We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Braintree MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here before, about 12 years ago, Since then, place has been updated, at least the outside has because the rooms are still circa 1970. Would rate this hotel high only due to the location and the restaurant that is attached to it. Other than that, room was below average and staff a little less friendly than I expected.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on first floor. We could hear every step the people above us took
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BraintreeMADjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    103
    39
    31
    17
See reviews for
83
122
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

For over $200 a night all you get is a bed, small tv, tiny washroom, a one item breakfast, no central air and a very musty smell. We have had better rooms at Motel 6 with more amenities! We stayed for two nights and walked to the HOF which was nice as parking is limited in town. We have stayed in NYC and paid hundreds of dollars for rooms, so price is not a concern for us, but I would expect a lot more at this rate, even if there was a pool or exercise area, but nothing but a room, no real sitting area, but a wicker side table and two patio chairs. The overpriced restaurant next door has great staff, but bad food, there was a hair on our table, and the bread is soaked in butter when served with coffee and unrefrigerated half and half, no milk. The real reason I have written this review though is that the washroom in our room was dirty when we arrived and remained that way over two days. A urine stain on the toilet base was never cleaned and there was hair in the room when we arrived which I cleaned. The sheets are not cleaned daily. Main floor rooms are noisy due to the gravel parking lot infront and behind the hotel which are also used for the boat ramp for the lake.

Room Tip: Cooperstown seems to be a hard place to find a nice place, so if you want to stay in town do not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakvillescrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The owners encourage feedback on Tripadvisor. So here goes.

What I would fix:

The people (?owners?) at the reception desk need to be more, ummmm, receptive. Smile a little more and/or say things like ‘Welcome, I’ll be right with you’ or ‘How was your trip’ or ‘I see you’ve stayed with us before, welcome back.’ Generally a cheerless bunch.

The front door knobs and lock routing are flimsy, and you can’t engage the dead bolt when leaving the room. I would not leave anything valuable in the room. Ever.

The room keys have the name of the motel AND the room number on them. Major security faux pas if you lose the key and don’t realize it. Don’t EVER leave anything valuable in the room…oh, wait, I think I already said that. Now you have two reasons.

The bathroom ceiling fans are really loud. We could hear our neighbor’s bathroom fan clear as day through the wall. Rooms in general are not well soundproofed. Get different fans.

The pillows are mini marshmallows and are very uncomfortable. PLEASE provide standard sized fiber-fill pillows for us adults.

The showers are flimsy ‘Bath Fitter’ jobs with flimsy doors and very weak shower heads.

You need to get control of the flies in the restaurant and not allow your staff to walk around with a fly swatter while people are eating. It’s gross just to see the fly swatter lying around. Consult an exterminator or other expert. Please.

Please counsel the restaurant staff not to dust the light fixtures above tables…with a feather duster…during business hours… AFTER the tables have been freshly set. Would you want to eat off those place settings? Use a vacuum, and do it before the tables are set.

Stop calling the place a Hotel. It’s not. Especially considering the above issues. No surprise to see the Vacancy sign when you are charging $250 bucks a night. Admit that you run a Motel…which is what it used to be called.

What I liked:

Location on Lake Otsego
Proximity to town
Proximity to restaurant/bar.
Restaurant staff, especially Dan and Tom.

Room Tip: Get Room 38.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kidrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKEFRONT13326, Manager at Lake Front Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I first would like to say that we do encourage our customers to provide feedback so that we can provide the best experience to our guests. To address the issues brought to our attention:
1. I would first like to say that we are very sorry that you did not feel welcome by our staff. Any issue like this is addressed when brought to our attention.

2. Our door knobs are AAA approved and are what is recommended by AAA. The dead bolt will only engage from the inside. This is how the lock is supposed to work as the door locks automatically when closed.

3. The pillows that are used in our guest rooms are hypo-allergenic, feather filled pillows. Extra pillows and or fiber filled pillows are available to our guests upon request. Any request brought to our attention is addressed immediately.

4. Our hotel was completely re-built and everything is brand new and the shower is a commercial grade shower that one would have installed in their home. The same goes for the shower doors. The Lake Front installed actual shower doors instead of shower curtain that in a lot of places are found to be un-sanitary and often times dirty.

5. The issue of the name of Lake Front Hotel all comes down to the zoning in the Village of Cooperstown. When the motel was re-built the Village made us change our name to a Hotel due to zoning that had changed.

6. Any issue any guest has with the restaurant needs to be addressed with them. The hotel and restaurant are owned and operated by different people. Any issue any guest does have that is brought to the hotels staff is however brought to the attention of the restaurant owners and staff.

Our rates are $ 169.00 to $ 249.00 per night in the summer season. We are priced very competitively with other motels, hotels, and B&B's in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Booked for one night, and after an hour booked a second because the view was awesome. The hotel recently went through a major renovation, room was very clean, comfortable, but a little small. Bathroom very bright, clean but the water pressure wasn't the best. Needs a spot for toiletries, not above the toilet.
Would have liked a coffee maker and a little fridge. On site restaurant was very good, great friendly staff everywere. Glad we didn't book at one of the chain hotels in Cooperstown, they are a little out of town. When they say 1 1/2 blocks to the Baseball Hall of Fame, they meant it. Would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Ask to have an upper balcony overlooking the water. Great sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preshess640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Ideal location close to everything in town and newly remodeled. However for the price you would normally expect at least a coffee maker and usually a microwave and/or refrigerator. Bathroom could use additional counter top space - above toilet shelf pivots and is unusable. Attached restaurant is a little overpriced as are most in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The staff was very friendly, my family enjoyed the restaurant, and the room was comfortable. It isn't worth a 5 star review because there is no refrigorator, nor is there a microwave in the rooms. We hope to return in the future!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here recently for a friend's wedding, was one of the moderately priced options in Cooperstown- I now wish I had spent a bit more for a nicer hotel!

Rooms were small, dark and dingy- "remodeled" meant a new bathroom, but the shower head was a fine mist.

Bedspread and matching pillowcases looked very worn, carpet worn.

Room very small, not even a coffeemaker.

Front desk staff make you feel as though you are a burden.

Good points- convenient to all of Cooperstown, the lakeside location is beautiful, and the restaurant was great for breakfast and cocktails. Restaurant staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandatravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Property: Lake Front Hotel
Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing