We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy start to '08 at the Rose & Thistle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A happy start to '08 at the Rose & Thistle”
Reviewed 25 April 2008

To get away for New Year's weekend, we decide to spend it in Cooperstown. Yes, Cooperstown in the winter. Expedia didn't seem to mention when an accommodation was closed for the season, so just to be safe, I called ahead to the Rose & Thistle to make sure they were open. Patti answered and said they'd be glad to have us. I asked her a few questions about the rooms, and she helped me select a nice one...Nikki's room. (The photos on the web have since been updated)

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Steve and Patti who gave us the lay of the land. They suggested that we go to the HOF that afternoon (it was already close to 3pm) since our tickets would be good for the next day. They told us which restaurant would be open and which ones they liked.

As everyone else has stated, breakfasts were delicious. Tea and cookies were available throughout the day and there were treats in our room as well.

On New Year's Eve, waiting for us in our room after a day of touring was a small bottle of bubbly. That was totally unexpected and very thoughtful.

It felt like a weekend visiting friends. Both Patti and Steve were ex-NYCers and it was a great to hear how they got started in the B&B biz.

FYI the hotel isn't walking distance to the HOF or to the downtown area. But I'm sure on a summer day it would make a nice bike ride.

BTW It was snowing pretty hard when we left on New Year's Day. Steve told us the best route to take home and Patti asked that we call when we get back home. They truly care for their guests!

I can't imagine how busy that town gets during the season, but I highly recommend R&T anytime of the year.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
124
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittston, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2007

My wife and I stay almost exclusively at B & B's when we travel and this one ranks up there with the best we've stayed in.
Steve and Patti (proprieters) are two of the most friendly people you will ever meet. Starting with Steve's "sit down" to explain Cooperstown's attractions, it's History, and where the best places are to eat (both have extensive experience in the restaurant industry), Steve and Patti go out of there way to make you feel as comfortable and welcome as possible. The home itself is as clean as can be and is tastefully decorated.
Oh, I almost forgot, Steve's breakfast creations are fabulous !
My wife and I strongly recommend the Rose and Thistle if you are making a visit to Cooperstown. We left knowing that we not only had a great time but also made some good friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — on a busy street
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bandit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2006

We stayed at the Rose and Thistle and absolutely loved it. The inn keepers (Patti and Steve) are very warm and hospitable. It is very clean and spotless and the breakfast was delicious. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated and the bathrooms were emmaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable also. The price was right and we will stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2006

We stayed at the Rose & Thistle over a weekend and had a great time. The BB is extremely nice and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional, you can tell Patti and Steve work very hard to make a very creative meal. Highly recommend Rose & Thistle.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We had a wonderful stay at the Rose and Thistle! Patti and Steve were great hosts. Their hospitality and helpfulness helped make our stay very enjoyable. Their home and property is clean, neat, and very well taken care of. The breakfast was delicious too! If we visit Cooperstown again, we will definitely stay at the Rose and Thistle.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2005

Steve and Patti are the ultimate hosts. They tell you where to dine and to shop for that special item that will make your stay that more memorable. Steve is an excellent chef and the breakfasts are wonderful. At 5pm there is always a little something waiting for you in the dining room for those who come back for tea on the porch. Our room on the first floor was very comfortable and there was a bowl of candy in the room when we checked in. They want to make sure you don’t go hungry at the Rose and Thistle. The rooms have hair dryers and cable TV. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jjscd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2005

Fantastic breakfasts. You won't want or need to eat lunch. Hosts Steve and Patti welcomed us into their home. Very charming and quaint room. Like going back in time. There is much to do in Cooperstown besides the Baseball Hall of Fame. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing