We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Rose & Thistle at the end of June and had a fabulous time. The B&B is beautifully kept, the hosts are very warm and welcoming, and the breakfast is great! We stayed in Mary's Room and loved the space. It was perfect for the two of us. We are excited to visit Cooperstown again, and would definitely go back to the Rose & Thistle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Amy and Colin,

thanks a million for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that if you decide to revisit Cooperstown someday, that you would consider us again for your accommodations.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
124
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Lovely rooms and the best hospitality we've had. We loved the great breakfasts and especially visiting and laughing with the other guests at Patti's stories! We were made to feel right at home and she was spot on with her restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. This was our first trip to Cooperstown and after staying an extra day we are already looking forward to going back again. We would definitely stay at the Rose and Thistle again and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for the top floor - Sara's room is huge and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi Bob and Lynn,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope you had a safe journey to Niagara Falls and enjoyed yourselves and then safe travels to home. Go Nationals!!
I am still thinking about" Blue Steel"(ha! ha!)

Stay well, be safe.

Fondly
Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My BF and I recently spent 3 nights at the Rose & Thistle. Our experience began when we made our reservations. Steve was so down-to-earth, that I told my BF "we are staying here!" Patti and Steve's warmth, humor and knowledge of the area made our time in Cooperstown a great visit (inspite of occ. torrential rains). Our late afternoon craft beer on the porch was a great end to the day. When we left, my BF said. "wow, that was like being with family."

I look for 3 things in a hotel or B&B: Cleanliness - check! Location - check! Food -check! Don't get me started on the French Toast!!

As others have pointed out there is some road noise due to construction; but by nightfall it fades away. So -- go, let Patti and Steve take care of you and for heaven's sake, trust their reccos on restaurants!

Room Tip: We stayed in Mary's room -- which was great. Private bath but down the hall. Not a problem for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Kelly and Mike,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We had a blast with you guys and we hope to meet up with you in NJ when visiting our friends and family.

Stay well

Fondly,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had such a wonderful stay while in Cooperstown. Patti and Steve could not have been more wonderful. Great Food and hospitality. I tell everyone to go to Cooperstown even if they are not baseball fans. It is a beautiful place with a number of museums.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi Lori and James,

Thanks for the wonderful review of our bed and breakfast. We hope all is well in TX.
We hope that James and Avery had a great time in NYC and that your reunion was a blast!
Our regards to Ginger

Stay well

fondly

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent a wonderful weekend here! The owners, Steve and Patti, could not have been nicer, making us feel right at home and comfortable. They were very familiar with the area and pointed us to places to go to. At breakfast on Sunday with the other guests, Patti regaled us with story upon story, making us laugh and laugh and LAUGH! We will definitely be back, and wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avonbeth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Beth and Dave,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope to see you again in Cooperstown.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

What a wonderful visit we had here and the accommodations were outstanding. Patty and Steve were outstanding hosts. Party's overview and introduction to the town and area made us feel right at home with outstanding recommendations on restaurants and attractions. The breakfast was outstanding and each morning created an atmosphere for lively conversation amongst the guests and hosts. We were very pleased with our accommodations,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi Bill and Kim,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you had a safe journey to Gettysburg and enjoyed the wedding. Stay well

Fondly,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I went to Cooperstown in April with our 4 1/2 year old grandson and stayed at the Rose & Thistle - we were so happy we did! We enjoyed the huge bedroom and furnishings, Patti's warmth and personal attention, and Steve's fantastic breakfasts! A wonderful place, and we look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Nancy, Ron and Bailey,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since you were supposed to visit us at the same time that Hurricane Sandy was to arrive in your home state. We were happy to apply your previous deposit for this stay.

It was our pleasure meeting you and your grandson.

Stay well

Fondly
Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing