We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ethel H”
Review of Lake View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ethel H”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great service, rooms are old but clean. Close to restaurants and attractions. Have to cross a busy road to go swimming and fishing and paddle boating. VIEW was beautiful. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    76
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
62
66
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The rooms and the grounds are spotless (and I am extremely picky about this ), the staff is helpful and friendly and the view is incredible. The lakefront area kept my family entertained for hours, swimming, fishing and paddle boating. Close to the local attractions. We stayed in the top area of the hotel which has a spectacular view and a huge grassy area . I can't wait to back ! I could sit and look at that lake all day .

Room Tip: Staying in a room up the hill will get you a great view and a big grassy area. There is a steep h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We needed a moderately priced motel during the week in order to attend a funeral. We used Trip Advisor to help us locate the Lake View Motel and Marina. We spoke with the desk by phone and made arrangements. The staff, both on the phone and in person, were very accomodating, friendly, and great with suggestions for things to do as well as providing directions. The room was spotless and comfortable and the view of the lake was awesome. Would love to be able to stay there again when we could enjoy the lake and Cooperstown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I took my husband to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall Of Fame for his birthday, looking for something out of the ordinary. I did not want the usual Hilton, Hampton, etc. I am a flight attendant and have stayed at just about every type of hotel you can imagine...

We stayed at the Lake View Motel for 2 nights- about 2 miles from The Baseball Hall of Fame. We had a room at the top of the lawn above the lake. There was absolutely no noise and a beautiful view there. The lower rooms by the road may be more noisy, but ours was great on top of the hill. The landscaping and outdoor areas are immaculate. The rooms are pretty basic as far as decor, but very clean, as was the bathroom.

It is an older facility, but is kept up very well. Attention to detail-the outdoor chairs on each patio are vintage metal, but new. Planter boxes with flowers all along. They have kept the vintage lake look about the property, but it is very well maintained. I liked the "feel" of this place because it wasn't a typical hotel-it felt like being at the lake on vacation.

I was most impressed with the staff. Because we had a very late night check in, I was told I could find my key in the after hours box. We checked in at about 1:30 in the morning, and the attendant was actually waiting on us to get there. She had decided to wait for us and was so helpful in answering questions, etc. She also had gone up earlier to prepare the room with a roller bed (no extra charge) and left the lights on for us. The manager takes great pride in this place; you can tell.

My girls loved the big grass yard and the free paddle boats. The swimming area was great, and fishing poles are available, too.

AT&T does not get a signal there, but I picked up wi-fi at the bottom of the lawn in the lounge chair overlooking the lake. I believe you can get wifi for a fee, but it was actually refreshing to unplug for a while.

Picked up a pizza in town (Sals Pizza-it was amazing) and we ate it sitting at the picnic tables with umbrellas overlooking the lake.

Coffee and tea are available in the office in the morning. There is a vending machine there, too. Otherwise, food is all in town. There is a microwave, coffee maker (with real creamers!) and fridge in each room. The bed was comfortable and sheets and pillows in good condition. Air conditioner was cold, and a ceiling fan.

We were very pleasantly surprised by this place. I don't believe any groups or baseball teams were there, so it was quiet during our stay. So glad we stayed here. Upon leaving Cooperstown, we went through the more commercial side on the way out. So glad we chose to stay on the lake where it was quaint and peaceful!

Thank you, Lake View Motel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel,Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lake View Motel just last week. This is a small place which provides efficient and clean accomodations. Rooms are nice and clean, service is good, staff is helpful, view is amazing and relaxing. However we wish breakfast would be available for guests and there would be some method of containing the road noise,as Hwy 80 runs just outside the place. There are other Motels down the road, even cheaper which may be better as they are away from the road and closer to the water and guests don't have the risk their lives crossing the road to go to the lakeside. Overall the stay was okay but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: To have quieter time, select a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjoshi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie,PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked the last off-season night (June 20). Even in- season rates are better than Cooperstown B& B's. I think this would be a great choice for families. Across the street, there is a dock and paddle boats owned by the motel. The office staff is friendly and helpful. Be sure and ask if you need a hair dryer, they keep them in the office. Wireless Internet worked fine, not great AT&T cell service, but who cares? You are on vacation! Beds a bit softer than I like, but not terrible. Bathroom very clean! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a view of the lake from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusLawProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

A short scenic drive to town. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view of the lake. A dock to fish off of. A lake to swim in. Tables and chairs down next to the water. Paddle boats free to use. Fishing poles provided, not great news but they are free to use. Beach towels provided.

Clean room and bathroom. Daily maid service.

Is not the Taj Mahal, but what more could you ask for?

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattt9998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
5.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.4 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake N Pines Motel
Lake N Pines Motel
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Motel

Property: Lake View Motel
Address: 6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3105
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#7 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Cooperstown, New York? The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Beautiful Lake Otsego, the Dreams Park, Leather Stocking golf course, the Farmers Museum are just a few of the many attractions in America's perfect village.The Lake View Motel on Lake Otsego is just 6 miles from the Village of Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame. We offer a selection of rooms, suites and cottages to accommodate your special needs. The beach area includes a swim dock and float, paddle boats at no charge, fishing dock and sun deck. Our spacious well kept grounds have more than ample room for that game of catch or to toss the football and Frisbee. With grills and picnic tables our "backyard" is perfect for your family picnic.You will greatly enjoy the terrific lake views from anyplace on the facility. We are open from May to mid- October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Cooperstown
Lake View Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing