We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayside is Hillside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Marina
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bayside is Hillside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It is important for travelers who are less than agile to realize that this property of motel rooms and cottages occupies a steep incline to Lake Otsego. Aged as I am, I was unable to negotiate the distance from my room near the highway to the the lake far below. Having said that, our room was large and very, very clean. Service was excellent and personable. Bayside is something of a throwback to another era. Motel rooms, though updated (with modern bathrooms,) are very 50s in appearance. You are given keys that turn locks, not cards you swipe and you have to physically check out and return the keys. Rules on quiet were observed at least the night we were there so we enjoyed a sound sleep. I liked that the beds had individual overhead lamps. I could read in my bed while my husband slept in his undisturbed.

Green Features: A large container for recycling is provided and there is a linen reuse program.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MotherJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you MotherJoyce for taking the time to review your stay and our property.

Bayside is located on 4 acres on Otsego Lake and the property is on an incline. We do realize that not everyone is agile enough to walk to the lake but there is a paved driveway and parking available at the beach so that all of our guests, despite their ability, are able to enjoy our facilities at the lake. Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of your room, our personable service and the overhead lamps above the beds. The staff works hard to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable experience.

Being a seasonal property with the majority of the doors to the rooms/cottages being exposed to the winter weather we find that keys are more economical and maintenance free than cards to swipe. Most of our guests love the fact that they get to use a key! This guest stayed in a room in our Motel. The Motel was built in 2000 and all of our rooms have received new bedspreads, drapes, flat screen TV's, and have been completely painted within the last 2 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    125
    31
    4
    10
See reviews for
147
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderfully convenient motel/inn/cottages between Glimmerglass opera and Cooperstown. It has a small beach on the lake, and canoes and kayaks that are free for the first hour or so. Things to be aware of are the absence of breakfast facilities, and poor sound insulation between motel rooms and from the outside -- so if you have noisy neighbors or Harleys will be leaving the parking lot early, you might not sleep as well as the comfortable beds would otherwise permit. The motel rooms do come with coffee makers and small refrigerators, and in some a small microwave -- but the cottages, in several sizes, are isolated, and have fully equipped kitchens.

Room Tip: Cottages are best for noise protection and providing meals for yourself (not even breakfast is offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plsathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Pros: Very comfortable beds/bedding; quiet; reasonably priced for location; convenient to Glimmerglass.
Cons: Weak w-fi (very important for me), had to go outside for connection; room decor very plain, no charm, icy-white LED bulbs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank WellTempered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We didn't know this area at all and were unsure whether we should have booked a hotel nearer Cooperstown itself, but the Bayside Inn proved to be perfect. It's only about 15 minutes drive from the town and less to the trolley stop. This means that you are away from the crowds and can relax in a more peaceful environment.

We had a room with a balcony and although the weather wasn't great during our stay, we did have the opportunity to sit on the balcony having breakfast, looking out over the surrounding trees and the beautiful lake. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom fittings all looked new and everything was spotless.

Service at Reception at both check-in and check-out was friendly and helpful, and there was plenty of information about the local area.

For the accommodation provided, especially the balcony and lake view, the Bayside is excellent value for money and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat near the bustle of Cooperstown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nls_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Property was right on the lake, rooms were very clean, and it was a 5 min drive to trolley or 10 min drive to town. Water pressure in the showers was the only downside. Balcony had a very nice view of the lake.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and son stayed here on their recent trip to Cooperstown. They thought the hotel room was very clean and had a great shower and bathroom . All of the staff were very friendly and gave them great advice on restaurants and tourist activities. I asked them if I should have booked a room closer to town and they said that all the ball players stayed down there and that the Bayside was very peaceful with a great location right on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauitravelerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Bayside Inn when we were visiting Glimmerglass Opera Festival - this motel is super convenient, very clean and the staff is really friendly and helpful. This will be our go-to place when visiting Glimmerglass each year (but we will need to remember to book early, this place seems to fill up really fast!).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SignoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake N Pines Motel
Lake N Pines Motel
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Marina

Property: Bayside Inn & Marina
Address: 7090 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside Inn & Marina, on Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, NY, offers pleasant, comfortable accommodations in a peaceful, wooded lakeside setting with picnic areas and gazebos at the small swimming beach. Canoes and kayaks are available free of charge to our guests. Located only 7 miles from Cooperstown, and 11 miles from the Cooperstown Dreams Park, Bayside Inn & Marina is a destination in itself. Our friendly and professional staff will do everything they can to make your "Cooperstown Lake Vacation" a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Marina Hotel Cooperstown
Bayside Inn And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing