We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with 12yo son for visit to baseball HOF.

Location is perfect, steps from everything. Service great. Beds, showers, both perfect. Actual HDTV and fast free wifi. Spotless throughout. Charming, built in 1812, really nice. Individual heat/AC in every room, fans a little loud but not terrible. Standard breakfast but did include good coffee and travel cups.

Can't imagine there is a better property in Cooperstown.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HankF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear HankF99,
We’re so pleased to know that you and your son enjoyed your stay at The Cooper Inn during your recent, it makes our team proud to know that our work has positively impacted our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    44
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
120
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Cooper Inn during our trip to Cooperstown. It was recommended by a co-worker and we were pleased. The staff was friendly and helpful. As an Inn, the room was smaller than a normal hotel room so you should be prepared for that. We had a nice flat panel tv. The bathroom was a moderate size but did lack an exhaust fan that is helpful with hot showers. Bath products were ok and towels were nice and thick. They had an honor bar with beer and wine in the evening which was nice. We were pleased with the expanded continental breakfast - plenty of options. They don't have a fitness center at this location but we were able to use the one at the larger resort which is affiliated with this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Woodstock1968,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at The Cooper Inn recently, we’re glad to know that you found your stay a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our complimentary hearty continental breakfast. Our recent renovations have received positive feedback and guests enjoy the charming comfort of the Inn with its modern amenities. We appreciate your comment about the exhaust fan and we’ll make sure to share it with the appropriate department. Thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited during March and had a great experience. The staff was very helpful, we arrived late, but they were very friendly and helped us with bags up the stairs to get settled in. The room was very comfortable and you'd never know what the building is as old as it is, everything was well cared for.

The location of Cooper Inn really can't be beat. The Hall of Fame is less than 10 minute walk. It makes all of Cooperstown walkable, and we'd definitely look to stay there again on our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Kittenator,
How wonderful to know that you had such a great experience while staying at The Cooper Inn, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments will be shared with the rest of the team, they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of the village and guests love that about the inn. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a wonderful inn! The rooms are roomy and comfortable. The free breakfast is lovely. The location is perfect. The innkeepers were wonderful (giving me a full teapot of hot water for my evening tea when I asked for a cup). This place is a gem! Not only would I return but I have already told many of my friends looking to travel to the area to be sure to stay here.

Room Tip: I had the first room at the top of the stairs to the left of check-in. I was a bit concerned that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear HappyCamper613,
How great to read about your feedback from your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, we are so pleased to know that you found your visit to be "wonderful". Thank you for the kind comments and especially for endorsing the Inn to your friends, we look forward to welcoming them and we hope you can return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Cooper Inn. We stayed one night in February. We got an amazing deal and were able to upgrade to the superior queen room. The room was large and very clean. They even left a box of chocolates for us since it was Valentine's Day weekend. The bathroom was large and filled with wonderful toiletries. The breakfast was fantastic. They had waffles, fruit, a variety of breads and pastries, yogurt, etc. The location is the best part. You are only a five minute walk to the hall of fame and less than a minute from main street. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington0930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Lexington0930,
It was our pleasure to welcome you at The Cooper Inn during Valentine’s Day weekend. Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review, the proximity of the Inn to Main Street and many attractions and restaurants is a guest favorite. The complimentary Ghirardelli box of chocolates was our way to celebrate the Valentine’s weekend and we’re so happy that you liked it. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A wonderful property recently renovated and full of charm. From very welcoming and helpful staff to nicely appointed rooms with many lovely special touches, this site is a gem. And it was spotless. Will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Megan B,
It’s great to read that you found The Cooper Inn a “gem”, guests do find it a charming Inn with great amenities and location. We have received many positive comments from our recent renovation and we're glad that you liked it too. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as well as for your kind comments, we’ll make sure to share it with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Wife & I, staying for the wknd. Elegant, quiet, clean, perfect place for anybody wanting an subtle upscale experience. Definitely recommended. Will come again and suggest to others. Easy walking distance to everything in the Village of Cooperstown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Mattinct,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Cooper Inn, knowing that you recommend the Inn to others is the highest compliment we can get, we’ll be sure to share it with the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Property: The Cooper Inn
Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and TravelClick so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing