We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from the deck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view from the deck!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It was a great stay! The room was large, clean, modern, and the staff was attentive. The hotel is opulent and has great restaurants. Be sure to get a reservation, if staying on Friday or Saturday. Breakfast buffet was very good and open long enough for the late sleepers to still make it. The sunset views of the lake are a can't miss. The location is an easy walk to downtown and the Baseball Hall of Fame, which is important because of the parking meters in downtown. I have stayed there 2 times and won't think of staying anywhere else in town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Donald G,
Thank you for your loyalty towards The Otesaga, it means a lot to know that you “won’t think of staying anywhere else in town” when visiting Cooperstown. We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they’ll be excited to know that you experienced such a great stay. Your recommendation to make reservations is a great tip as our restaurants tend to become very popular during this time of the year. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    120
    42
    13
    20
See reviews for
168
235
10
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pocono Mountains of PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Otesaga Resort starting July 14, 2014 and departed July 17, 2014. It is an exquisite resort - perfectly maintained, with a superior staff. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the lake, and had a wonderful breakfast buffet each morning. Lunch and dinner are also excellent. The resort is close to so many places. Within walking distance is the Fenimore Art Museum and a farm "compound" with various buildings and antiques enabling visitors to see how people lived in a bygone era. A hop on the trolley car took us into town to the Baseball Hall of Fame and several other sites. The Otesaga is a great place for people of all ages, and we highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake! So VERY beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovemyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear LovemyAngel,

We’re delighted to know that you enjoyed your 3-day stay at The Otesaga during your recent visit! Thank you for mentioning the Fenimore Art and Farmers’ Museums, two top attractions that not many guests are aware of when visiting Cooperstown and perfect for the whole family! Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us this summer. We look ahead to the opportunity to welcome you back in America’s Most Perfect Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We partook of the lunch buffet at the Otesaga last Fri. We dined on the great porch overlooking the 18 th hole of the adjacent golf course and Otsego Lake. It was a perfect summer day and the views were picturesque to say the least. I been a annual visitor to the hotel for its plentiful buffet for 30 years . The main course of roast turkey and baked salmon with fresh broccoli were excellent and for dessert the pecan pie, carrot cake and ice cream sundae were a perfect ending to the feast. My only disappointment were the mashed potatoes which were almost watery and not up to the hotels usual high standard .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Feebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Feebus,

Thank you for your remarkable loyalty towards The Otesaga and for your kind comments, Chef Perillo and his team will be thrilled to read your feedback as they strive to serve the best quality food in the region. Chef Perillo is keen in exploring local ingredients and flavors available in the region to provide unique experiences to guests dining with us. Please know that we’ll make sure to share your feedback about the mashed potatoes with the chef as we want to make sure that we’re providing the best quality product. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel is just great, right on the lake, great views. The staff is wonderful, service great. The rooms are clean, the bed and pillows are nice. All that said, if you are a person who has traveled and enjoys a nice hotel room, this place is under-done. The Clarks who own this place have a history of owning great art, but the junk they decorate their hotel with is just horrible, not that art makes any place, but it takes the decor and brings it even further down. Nice tall ceilings, lots of old world molding, and the rest is just old. The place looks like it was decorated by a 90 year old lady. My wife and I came here to celebrate our Anniversary and really have a special time. We have stayed at places like the Prince of Wales hotel at Niagara on the Lake. Those rooms will leave your breathless when you step into them. Otesage Hotel had my expectations high but when I stepped into a room that was supposed to be the best suite in the house, I presumed that they put me in the wrong room. What I got was a 1 room hotel room, with a very plain bathroom, and a TV that did not have any pay-per-view channels. The view of the beautiful lake was marred by the huge flat black roof over the porch. Room service is not any better than what you can get from any tavern. Lastly the room prices are a joke. We paid $599 per night and while that is the most I have ever paid for a room, I wanted the best for us to celebrate our Anniversary. The air conditioning did not work well and it was not even very hot outside. And to make matters the worst, there is NO FAN IN THE BATHROOM!!!!!! The manager told me that my room was the best in the place. Hard to imagine. I have had many rooms that were so much better and nicer, at $250 per night. The people running this place need to visit some other places to see where their competition is at. To anybody wanting to stay here, take my advice. Buy a plane ticket, fly to Buffalo and then rent a car and go stay at Niagara on the Lake, Prince of Wales hotel. You will have a better time and still save a ton of cash.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to a "suite". They are not worth it. If you are from NYC or Boston, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear BobR54,
Thank you for your honest review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel, while we’re happy to know that you found our service and staff wonderful, it’s disheartening to know that you found the resort to be “just old”. We understand that décor is a personal preference but we’re disappointed that the recent renovations, incorporating the timeless and classic elegance indicative of the resort’s root, did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you were unsatisfied with the size of your hotel room and views. Our top priority is to deliver a memorable experience for each of our guests, and being that you were celebrating your anniversary, it should have been an unforgettable one. Again, we’re so sorry for the discontentment with your recent stay and we hope that you will consider returning to the resort. If you’d like to further discuss your recent stay, please don’t hesitate to reach us directly at OtesagaHotel@Otesaga.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently got to stay at the Otesaga Resort Hotel the Monday after the Baseball H.O.F. induction ceremonies last weekend. What a fabulous treat. The resort is one of those Grand Hotels from the turn of the century built in 1909. The hotel just oozes charm at every turn. gracious lobby, beautifully decorated rooms, right on the lake. Started at the Fire pit, where my son and I enjoyed a cocktail before dinner in the main dinning room. Dinner was fantastic, great wine list,delicious steaks, and beautiful view of the lake from our table. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet the next morning was just as wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer then one night, but Major League Baseball buy's out the Hotel for H.O.F. weekend and now I know why.I'm sure all of the greats from Baseball have a marvelous time there every year. P.S. I know it didn't make a difference to management that my son and I are from Chicago, but I can't thank them enough for putting us in the room next to Frank Thomas. what a thrill. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who loves the past, whether you're a baseball fan or not.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tom M.,

We’re so glad that you stayed with us following the Induction weekend, thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. We’ll make sure to pass along your feedback to the various departments, they’ll enjoy reading your comments. We agree that a one night trip to Cooperstown is not enough given all that this great destination has to offer, including lake attractions, hands-on experiences and so much more. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneonta, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lake Otesaga is totally unspoiled or built-up like many holiday destinations. This is thanks to the Clark Family, who purchased thousands of acres in Cooperstown many years ago with the idea that they should remain untouched by any commercial venture. The Otesaga Hotel is the Grand Dame of the lake. Even if you only go for a meal in the Hawkeye Grill, you will have a memorable experience. The view from the terrace and veranda is breathtaking, and in the warmer months, a table there is sure to delight. The food is top-notch and reasonably priced, especially given the Cooperstown address, and the service is professional and efficient. Take a ride on the Glimmerglass Queen, a tour boat based out of the harbor a mile or so from the hotel, and enjoy a leisurely trip on the lake while listening to a very interesting narration about its history. We live about 25 miles from Cooperstown, and always take our visiting guests for lunch at the Otesaga Hotel and they all rave about it. While we have not stayed overnight in the Hotel, we did enjoy an evening at the Cooper Inn, which is also run by the same management, and had a great experience. The rates at the Hotel are on the pricey side because they include some meals and "resort" amenities, but if you are looking for those, especially with a family, I think you would get good value for your money. And you don't need to be a baseball fan to enjoy Cooperstown, there is so much else to see and do, even just walking the charming cobblestone streets. The Otesaga Resort Hotel closes for the winter season (the Cooper Inn stays open), but that is when the town is tranquil and you can take your time moseying about. If you're into the arts, don't miss the Fenimore Museum of Art, a real knock-out for such a modest size.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Brenda B,

What a thorough review of Cooperstown and The Otesaga, thank you for showcasing the destination to visiting guests. Cooperstown is indeed unique given its many area attractions, from baseball to cultural activities and topnotch music experiences. As you mentioned, while The Otesaga closes after Thanksgiving weekend, The Cooper Inn remains open and provides a great retreat for winter getaways. We hope to welcome you as an overnight guest The Otesaga in the near future to experience first-hand all the resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A sense of peace and calm immediately greets you upon arrival at the Otesaga hotel. With breathtaking views of the lake and old world charm, the hotel provides the perfect retreat from the "noise and clutter" of our busy lives. Even our 12-year old grandsons abandoned their electronic devices to spend hours fishing off the dock and swimming. The hotel was a classic beauty and our room was a generous size and very comfortable. But, as important, the service we received at the Otesaga was impeccable and gracious and even extended to after we had left. One of our grandsons had left his team baseball cap in one of the restaurants in town and didn't realize it util our arrival back home in Connecticut. When my husband called the Otesaga to inquire if they could help us with our "dilemma," they graciously sent a staff member to pick up the cap at Toscana and then sent it to us in Connecticut, all free of charge. Despite it just being a baseball cap, the hotel went out of its way to assist us - - and make a 12 year old by very happy. Now, that's service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbljel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Cbljel,
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Otesaga, thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re so happy that we could assist with retrieving your grandson’s baseball cap. We’ll make sure to share your kind comments with the rest of our staff, they’ll be delighted to know that you enjoyed the attentive service that your family received. We look forward to welcoming you back to America’s Most Perfect Village in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing