We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time Cooperstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Time Cooperstown”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Patti and Steve were great, we only had 2 nights but had a great time.
The location was great, the food was wonderful and we really enjoyed both Patti and Steve. We hope to return with friends in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTP_0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Manager at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi Mike and Mary,

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you as our guests. We hope that one day you will return with friends and consider us as you accommodations again.

Stay well, be safe,

Fondly,

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Patti and Steve run a very professional, comfortable, positive and clean B&B that makes you feel like you are at home. They made our first experience staying at a B&B so pleasurable and I can almost guarantee no B&B will live up to our stay here. They take such pride in making sure their guests truly have the best stay in Cooperstown.

My husband has been bugging me to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame for as long as I can remember, so when figuring out a 1st wedding anniversary gift for him...I decided to get him a quick getaway to Cooperstown to finally take him to see the HOF. I came across the Rose and Thistle while looking up info for the HOF and there wasn't a bad review about the Bed & Breakfast (outside of the busy road noise which we are used to already bc we live on a main road at home – and for the record was not that noisy) and they had a 2-night package deal with a VIP tour of the HOF. So, it was perfect.

It wasn't until we arrived in Cooperstown that we realized how perfect it was. Neither one of us had ever stayed at a B&B before. It's not for everyone, but people we know who stay at a B&B vs a hotel rave about them. Upon arrival, we had the warmest greeting from Patti (and the best dog ever, Morgan) who was sitting on the porch reading. She showed us around the house and up to our room which was decorated nicely and very clean. She told us to settle in and come down so she could give us area recommendations for our stay. She went through the whole village of Cooperstown full of things to do, see, visit and places for dining as well. All of their recommendations were spot on! They are both extremely knowledgeable about the town, history and the ins and outs of Cooperstown (and even surrounding areas too).

We stayed in Nicki’s room and though we normally opt for a king-size bed, there wasn’t a room available with a king-size bed so we had a queen instead. It’s never a deal breaker for us and the bed was so comfortable it made me forget it was a queen. The size of the room may be small to some, but it had everything we needed (bed, TV, bathroom, closet for our things) and was fully stocked with amenities from water down to q-tips! The wraparound porch is so nice to sit outside and relax wine, reading materials, or even just friendly chatting with other guests or Patti and Steve.

Since our trip had an itinerary that started early, breakfast being served at 8:30am was perfect for us – it forced us to get up and get ready instead of be lazy like we sometimes are when we don’t have to work. To say breakfast was good is a HUGE understatement. Breakfast was delicious, well planned and thought out. There is no comparison to a hotel breakfast…and you certainly will not leave hungry. The table was beautifully decorated (different each morning) and course after course was just delicious. You can tell they take great pride in having their guests leave with a full belly and fully caffeinated. It helped that we had a great group of other guests staying the same time we did, so breakfast was nice with good conversation and not as awkward as it could be when sitting at a table with people you have never met before.

We were sad to leave, but had a huge smile as we were leaving because Patti called for Steve to come out and say goodbye to us because the "kids" were leaving…from the moment we walked in we felt like family and had a great time laughing and chatting with both Patti and Steve. There’s no doubt in our minds that when we return to Cooperstown…we will be staying at the Rose and Thistle and nowhere else. We even told our friends if they come to Cooperstown they must stay at the Rose and Thistle…they will not be disappointed.

Christina & Kevin

(for the record, Patti…the pillow is still under Kev's head lol)

Room Tip: We were very happy staying in Nicki's Room. Had everything we needed, could be small to some...b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Manager at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hey Kids!

Thanks a million for the wonderful review. You have renewed our faith that we are in the right business. We enjoyed having you as our guests and are happy that you enjoyed the HOF VIP experience. We hope that you will return to Cooperstown someday, maybe a milestone anniversary???

Hey Kevin, watch out for the pillow, hopefully it is still UNDER your head, Ha! Ha!

Many more anniversaries are wished your way.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly,

Patti and Steve, Morgan, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I chose this B&B based on the great reviews. We were looking forward to a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary - a trip for just the two of us, without kids.

We were happy when we initially arrived. The owners were quite nice and the house attractive and clean.

Given that we were expecting a romantic weekend, we were shocked to find that our room was basically IN the dining room. This meant that we could sleep only until Steve started breakfast and that we needed to be up and dressed by 8:30 "sharp. " This is when the other guests would come in and be seated.

Moreover, the bathroom was no larger than one on a plane, since it had formerly been the closet. No relaxing bath. I'm 5'1" and 115lbs and couldn't close the door without sucking in a breath.

There was NO privacy at all. The room only fit the bed. We wouldn't be able to hang out and relax during the day. We would be woken at 7 am. Patti said "Dont worry! It will just be the FOUR OF US back here." And there would be no intimacy.

We were so upset and angry. Was this being fair? We had spent $500 for a room that - had we known what it was, we NEVER would have selected. Patti said that no other rooms were available.

So even though we knew that we were out $500, we decided to check out 2 hours after we got there. And I'm so glad that we did. And we ended up having a wonderful romantic weekend.

Sometimes you just get screwed as we did. Patti and Steve made a cool $500. My guess is that this wasn't the first time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taken4aryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Judy and Jonathan,

We are truly SORRY that you were extremely unhappy with our facility. We understand that you booked it on line based on reviews. We wish that you had mentioned in the special needs section when booking the room that this was going to be a romantic weekend for the both of you so that we would have been able to contact you and maybe make arrangements to accommodate you to another room where you would of been more comfortable.

The photo of the room on our website is exactly how it looks in person.

The room is off the dining room and the bathroom is small, which was never a closet but you are guaranteed privacy. As far as intimacy, the doors to the dining area are shut until 8:30 am and you would of had plenty of privacy until breakfast was served. Steve and I have our own quarters in the house, away from the dining room, so you would of been alone on the first floor.

Upon departing, you explained to my husband that you wanted a bigger room and more privacy and that you were leaving and wanted to settled up. You did not seem upset and I also offered that if we were to re-book the room, I would REIMBURSE your card. You seemed very appreciative.

We have a comfortable parlor and a large wraparound porch that you were more than welcomed to relax on.

We pride ourselves on making all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. Unfortunately, we held your reservation since May and were not able to move you to another room since all the rooms and guests were checked in to their perspective rooms. If we did have that option, we would of GLADLY moved you.

This is the first time that anyone has accused us of screwing them. We take offense to the slur.
I think a lack of communication when booking the reservation is apparent.

We are GLAD that you ended up having the weekend you anticipated after all.

We hope you had a safe journey back to MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just returned from another wonderful stay at the Rose and Thistle I have lost count of how many times we have been here. Patti and Steve are the most gracious hosts you will ever find. Patti will keep you laughing with her infectious sense of humor...and Steve will keep you full with his incredible cooking. Once you stay here you will compare all other B&Bs to the Rose and Thistle...and they will pale in comparison.The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. You can end your day sitting and relaxing out on the beautiful wrap around porch. We started thinking about our next trip to Cooperstown while driving home from this trip. Thank you Patti and Steve (and Morgan)...we will see you again soon. Mike and Cindy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbowes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Manager at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Mike and Cundy,

It is always a fun weekend when you guys come with Ed and Mary for a visit. Lots of laughs on the porch! We look forward to your annual visits and we hope you all stay well and have a safe and healthy winter.

Fondly

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Patti & Steve are GREAT hosts!! The house is charming! Very clean, excellent service & breakfast! I agree with Daniel61565 about the road noise. The only drawback to this beautiful B&B is that it's directly on a busy road (Route 28)! If you're in town for a Dreams Park tournament, this lovely place is only 10 mins north!

Room Tip: Kimberly's Room is directly off the dining room. We were lucky enough to switch to a vacant bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coog31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi John and Regina,

Thanks for the nice review. Yes, unfortunately, all the B&B's in town are on the main road. It has its advantage for a marketing aspect and usually by 10pm the road is so much quieter than during the day.

Best of luck on your wedding arrangements.

Fondly

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Rose & Thistle Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I were there to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame for 2 nights. Patti and Steve were very welcoming sitting with us to show us where all the sites were in town, the best places to eat, and a little history and town gossip. Armed with their recommendations and a full belly of Steve's amazing breakfast cooking we very much enjoyed our stay. This was our second time staying in and B and B and it solidified our opinion that they are a great alternative to hotels.

I would recommend The Rose & Thistle Bed and Breakfast to anyone who wants a authentic small town USA experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonrmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Allison and Ian,

thanks a million for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you had a safe journey back to Toronto.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly

Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Rose and Thistle. Wonderful hosts and breakfast and the location is fantastic. The first room we stayed in was on the small side but the second room was very large and roomy. Both rooms were well furnished and comfortable. We definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosenThistle, Owner at Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Michael, Robin, Max and Sophia,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Max should be very proud of his team and final standings in the tournament.

We were also happy that a larger room became available for your family and that you were comfortable for the remainder of your stay with us.

Stay well, be safe

Fondly,
Patti and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
329 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Willow Tree Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing