We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whisperin' Pines Chalet
Ranked #14 of 28 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife & I decided to take a quick trip up to Coppertown for the weekend. After reviewing many different B&B's we selected Whisperin Pines. We were not disappointed. The location was fantistic, close to town, but situated in a beautiful wooded area. The room we stayed in was huge, very clean and had a massive private deck that overlooked a little stream with waterfall. Talk about a quaint and peaceful setting. The breakfast was big and delicious. The owner, Chris, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. I can strongly recommend Whisper Pines to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

If you are looking for peaceful solitude, away from noise and foot traffic, yet being super convenient to Cooperstown attractions, look no further. Whisperin' Pines Chalet is a delightful, peaceful retreat, about 10 minutes from downtown Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame, with good restaurants for lunch and dinner closeby.  We have specific requirements when we stay at a B&B and W.P. has them all: large suite, jacuzzi tub for 2, a/c, fireplace, tv and a private outdoor space.  We stayed in the VIP suite, which has all of the above, and more. Was it clean?  No...it was IMMACULATE, with a large bathroom with skylights and modern fixtures.  The suite boasts a HUGE sitting area surrounding a large fireplace and hearth, a flat screen tv with satellite, and comfy L-shaped sofa and convenient little frig for our beverages and leftover meals.  The first morning, upon opening up the blinds, there was a doe and her fawn across the stream on the pristine wooded hill...beautiful. We had a private porch with comfy wicker furniture to read and relax, looking out at what we love best...nature! By far, though, the best that Whisperin' Pines has to offer is the Doucas family. Aside from the satisfying, hot breakfasts with fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, wheat toast, coffee & juice served on one morning, we had delightful conversations with one of the most hard working and family/community devoted couples we have ever met. Logan is a terrific young guy! If we lived closer, we would certainly call them friends.  As it is, we look forward to our next visit.  A side note:  a prior posting gave this b&b a poor rating, and we have to say how unfair that rating was.  Yes, W.P. is rustic in setting, with a lodgelike ambiance, as indicated on their website.  If someone wishes more posh accommodations, they can spend $600+ per night in Saratoga Springs, as there are those who need exclusivity.  If you're one of the "99%", you'll adore this place. Yes, some of the decor needs updating (but not the gorgeous antique beds, lamps and rugs), but this hard working family has future plans to update and renovate, and those renovations take time. It was not, and will never be, a deal breaker for us.  We had the most delightful stay, and would highly recommend Whisperin' Pines Chalet!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the VIP Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kargo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed week 11 for our son's stay at the Cooperstown Dreams park. It is the best location by far. It is right in between the park and downtown Cooperstown. Erin, Chris and Logan made our stay wonderful. From the great breakfast in the morning to the awesome team party they threw together for our team at the last minute! Thank you for the memorable stay! I have already recommend them to other baseball families in our area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Thank you again to the Doucas Family-The accommodation was beautifully furnished/decorated-"white-glove" clean and so quiet! Looking forward to returning this weekend!! I don't think I would ever opt to stay anywhere else while in Cooperstown!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We found Whisperin' Pines to be quite simply Cooperstown's best-kept secret. Heard about the Doucas's tucked-away, yet still centrally-located b&b from friends who'd stayed earlier in the season and praised the hospitality and hominess. They weren't wrong! We felt pampered in our rooms, and welcomed as family. From the curio-filled tiki-bar on the deck overlooking the creek and woods; to the cozy, family memento-filled conversation areas in the common areas; to the spotless and elegant rooms with that soothing creek always in the background; to the convenient location, Whisperin' Pines was a home run for us.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I had a lovely time at the Whisperin' Pines Chalet. Due to an emergency we didn't arrive until 10 PM to check in and Christian and Erin were very accommodating. We were visiting Cooperstown in April, so no one else was staying at the B&B. Because of this, they kindly upgraded our room for free. Whisperin' Pines is conveniently located a short drive away from both the Hall of Fame and the Ommegang Brewery. The homemade breakfasts were excellent! The only real problem we encountered was the lack of cell phone service. So, if you have Verizon, be aware of this. Christian an Erin did allow us to use their land line to make calls, but of course we use our phones for more than just making calls. If you're looking for a more rustic and quiet rooming experience, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I hesitate to write this because of the first two comments in the title. It couldn't be truer. But unfortunately, the accomodations are poor. Old trucks in the yard, tarps scattered here and there, a small lawn, and worn furniture. If you can past all of that (and it will be tough) you will certainly enjoy your stay. Great people.

I wouldn't have written this but felt compelled since the brochure isn't factual. "Luxurious" Sorry to say, the B and B is actually very rough. "First Class Suites." Sorry, not true. "European charm". No. Sorry.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

We have taken your recommendations in your review and done some upgrades/clean up. When you were here it was our off-season and we did not have all of winter clean up finished. In the off-season we give discounted rates for that reason. We have removed the plow truck. A tree had fallen on our son's tree house we have repaired that and removed the tarps. We have also built a new roof over the main house and front deck. The view from the suite you stayed in is of the small yard to the creek. The front yard is the size of a soccer field. The faded furniture on the outside deck I am having new cushions made. We hope that you will give us a second chance if the near future. Chris and Erin Doucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
3.7 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
285 reviews
3.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 17 in Cooperstown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#6 of 17 in Cooperstown
405 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
668 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whisperin' Pines Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whisperin' Pines Chalet

Address: 4128 Cr 11, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whisperin' Pines Chalet invites you to enjoy European charm in a country setting. A large Swiss style Chalet, Whisperin' Pines has grown from a small summer camp to a luxurious bed & breakfast. 2 miles North from Dreams Park and 3 South from downtown Cooperstown. We accept VISA, MC, Discover, checks and cash. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing