We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious”
Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The best thing one can say about this inn is its location to Main Street, Cooperstown. The Inn is nice, clean, and welcoming, but not a "classic" hotel. There are no facilities, you have to go to their "sister" hotel, the Otesaga, which has everything, and is breath-taking. The room was comfortable, but was nothing special.

I did not think that this was a good value. the room is over-priced for what they offer.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, off one of the sitting rooms, and there was no noise that disturbed us...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank srcesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for The Cooper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Cooper Inn was okay for a 7 night stay in Cooperstown. It was centrally located, as it was walking distance away from everything except the Dreams Park. They had good wifi, as well as good service. Overall, I had no problems with the Cooper Inn, but it just wasn't an excellent hotel, it was just average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Nick M,
Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn during your recent visit, we’re glad that you enjoyed its proximity to Main Street and the National Baseball Hall of Fame, being just a block away from the main attractions. We’re disappointed to hear that you found the Cooper Inn just an average hotel as we aim to make it the best experience possible to all of our guests. We would love to understand what would make it an excellent hotel in your opinion, so please email us at otesagahotel@otesaga.com. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were referred to The Cooper Inn from a friend who had booked there previously and it did not disappoint. From the minute we entered to when we departed it was a delight to stay there. I must give huge props to the staff that made everything so easy and accommodating, from the free wine in the evening for the guests to allowing us to leave our car on the premises past checkout time. Whenever we had a question, The Cooper Inn had the answer.

Yes the rooms were a bit dated, but considering the age of the hotel it should be expected. The bathroom was spacious and clean, and the bed fresh and inviting. A sumptuous breakfast buffet added to the experience, even though it was classified as a continental breakfast. Hardly, we enjoyed everything from cereal, fruit, toast, and made our own waffles. Did I mention The Cooper Inn is about a block away from The Hall of Fame? Pretty much smack dab in the middle of Cooperstown, if you can be in the middle of a little community. While I am sure there are other places in Cooperstown to stay, I must say I was pleased and impressed with The Cooper Inn. I strongly suggest you consider them when staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcarlpast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Hcarlpast,
Please thank your friend for referring the Cooper Inn, we’re glad that you were delighted with your stay, thank you for the kind comments and recommending the Inn. The team is thrilled to know that they made every aspect of your stay easy and accommodating but expected, as they put a lot of effort in over delivering on their promise. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very quaint historic Inn. Very friendly staff and perfect location to walk to the Otesaga or Hall of Fame. Rooms were spacious with modern amenities. Love the vibrant decor and spiral staircase. Free gourmet breakfast, wifi and parking all included. Stay here then hangout at Otesaga!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear MTravels,
Thank you for staying with us at The Cooper Inn. We’re so happy that you took advantage of our amenities and benefits, such as access to the facilities at The Otesaga Resort Hotel and the free Wi-Fi, breakfast and parking. Our recent renovations have received great feedback from our guests, thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A great spot to stay while visiting the Hall of Fame. Informative front desk personnel, courteous staff, clean rooms in a beautiful area. Hadn't visited Cooperstown in 60 years and delighted I returned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattapoisettED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear MattapoisettED,
We’re glad you made a trip back to Cooperstown after 60 years. Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn as well as for your kind comments, the staff is so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a charming hotel, just 1 block away from baseball's Hall of Fame and very close to Famer's museum and Fenimore's Art Museum. I got a great deal through Groupon which included Hall of Fame tickets for 2, Museum tickets and 10% off dinner at the Hawkeye Grill. Even without all the perks, the place is well worth it. The Cooper Inn is part of the Otesaga Resort Hotel which is beautiful right on Lake Otsego and guests at Cooper Inn have access to all their facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubadiverNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear ScubadiverNY,
We’re so happy that you were able to take advantage of the special benefits and amenities that are provided to guests of The Cooper Inn, including the use of the facilities and dining discounts at The Otesaga Resort Hotel just a block away. Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us, please do visit us again soon, the summer is a magical time of the year on Lake Otsego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Cooper Inn is a really lovely & quaint updated bed & breakfast. Beds are comfortable. bathroom is spacious with great lighting. Breakfast awaits you in a lovely dining area. The inn has a total of 15 rooms with lots of picture taking areas. The staff is unbelievably accommodating and friendly. I got a great deal which included two tickets to either the Baseball Hall of Fame or The Farmers Museum. Needless to say I chose the baseball tickets. The Baseball Hall of Fame was a great experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenaida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Zenaida G,
Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn and for taking the time to write a review, we’re glad that you enjoyed the Inn, its recent renovation and especially the service as the team is dedicated to leave an impression with each guest they interact with. We’ll make sure to pass along your comments to them. Thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
253 reviews
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: £85 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing