We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive, but now i know why”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“inexpensive, but now i know why”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

when me, my sister, and sister-in-law walked into our room, we know it wasn't the ritz- the matresses were both sagging in the middle and the pillows were flat as pancakes. we knew it wasn't the top of the line place, but a comfy bed and pillows were expected. I got a huge knot in my shoulder/neck from the flat pillows after one night of sleep. then on night 2, the fire alarm went off after midnight and it would still be going off if it wasn't for a firefighter staying in our area. he shut it off, with no cops or firetrucks in sight. but I am sure the ffs and cops were busy with the grateful dead concert in town that night. the poor night manager at our motel really didn't know what to do while the alarm was blaring. unless they provide better mattresses and pillows, I would definitely pick one of the other hotels on route 28 in the future (or a bed and breakfast).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    42
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Compared to the Chestnut Street Apartments, this place is a palace. However, this is no palace.

The room rates were average for Cooperstown. It was close to restaurants, a gas station, a shopping center with a grocery store, and most importantly, about a mile to Dreams Park. It was even a straight shot to the Cooperstown shuttle or the town itself.

The room itself was small, the beds very low to the ground and the mattresses were hard, rutted and uncomfortable. The sheets were clean but all had stains from years of use. The same for the bedding. The fitted sheet was also uncomfortable, almost sandpaper-like. The hot water was either non-existent or scalding.

The cleaning staff were nice but did not speak English or even limited Spanish. When I asked for more towels, they had no idea. We left a note to have the tub unclogged; the note was taken but nothing was done. I told the office and they did get the tub draining again.

The biggest problem was the dampness of the room. The room smelled moldy and the air coming out of the HVAC smelled the same. The carpet felt wet to walk on. The bedding remained damp. It went from tolerable to annoying to unbearable. The office promised to change the filter but it didn't help. We checked out a day early and left for home so we wouldn't have to spend another night sleeping in dampness. All of our clothes, even the clean ones we didn't wear, smelled musty and had be washed when we got home.

The place is quiet, has a great location and some potential. With a little effort it could be recommended but not now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cooperstown hotels

Amelia, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Made a reservation, sight unseen, for an overnight stay in Cooperstown to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame. We were late arriving (about 11PM) to the Inn and found our room keys taped to the front door of the office. No one around to check us in. So we proceeded to our modestly priced room of $125 a night. Upon opening the door we knew it was going to be a rough night. It was hot, no A/C had been turned on, so we turned on the wall unit right away. I used to think I could sleep anywhere for one night, not so. When we turned down the bed we found stained sheets and a bug on the sheet. We also found a beetle of some kind in the coffee tray. Our room had two beds so we turned down the second bed to find blood stained sheets and a hole. This room gave me the heebie jeebies and I didn't sleep all night. There are several more unpleasant facets to the room but I won't go into them. This would never be my first pick! Stay someplace else.

Room Tip: I was just not accustomed to staying in a zero star motel and unfortunately that is what this turned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Not a good value for the price. Great location not much else. Second floor room with a tight stairway. Uncomfortable bed. Should have included breakfast for the price we paid. It was one of the cheapest motels around after doing some research. We stayed at a number of other hotels after this one on our trip and they were much nicer, included indoor pools and free breakfast for the same money.
I guess they are right when they say it is all about location, location, location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

When planning a trip to Cooperstown and needing two rooms I was amazed at the prices I was seeing. A family trip to celebrate Father's Day and my Dad's birthday was suddenly looking as though it was not an option. This hotel was the right price and so I took a chance figuring you're not in the rooms much anyway. The hotel was very convenient for visiting Cooperstown and the surrounding areas. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The only real downside was the lack of a continental breakfast. On the up side the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave so it was easy to pick up a few things at the nearby grocery store and enjoy breakfast in the room each morning.
Worth it for a place to sleep for the right price but lack other amenities found at larger chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

There are some basic must haves for commercial lodging. It should be clean, quiet, comfortable, dark when the lights are off, and have customer controlled temperature. If any one of these is missing, the lodging is a bust.

The motel description included a mention of a free breakfast included with the room. That appealed to us because we like to get an early start and because we remembered other hotel breakfasts that included rolls, muffins, cereal, fruit, juice, and sometimes waffles, eggs, and more.

When we made our reservation on-line we asked for a non-smoking quiet room on the second floor, away from vending machines. That was exactly what we got, but the hotel desk person kind of missed our point by putting us in a non-smoking room and the second floor as far from the vending machines as possible, but next to a stairwell. Lucky for us, we brought ear plugs, which we highly recommend for most motels. They work beautifully if they are properly compressed before inserting into ears and block out most noise.

Our room was meticulously cleaned (we left a tip for the house cleaner).

There were ample electrical plugs throughout the room, but several were non-functional when the wall switches were turned off. There was a fairly new flat screen TV in the room, which we never turned on.

The beds were hard, but didn't sag. One of the pillow cases looked as though it had not been changed since the last guest checked out.

WiFi barely worked at first, but then stopped working altogether in the evening when I needed it most.

You would imagine that motels would understand by now how blackout curtains work. Most do not. Any motel curtain should, at least, cover the window. The curtains at the Red Carpet motel did not quite cover the window, so we could never window enough to have privacy at night or keep light out in the morning.

There was ample hot water for a morning shower.

The included "breakfast" was a big disappointment. The "breakfast" consisted of unappetizing mini-muffins, and drinks. There was no place to eat in the lobby, so we had to take our "breakfast" to our room or eat it on a bench next to the road. Encouraging guests to take breakfast food to their rooms just makes more work for the housekeepers. Eating "breakfast" off of paper plates while seated on a bench next to the road left something to be desired. The value of the "breakfast" is about a dollar and that value should be considered when choosing where to book your reservation.

Would we stay here again? Not likely. Would we recommend this motel to others? Only if there were no other motels in this price range available.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room away from vending machines and stairwells. During our stay, it appeared that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxlent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Frankly, for our stay in Cooperstown, I was looking for the cheapest place. At about 90 bucks a night on the weekend, Red Carpet was about half the price of Holiday Inn and other places around.
It's easy to find, about 3 miles south of Cooperstown, and you get to park right outside your door. The room was very clean. And even though someone was in the room next door, we didn't hear them. The room came with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. A light breakfast is offered in the office with little muffins and apples. And the heater in the room cranked the warmth right up!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCooperstown, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.

Our staff members will be pleased to see your comments and to know that their hard work has yet again paid off in a terrific guest experience.

Now if we could just get the word out to everyone about how great the Cooperstown area is our mission would be completed.

Please come back to see us soon.

Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
3.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge

Property: Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
Address: 4909 State Highway 28, Cooperstown, NY 13326-5224
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Hotel Cooperstown
Red Carpet Inn Cooperstown
Cooperstown Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing