We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Lake View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake View Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were only fortunate enough to spend one night at Lake View, and we were pleasantly surprised the moment we walked in the room. The low room price had me worried, but we walked into an immaculate room. We were in the front room that had an awesome "lake view" and a deck. It was not a huge room, but perfectly sized for 2 adults. The staff went over the top to make us feel welcome. I was greeted with a smile when I walked into the office, and the staff was readily available to answer our questions and give advice on traveling into the village. I would gladly recommend this to any traveler and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thanks for helping make our trip really fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. Nothing approaches the good feeling we get if our guests enjoyed their time at the Lake View. We hope you were treated as our extended family. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here in room 35 up the hill. It was so quiet and the view is amazing. We drove and took the Trolley into the village for $2 each which was for all day. Much cheaper then parking our car for two people. The beds are comfy and the room spotless. All of the staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The paddle boats were free so we used them and had a nice tour around the lake. They also have fishing rods available. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It is a great treat to hear from our guests and learn they enjoyed their time with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice place with a friendly and helpful staff. It was right after Memorial Day and the rush so it was a quiet and relaxing spot. I stayed in the upper level which was clean and a very nice place. The view was spectacular and improved with the sun setting. It is out of the way, so if you want to visit Cooperstown you can drive about 5 miles and park at the trolley pickup location and travel for the day. Very convenient to Cooperstown. They have access to the lake but I did not take advantage of it or check out all the amenities. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank RangerB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

RangerB58, We thank you for your comments. You captured one of our most important goals to provide our guests with a very clean room. We hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our family of 4 (2 adult sons) recently visited Cooperstown for a concert at the Brewery! What a blast! The atmosphere of this hotel was stunning. The mist coming off the lake in the morning was spectacular. We were lucky enough to have reserved cottages 23 and 24. These cute little stand alone cottages were perfect! Each had its own bedroom, a sofa bed and a roll away bed tucked in the closet. Would definately recommend using the roll away bed over the sofa which had the dreaded metal bar across it. We used the oven and fridge (for late night heat-up leftovers), drinks after concert etc. and made breakfast and coffee in the morning. Very convenient having all the amenities. The cottages are tucked away from the highway (you don't even see or hear it). We had our own parking which was great. The cottages were clean, quiet and like a little stand alone house. Even had a patio with deck, sliding doors and outside table and chairs. When it got chilly at night it even had its own furnace! Check in was easy and they were very accomodating as we were running late to our dinner reservation and they gladly called them for us. Word of warning.. we completely missed the blinking red light on Chestnut street coming home late after concert. The state police were sitting right there.. and pulled my husband over. After checking us out and realized we had drove 7 hours from Canada to attend that concert and it was late at night and we did not have a clue (no stop sign) that we could see.. he kindly let us go on our way and even warned of the deer on the road to hotel. Now thats New York hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Get a cottage up on hill away from road. Number 23, 24 or 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awsomegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at the Lakeviewmotel. We really appreciate our guests who both found much to their liking but were able to contribute to our future improvement with some solid observations. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend away to tour Ommegang and other offerings on the wine & beer trail. We arrived late at night and it was pitch dark and stormy and went right to sleep. What a surprise when we opened the door in the morning! What a beautiful view of the lake!!

The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place for anyone traveling to Cooperstown.

And the dock across the street is really beautiful to sit and have a glass of wine!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitknee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. we are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us. O wake up to the lake all summer and totally agree with your comments. We hope to greet you again at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

First of all this place is in Cooperstown, not the village but definitely Cooperstown. The rooms are spotless! My husband is highly allergic to dust and he slept like a baby. The views are nothing short of beautiful. Sparkling shimmering lake waters, easy access docks and lots of lounge chairs to enjoy it all. Everyone we met that works there was so kind and accommodating that we already booked for next year.

Honestly I can't see how anyone can have a complaint.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tigerllili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are very pleased you found everything to your liking and will be happy to once again welcome you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First time in Cooperstown. If all you want and need is a room to sleep in for a night or two. We stayed in a upper room. You can't beat the view of the lake we had. The staff is very friendly and informative. For the price, it worked really well, you are only 5 - 10 minutes to Cooperstown. I agree with other reviews, rooms were very clean. We took advantage of the mini-fridge. It also contains a microwave, coffee maker and my favorite, hairdryer. Check in an out was real quick. The drive and grounds were beautiful with the autumn foliage. Overall a very relaxing stay, I'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phillyburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We are very happy we were able to meet your requirements. We hope to greet you again at a future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#6 of 17 in Cooperstown
405 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Motel

Address: 6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3105
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#7 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: £54 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Cooperstown, New York? The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Beautiful Lake Otsego, the Dreams Park, Leather Stocking golf course, the Farmers Museum are just a few of the many attractions in America's perfect village.The Lake View Motel on Lake Otsego is just 6 miles from the Village of Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame. We offer a selection of rooms, suites and cottages to accommodate your special needs. The beach area includes a swim dock and float, paddle boats at no charge, fishing dock and sun deck. Our spacious well kept grounds have more than ample room for that game of catch or to toss the football and Frisbee. With grills and picnic tables our "backyard" is perfect for your family picnic.You will greatly enjoy the terrific lake views from anyplace on the facility. We are open from May to mid- October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Cooperstown
Lake View Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing