We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn!”
Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, MA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a wonderful inn! The rooms are roomy and comfortable. The free breakfast is lovely. The location is perfect. The innkeepers were wonderful (giving me a full teapot of hot water for my evening tea when I asked for a cup). This place is a gem! Not only would I return but I have already told many of my friends looking to travel to the area to be sure to stay here.

Room Tip: I had the first room at the top of the stairs to the left of check-in. I was a bit concerned that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear HappyCamper613,
How great to read about your feedback from your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, we are so pleased to know that you found your visit to be "wonderful". Thank you for the kind comments and especially for endorsing the Inn to your friends, we look forward to welcoming them and we hope you can return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    48
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
124
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Cooper Inn. We stayed one night in February. We got an amazing deal and were able to upgrade to the superior queen room. The room was large and very clean. They even left a box of chocolates for us since it was Valentine's Day weekend. The bathroom was large and filled with wonderful toiletries. The breakfast was fantastic. They had waffles, fruit, a variety of breads and pastries, yogurt, etc. The location is the best part. You are only a five minute walk to the hall of fame and less than a minute from main street. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Lexington0930,
It was our pleasure to welcome you at The Cooper Inn during Valentine’s Day weekend. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review, the proximity of the Inn to Main Street and many attractions and restaurants is a guest favorite. The complimentary Ghirardelli box of chocolates was our way to celebrate the Valentine’s weekend and we’re so happy that you liked it. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A wonderful property recently renovated and full of charm. From very welcoming and helpful staff to nicely appointed rooms with many lovely special touches, this site is a gem. And it was spotless. Will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Megan B,
It’s great to read that you found The Cooper Inn a “gem”, guests do find it a charming Inn with great amenities and location. We have received many positive comments from our recent renovation and we're glad that you liked it too. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as well as for your kind comments, we’ll make sure to share it with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Wife & I, staying for the wknd. Elegant, quiet, clean, perfect place for anybody wanting an subtle upscale experience. Definitely recommended. Will come again and suggest to others. Easy walking distance to everything in the Village of Cooperstown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Mattinct,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, knowing that you recommend the Inn to others is the highest compliment we can get, we’ll be sure to share it with the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very nice room, very helpful staff, great location. Go in winter. Cooperstown is a beautiful village in winter snows, and the rates at the Cooper Inn are much more affordable. Breakfast is fine, not outstanding, but certainly fine. This is our 2nd winter stay and rooms both times were very good. The Cooper Inn had a special arrangement with the Hawkeye Grill in the Otesaga Hotel each time. You have to arrange for it online. It is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Carolgerry1,
Winter is definitely a beautiful time of the year in Cooperstown, and we’re so glad that you decided to stay with us again. Thank you for your loyalty and for your kind comments regarding our rooms, the staff, and the property's location, we’ll make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they'll enjoy knowing that you appreciated the service received. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An understated elegance about this Inn makes it easy to settle in and enjoy. Beautifully appointed rooms. Excellent location within walking distance of some very good restaurants and just down the road from the Otesaga where one can enjoy its amenities as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Nancy L,
Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, we’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay including the various amenities available and its location, guests love that about the Inn! Looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at the Cooper Inn in November. The inn itself is kept very well -- all public rooms and our own room were exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom has wonderful thick bath towels. The included breakfast buffet is okay and included in the room price. Hopefully, they'll improve the coffee served even if they have to raise the price a bit. ( I do love good, strong French-roast coffee.) The clientele while we were there was quiet and respectful of other guests. The inn is adjacent to the village of Cooperstown -- a brief one block walk. This also adds to the inn's appeal. The Cooper Inn's association with the Hotel Otesaga (also within walking distance) is quite nice. Coupons are given to Cooper Inn guests for a complimentary glass of wine when dining at the Otesaga and you also get a breakfast discount at that establishment. Off season (we don't care for summer travel and are not keen about either baseball or opera), we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Kay E,
Thank you for staying at the recently renovated Cooper Inn, we appreciate your kind comments as well as your suggestions, they are always welcome and we’ll make sure to share your feedback about the coffee with the rest of the team, we can certainly look at making adjustments to accommodate to every guest’s need. We’re glad that you were able to take advantage of our dining discounts; it’s a favorite among our guests! We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
604 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Property: The Cooper Inn
Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and TravelClick so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing