the balcony.

Downside: Food was utterly disappointing. Been reading some posts here saying the same thing. They seriously need to replace their head chef and menu right away.

Another downside was the massage service. Coming with an P850 price tag, one would expect a very unique massage. But sorry, there was nothing different about it. I could get the same kind of massage for less than half the price in Manila.

Overall, I would say the casita was totally a joy to stay in.Would make sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Kamana Sanctuary Resorts and Spa were featured on a TV show that apparently features luxurious places and things but Kamana is a different thing.

Although, our room was nice (considering that it is the best room they have the "Casitas"), the place is totally different. It is located near the abandoned Clark international airport and some industrial plant, that has the atmosphere of a Steve Austin action movie, featuring Stephen Baldwin.

The food is beyond ridiculous. Their Gourmet roast beef ciabata sandwich is basically gardenia bread with cheap beef inside. Their restaurant was close with a woman sleeping with an open mouth.

The place was featured bigger and fancier than it really is. Aside from the fact that this might be completely over priced and overrated, it also has some weird, creepy and cold vibe that makes you wanna leave the first night (which we did).... They have a SMALL volleyball court and swimming pool that were featured bigger than what they are.

The rates were expensive for what they offer too...

Basically this place makes you wanna stay at home instead.

Room Tip: casitas was their most expensive room.. But is the only room acceptable...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Finally able to book rooms at this resort. I have been trying to book ever since they opened and was able to last December and the resort didn't disappoint.

I have to warn though, rooms rates are a bit on the pricey side but for me it is well worth it. We were able to book the Deluxe Twin, Deluxe Single and Standard Twin rooms during our stay. All the rooms are big compared to other resorts. The twin rooms (standard or deluxe) comes with 2 queen side beds that can comfortably sleep up to 4 adults. The single rooms comes with a king size bed plus a sofa that can also sleep an adult. The bathroom is also big like one of the reviewers said, you can dance the tango inside the bathroom with room to spare.

There is an infinity pool (semi salt water) that kids would love. The beach is clean but quite small and a bit rocky. I would recommend a walk towards the other end of beach during sunrise or sunset.

But you I think you paid for is the serenity of the place. Nestled between the sea and a forest reserve, the place is for relaxation. It would be been complete if they really had a nice spa to boot but I didn't think there was a spa to speak of as of this writing.

Over-all, I definitely would go back to this place. Of the other resorts in the immediate vicinity, only Anvaya Cove would be a better choice, that is if you are a member of Anvaya.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook the pool, so if you have kids probably get these rooms so you can keep an eye...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grouchalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

if you are the type of person who just wants to relax, chill out, have a good quality time with family or friends, then this is a good place for you. you could read a book by your veranda or by the pool. play beach volley ball by the sands. build sand castle with the kids. walk along the sea shore. take a dip in the pool. or play board games. drink and eat while listing to a band or just hang out by the veranda, kayak. snorkel. then this is the perfect place. there's no internet/wi-fi in the rooms, but then, you don't really need it.
i like that there are 2 beds even in a deluxe room.
i like that there are 4 soft pillows on each bed instead of the usual 2.

good food.

during dinner, they forgot our food since they served it 45 minutes late. they made up for it by being extra attentive to us that dinner time. :)

i like the place. but i think Php7,700 for a de luxe room is way too expensive.
not worth the Php7,700. if its like Php6,000, it will be great

Room Tip: book a room in the first floor to be near the pool area and/or the beach. nicer and more convenient...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

For a family of 5 adults and 1 baby, we booked 2 rooms – a deluxe twin with loft and a casita – for an overnight stay. Check-in was quick (5-10 minutes) as everything was paid for on-line and also it was a lean weekend (3rd weekend of January 2014). Check-out was also a breeze.

The price is on the steep side but you pay for exclusivity and a really quiet place.

Both rooms were generally clean, except for some cigarette butts at the veranda of the deluxe twin room. In fairness to the hotel, it would be difficult to see them as they were inserted below the veranda seats.

Facilities are nice and modern. The infinity pool is saltwater but not heated. It was freezing when we were there. The beach front near the pool is clean but rocky. It is swimmable. The beach near the casitas (on the other end of the resort) is really nice for a quiet morning/afternoon stroll.

Breakfast was just ok, nothing to rave about.

Yes, we would return again and would recommend the place to anyone seeking a weekend getaway on the quiet side of Subic Bay Freeport.

Room Tip: Budget permitting, get the Casita on the farthest side of the resort. It is quiet, with only the br...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMViloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

How can a resort/sanctuary/spa be so beautiful, yet so sad?

Our company had reserved practically the whole resort for our national conference. Because it could accommodate our whole office, I had the luck of being booked in one of the casitas.

Here's what's outstanding about the place:
1. it's far from the madding crowd, hence, the identity of being a sanctuary was but fit
2. the rooms were fabulous...and the bathrooms, grandiose!!!
3. the view was breathtaking and the place was quiet enough that you could hear nature right smack close to you.
4. the staff aim to please - and that's a good thing...

Here's the downside though:
1. the food isn't that bad, but for an isolated resort, it's not that great either. The pork was rock hard, the fruit platter was actually cans and cans of fruit cocktail served in thick syrup, and the other meals were either soggy or flat. But the spread wasn't bad...but we were over 100 people and since we picked the menu, some of the food was good but not great...on the over-all expectations, it should have been better, considering that the next food outlet would be a 45 minutes drive out to the shopping area.
2. while I don't mind having nature close to me...too close with the monkeys all scampering and smelly wasn't appealing to my sense of smell...
3. there isn't much to do...unless you're the kind that would want to just put a headset over your head and stare at the sea the whole day...after 12 hours, you'd want to just go home
4. the spa was uhhhmmmmm...seriously lacking. I was able to get a massage in the room and the therapist was alright...but that was it...just a shiatsu
5. the silence was deafening that you could hear whatever was going on in the other casitas or the other rooms, if you were booked in the building...
6. while I got a casita, the airconditioning system was not properly in the right place. the bed was nestled right in the middle of the room but you couldn't control the "swing mode". i literally had to tuck myself in between the sheets so that i could avoid the blast of cold air freezing my head away.

Overall, the place is nice, but after an overnight stay, that should be enough of doing nothing but staring out to sea...

It's sad that this sanctuary would go to waste because of the lack in amenities and other things to do WITHIN the resort. In a nutshell, it's worth the trip. But returning is not an option.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It has a nice view of mountains and the beach. Nice to relax sunset time and kids can swim in pool.
The rooms are big, 2 queen beds so can sleep 4 adults.
Beach is small, and full of jellyfish. so just do kayak. even the lifeguard don't recommend swimming in beach.
The food is ok, we drove out a lot to eat. From Kamana to Puregold area-20 minutes.
Kamana not too far from Tree top Adventure, it's a must try too.
A nice place for 2 day get-away.

Room Tip: hang by the pool around 4;30pm onwards and enjoy sunset
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEclecticEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0.7 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#6 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
190 reviews
14.7 mi away
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
5.3 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa

Address: Nabasan Beach Illanin Forest | West District, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon 2222, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: £91 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kamana Sanctuary Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamana Sanctuary Hotel Subic Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing