We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otesaga Dining Room - A classy restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Otesaga Dining Room - A classy restaurant”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I didn't see a separate listing for the Otesage Resort Hotel dining room so I'm putting my review here. While staying at the Cooper Inn, my husband and I enjoyed a marvelous dinner at the Otesaga Resort Hotel dining room. As typical with prix fixe restaurants, the choices were limited BUT the quality was excellent. Even vegetarian husband had a marvelous meal. Service was stellar with the wait staff able to balance cordial attention with 'staying out of the way' while we dined -- very nicely done. The wine selection was good and out of the ordinary. Again, wait staff knew the wine as well as the food. Okay, I'm a push-over when the table is 'crumbed' before dessert but i do like this type of attention to detail in a fine restaurant. We will definitely dine here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Kay E,
We’re so glad to read that you took advantage of dining in our Main Dining Room as one of the many benefits available to guests of The Cooper Inn. Thank you for posting a comment about your dining experience, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service as our team makes every effort to provide an unforgettable experience, whether you’re dining with us or staying overnight. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    107
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
156
209
10
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

we went to enjoy a meal at the resort. The main dining area is very old and well decorated. This hotel dates back to 1909. The hospitality and service we received was just fantastic. They really put out a fabulous meal with everything you could possibly want. the wait staff waited on our every need and were prompt and courteous. The food is all top shelf they don't hold back on anything. Stop in and enjoy a fabulous meal in the main dining room at the Otesaga Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear WBevanW,
Thank you for your endorsement, we’re excited to know that you had a ‘fantastic’ experience in the Main Dining Room of The Otesaga. The team will be so happy to read your comments as they strive to exceed every guest’s expectation while visiting The Otesaga. We hope to welcome you back during one of our many events lined up for the upcoming season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This beautiful period hotel sits right on the lake, wonderful period ambience, fantastic experience! We went to a wedding here last weekend and never felt anything except relaxed! I have stayed here once before and will definitely again. Loved the little pub downstairs with music until the wee hours. Oh! The food was great also, especially the apps.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stirling061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Stirling061,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Otesaga, we’re so glad to know that you had a fantastic experience while attending a wedding. Your kind comments will be shared with the rest of the team who will be so proud to know that they made your stay special. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is something elegant about understated class. Here it is.
I had stayed here for a conference years ago. Single beds. No TV, and no telephone or ammenities in the rooms. Now things are up to resort standards. But what still remains is the subdued attentiveness of the staff. In other reviews you will have seen the accurate comments about the views and the food; all true. But what is more important is the pervasive attitude. You are their GUEST. And they are there to insure your experience. I've been to a lot of top drawer resorts, but in Upstate NY only the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid is in the same league with regard to attentiveness.
Downside-We would have liked coffee and tea in the room in the morning.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You obviously want the lake side, but the other charms of the hotel are such that you will not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your endorsement, it’s so delightful to read such positive comments about your recent stay at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, it makes our team proud to know that our attentive service is what made your stay so memorable. While we offer complimentary coffee and tea selection to our guests in the main lobby each day, we’ll make sure to share your comment with the appropriate departments for consideration. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at The Otesaga for a conference in October and it was magnificent! The hotel is filled with old world charm and all the modern amenities. The view over Lake Otsego was gorgeous with the fall foliage peaking, even though it was over-cast and raining at night. The food was wonderful and the staff was warm and welcoming. Ivan started our afternoon off wonderfully by offering to fill our ice bucket for drinks while we settled in ~ so welcome after driving 3 hours by car and sitting through classes all afternoon! The entertainment in the lounge downstairs was fun and lively. I was disappointed that we didn't get to have drinks out by the huge fire pit at night because of the rain... but it gives me a reason to go back another time! Whether you visit the Otesaga for a conference, weekend away with a loved one, or a wedding, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, end of the wing, so that the windows in the room overlooked the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higginsfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Higginsfoster,
We're so excited to read such positive and kind comments, thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us! We’re glad that you enjoyed everything about The Otesaga Resort Hotel during your recent conference and delighted to know that the staff’s friendliness and assistance contributed for a pleasant stay. It’s unfortunate that you weren't able to experience our new lakeside Fire Bar but as you mentioned, it gives another reason to return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coaldale, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Outstanding experience. Old style charm with beautiful building, location, and view; but the service and attitude was off the charts. Hawkeye Grill: best scallops of my life! Add the lamb T-bones for world-class "surf n turf". Main dining room meals virtually perfect. Bell, front desk, housekeeping, concierge, event management, F&B staffs all went out of their way to attend to every potential need with a great, helpful attitude.

Doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Lakeview, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mark R,
We’re so happy to read about your recent experience at The Otesaga, thank you for the kind comments, especially as it relates to our service. We’ll make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, as they will be proud to know that one more guest had a great experience during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to making your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Visiting cooperstown for baseball hall of fame. Went to this restuarant to have dinner. This was a very nice old bar and grill, would have been nice to sit on patio overlooking lake, but was a bit cold. Had the special prime rib with horseradish dip, large salad, and home fries. Beef was excellent. Local beer also available and is very good. Will be back when I return to town.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikiej09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mikiej09,
Thank you for choosing the Hawkeye Bar & Grill for your recent dining experience, we’re so glad that you enjoyed your menu selection and that everything was to your satisfaction, we’ll make sure to share your kind comments with the chef and his team! We hope to welcome you back when you can experience dining on our outdoor patio overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing