We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, magic view and walking distance from town center.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
1 review
“Great location, magic view and walking distance from town center.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

You will be charmed not only by the magnificent lake that is right at the door step of your room but also by the welcoming staff. The hotel itself is very nice and it has a restaurant with a diverse menu. Best of all you can enjoy the one hour boat ride on the lake that is right there on the premises of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    104
    39
    31
    17
See reviews for
83
122
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I chose it for location, and it was great. But it seems an extra $100 was added for Hall of Fame Classic weekend. For $250, I expect a newspaper, facial tissue, an iron and ironing board, coffee in the room or in the front office, and ice I don't have to buy at the restaurant. I was barely in the door when the front desk called to say my cooler had to stay in my car. And I couldn't sit with my brother and his wife because my pation chairs were locked to the wall. The restaurant food was quite good but service was not. I had to empty the bathroom trash because the maid didn't do it. They changed the name to Lakefront Hotel after renovating, but it still seems like a motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillMFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

A very nice, friendly local establishment. Clean, new and comfortable. And a reasonable price!
Right on the lake and walking distance to Main Street. We were very pleased with the overall value and experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paige_Turner45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It has been renovated since they took the pictures that are on the website. It's much more modern now and the location cannot be beat and helpful. The hotel is right on the lake, but only just down the hill from the Hall of Fame. The staff was friendly. The walls are thin -- I could hear my neighbors talking, but it wasn't enough to keep me awake. We were in room 25 and it had a view of the lake (plus all rooms have deck chairs in front for relaxing and taking in the view).

We did the boat tour -- it's worth it for the view and a moment of relaxation (although the narration was a little campy for my taste). It was so relaxing, I fell asleep!

Breakfast was ok. It did cost more for anything other than the very basics but for $3.45 plus tip, my meal was decent enough. The young woman who was our waitress was odd, but just inexperienced (and perhaps a little lonely).

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms in the smaller building across from the check in place. That's where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nld128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May 2012. Since it was low season, and the prices were reasonable, we chose a King Superior room, with a balcony overlooking the lake. The location is great, walking distance to the BHOF, and Main Street restaurants and shops. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, and the furnishings relatively new. My only faults with this place were the walls are paper thin, and the bathroom fan/light is painfully loud.
Overall, a good deal for off-season, I'm not sure I would recommend this place with their published high season rates though. For conveinence - it can't be beat. Peaceful setting as well, until one of your neighbors talks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a really nice, hidden away spot in Cooperstown which I happened upon due to all the chain hotels being full. It was the best if you like water and the lake surrounding you. It is very clean, nice people take care of it and the location is one of the best. Ask for the opposite side of where the office is---we looked out the window and within three feet of our room was water. It rained during our out of season stay(less expensive) so I was able to look out the window and enjoy the beauty of the area. It is a definite--we are going back here!!! Also, trip advisor had recommended it-the rooms are renovated and the picturethat shows the hotel is not as nice as the real thing. It is a very nice place!

Room Tip: Ask for the opposite side of the office-it is on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryBC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I organize group Sports related trips and this one was to Cooperstown. I took 11 rooms for the weekend of April 20th thru 22nd. The hotel is very nice. It is a very scenic and peaceful location right on Ostwego Lake. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very accomodating and pleasant. Particularly, Rosey who helped in the booking of the rooms, James the night manager and Paula the owner. You're only a short walk to the Hall of Fame and Main Street where all the stores and restaurants are located. I would definitely recommend it if you're in that area and especially if you're going to go to the Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GUYMAC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Property: Lake Front Hotel
Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing