We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“February Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our family all met there for our nieces wedding in February. The night before we were treated to a prime rib dinner, yorkshire pudding and wonderful wine. The place was grand and wandered around for several hours before the meal. The meal was amazing, they have a very talented chef. After dinner we headed to another room for a dessert bar. The Otesaga knows how to make their guests feel welcomed. The following day the wedding took place in this grand ball room where we watched on all sides of us the snowflakes fall down and overlooking the lake. The whole hotel we had to ourselves at this time of the year. Afterwards we were treated to appetizers while the wedding party took pictures. One of our favorite waiters was Clarence who came around with fried Lobster. There was also small lamb chops being supplied along with a table of other goodies. The meal was out of this world, the room so wonderful it was like out of a storybook fairy tale. Across the hall was another area where more food was brought in, places to converse if the music was too loud and a photo booth. AAA plus was the service, the food and the location. It was a destination wedding and was well worth the 10 hours to get there. Many family members stayed in the rooms that we enjoyed as a family. Extra large rooms with entertaining areas and very up to date bathrooms. Once in a life time experience. Treated like royalty for two days. Hats off to the staff and the Chef!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Robin S,
Thank you for staying with us during your niece’s wedding at The Otesaga, our team had a great time hosting the event and we’re so glad to hear that you felt treated like royalty. We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they’ll be thrilled to know that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    105
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
155
205
10
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This was our 5th trip to Cooperstown, NY dating back to October, 1983 when I proposed to my wife at the Otesaga Resort Hotel (we've stayed here 4 times and once at their smaller, sister property, the Cooper Inn). Cooperstown is an unspoiled, idyllic little hamlet in upstate New York with no fast food restaurants or chain retail stores, only the beauty of the town itself, its people and nature.

The service at the Otesaga is unsurpassed, from the moment you drive up the circular driveway and are greeted by the doorman, to the front desk staff, to the housekeeping staff and the wait staff in each of the restaurants. All the rooms are unique size and shape adding to the character and atmosphere. The grounds are exquisite and the view of Lake Otsego and the finishing holes of the Leatherstocking Golf Course from the huge back porch are breathtaking (especially in the fall). Since our first visit to Cooperstown, there's never been a discussion of where to stay, it's always the Otesaga (I must say that the Cooper Inn is equally as beautiful but on a smaller scale and closer to the downtown area).

If you're looking for a fast paced, up all night partying atmosphere, Cooperstown is not the place for you. However, if you can remember a bygone era when we were able to safely walk the streets after dark and enjoy each other's company taking in all the charm of a small town, this is the place for you. Don't be mislead that the Baseball Hall of Fame is all there is here (I'm a huge baseball fan, but have only visited the Hall twice in our 5 trips). There's the beautiful Fennimore Art Museum, the New York State Farmers Museum and Glimmerglass State Park (and Hyde Hall) just to name a few of the other attractions to visit, and there's always just the splendor of the Otesaga and the town itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchilone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Rchilone,
What an amazing review of Cooperstown, The Otesaga, and The Cooper Inn, we’re delighted to read about your endorsement and thrilled with your account of your various stays with us, thank you for your loyalty and kind comments. Your summation of the village, its charms, and culture could not have been better portrayed, Cooperstown has a lot to offer and when guests stay with us they are pleasantly surprised by the array of venues and activities that ‘America’s Most Perfect Village’ has to offer. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

. . . Cooperstown, along with so many of its benchmark properties including the Otesaga Resort . . . it's hotel, restaurants, banquet halls, bars, gift shop, golf course and it's other amenities . . . non the least of which is it's fabulous landscaping, facilities, setting and location. The Otesaga never fails to make me proud that it is in our small village; it is a joy to behold year around and it seems to just keep getting better with each turn of the seasons.

Over the years I have visited it countless times along with my family and many of our extended family and friends and always are we pleased with the food, the accommodations, the staff, the facilities and of course the view from the back porch . . . looking down the long lake over the back terrace and 18th green. Whether it is for weddings, their famous Sunday Brunch, fundraisers, the school Cotillion dances, seminars, entertainment or just getting together with friends for lunch on the patio or for drinks and dinner at the Hawkeye, it has always been a pleasure and a treasure to experience.

I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is a living vibrant thriving place of historic relevance that will not disappoint! I hope whoever reads this review and then visits will have had the chance to build great memories as the Harris clan has done over all these years!

Room Tip: Ask for Bob Faller . . . he won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalRubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear RoyalRubicon,
Thank you so much for your kind words and endorsing The Otesaga Resort Hotel, what a great review. We are so proud to know that we've made your various experiences here memorable and we’re extremely thankful to our guests who make the Otesaga a “vibrant thriving place of historic relevance”. Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Otesaga, whether for dining, entertainment or attending a special event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family gathering was a great success. With a private dining room and great support from event services, we had a fantastic evening with everything done to our specifications.
The dancing after dinner in the Templeton lounge was a good way to shake down dinner and the children had a ball on the dance floor.
You need to go there yourself to experience the beauty, the quality and the uniquness of this place. In the winter the prices are very good and dinners around the year in the Hawkey Grill are first class. Chef Michael has the wide knowledge about fine cuisine and the food is of highest quality, whatever you choose.
P.S. Do request specific bedding or you might be stuck in a standard room with two twin beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambercita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ambercita,
What a great review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel, we’re thrilled that you enjoyed everything about your recent stay. Thank you for your kind feedback, we’ll make sure to share your comments with the various departments as they’ll be delighted to know that you had such a fantastic experience while here. Please visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Otesaga on two separate occasions this summer while our son was playing in the week-long Cooperstown Dreams Park tournaments. The decor is old-world and lovely, and the service was friendly and gracious. I still dream about sitting out on the porch having breakfast or sipping drinks in the wooden rocking chairs overlooking the lake. For the two weeks we spent there, it really became our home away from home. Definitely worth the price compared to other local hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm0692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear mmm0692,
How inspiring it is to read such a kind review from your stays at The Otesaga this past summer, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and especially for staying with us, not once but twice in one season! We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed the friendly service that they provided. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our hotel room was beautiful with a fantastic view of Otsego lake... we had such a great time we decided to stay an extra night. The hotel is also in a lovely town with the added benefit of being home to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brionc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Brionc29,
We love to hear stories of guests who stayed an extra night because they enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we truly appreciate your endorsement and we’re glad that you enjoyed our resort, the town, and its sights during your weekend stay. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with great personnel who cater to you every need. The night manager allowed us to place our grandchildrens Christmas gift by the fire place on 12/24 and watched them so our grandchildren could be surprised that Santa found them and brought gyre presents all the way from California ! Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!
Howard and Maryann B.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing