We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooper Inn deserves a Triple Crown”
Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful historic inn. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and charming, great shower. We had drinks at night in the parlor. Enjoyed breakfast before heading to Baseball Hall of Fame. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Tripplanninmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Tripplanninmama,
We’re thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooper Inn during your recent visit to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall Of Fame, thank you for your feedback and kind comments, everyone has enjoyed our recent renovations and it sounds like you did too! We will await your return, hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely place to stay while visiting the Baseball Hall of Fame. Perfect for all ages.
Clean comfortable rooms, quiet peaceful surroundings with a very accommodating staff.
The breakfast is included with the room rate and is very satisfying served on the main floor In a charming room. Within walking distance of town and near a larger hotel that guests at the Cooper Inn can use what more can you ask of a country retreat.
Five stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor otherwise you have to walk up a flight of stairs as there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Barbara P - We're so glad that you decided to stay with us during your recent visit to Cooperstown, it sounds like you enjoyed the unique benefits of staying at The Cooper Inn, including its proximity to Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame, as well as access to amenities available at The Otesaga Resort Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beautiful, classic Inn in a great location in Cooperstown. Room was nicely decorated, bed was comfortable and bathroom was gorgeous. Feels like they recently renovated. Also, the included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFDnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear PFDnyc,
Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn and especially for your review, we’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we did recently renovate the property and we’re glad that feedback has been so positive. We look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy the property and the surroundings during our summer or fall season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I just got back from a wonderful time at this hotel. It is in a perfect location to Cooperstown Village which has The Baseball Hall of Fame and several shops and restaurants. You can park your car in the hotel lot and just walk a couple of blocks to everything. I stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay again. The staff is very friendly. The room had a nice TV and it was very comfortable. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Debbie S.
It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooper Inn. Thank you for recommending the inn, and we’re glad that you enjoyed its location so close to main street and all of the attractions. We hope to welcome your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with 12yo son for visit to baseball HOF.

Location is perfect, steps from everything. Service great. Beds, showers, both perfect. Actual HDTV and fast free wifi. Spotless throughout. Charming, built in 1812, really nice. Individual heat/AC in every room, fans a little loud but not terrible. Standard breakfast but did include good coffee and travel cups.

Can't imagine there is a better property in Cooperstown.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank HankF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear HankF99,
We’re so pleased to know that you and your son enjoyed your stay at The Cooper Inn during your recent, it makes our team proud to know that our work has positively impacted our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Cooper Inn during our trip to Cooperstown. It was recommended by a co-worker and we were pleased. The staff was friendly and helpful. As an Inn, the room was smaller than a normal hotel room so you should be prepared for that. We had a nice flat panel tv. The bathroom was a moderate size but did lack an exhaust fan that is helpful with hot showers. Bath products were ok and towels were nice and thick. They had an honor bar with beer and wine in the evening which was nice. We were pleased with the expanded continental breakfast - plenty of options. They don't have a fitness center at this location but we were able to use the one at the larger resort which is affiliated with this property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Woodstock1968,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at The Cooper Inn recently, we’re glad to know that you found your stay a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our complimentary hearty continental breakfast. Our recent renovations have received positive feedback and guests enjoy the charming comfort of the Inn with its modern amenities. We appreciate your comment about the exhaust fan and we’ll make sure to share it with the appropriate department. Thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited during March and had a great experience. The staff was very helpful, we arrived late, but they were very friendly and helped us with bags up the stairs to get settled in. The room was very comfortable and you'd never know what the building is as old as it is, everything was well cared for.

The location of Cooper Inn really can't be beat. The Hall of Fame is less than 10 minute walk. It makes all of Cooperstown walkable, and we'd definitely look to stay there again on our return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Kittenator,
How wonderful to know that you had such a great experience while staying at The Cooper Inn, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments will be shared with the rest of the team, they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of the village and guests love that about the inn. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
870 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: £81 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TravelClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing