We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed & Breakfast Place Ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Our stay at the Rose and Thistle Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful choice for accommodations in Cooperstown. Steve and Patti went out of their way to accommodate us so that our HOF VIP experience was spectacular. Patti sat with us in their parlor and showed us a map of the town, a list of restaurants and made sure we knew where to park and helped navigate us so as to maximize our time while visiting this exquisite gem of a town in the middle of New York State.

Our room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Complimentary candy and bottled water greeted us in our room as well as fresh crisp linens and a cozy down comforter. The hospitality outstanding! The dining room table was set with a beautiful Spring/Easter theme. The breakfasts were bountiful as well as delicious. The homemade bread pudding, omelet’s, home fries and biscuits, bacon and sausage to the home made banana breads just complimented the beautifully appointed table. By far, this has been the best B&B experience we have had in all our years of traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie10105555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

Our stay just could not have been better in any way. Steve and Patti went out of their way to accomodate our family during the very busy Cooperstown Pumpkin Fest Weekend. Our rooms were great! The hospitality outstanding! The breakfast table was set with a beautiful Fall theme. Breakfast was served course after course with each dish more remarkable than the last! The service flowed and our family reunion conversation was never interuppted. The corn pudding was outstanding and the homemade bread pudding was unforgettable. Yet most remarkable were our hosts efforts to make our family reunion so memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hartwithhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This has been our third visit to cooperstown and we always stay at a bed and breakfast.
the last time we viited we stayed at the rose and thistle. We had a wonderful time. Steve and patty made us feel right at home.Their home is charming and comfortable I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when I visit cooperstown. Breakfast is terrific and Steve even shared some of his recipes with me. Patty and Steve made us feel right at home The room that we stayed in was warm and welcoming and all the decor in the house was charming. If you plan on visiting cooperstown stay at the rose and thistle with Steve and patty because this place is a home away from home. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bxgirlny70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Rose and Thistle. We had never been to Cooperstown before and had only stayed at one other B & B. From the moment that we arrived, Patti and Steve made us feel like they knew us forever. Steve explained all about Cooperstown and gave us some excellent recommendations for dining. The accomodations were lovely. The bed was comfortable and the room had all the comforts of home from the Q tips to the little chocolates. The breakfasts that Steve prepared were delicious. I loved the blueberry pancakes. The coffee was awesome! Both are so warm and friendly, but it is Patti's wonderful stories I will remember. If we ever return to Cooperstown, we will definitely return to the Rose and Thistle. But without a doubt I must say that it was a truly enjoyable experience for someone who didn't like B & B's until now. Thanks Patti and Steve for all of your warmth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westside5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Patty and Steve made us feel like family and not just guests. Patty's breakfast table was set as if she was expecting royalty. When we were there she was shopping for items to place on the table so that her guests would feel more like home. But this would not be complete without Steve's outstanding breakfast preparations. They both managed to be a part of our stay and yet knew when to give us our privacy. Steve's recommendations for restaurants were right on.
Our room was great and do not let the fact that they are on a main street keep you away. The nights were very quiet with hardly any traffic.
Look no further if you are looking for a charming and very friendly B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drnodk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We absolutely enjoyed our 2 night stay at the charming Rose & Thistle. Patti and Steve are such down-to-earth and friendly hosts, you feel like you're best friends as soon as you walk thru the door. Food was wonderful, abundant and satisfying -- thanks to Chef Steve! Patti has some hilarious stories to tell and her great attention to detail with her table settings and the rooms are beautiful. We immediately felt comfortable staying at this B&B. We also enjoyed meeting Morgan their adorable and well behaved Westie dog. Hugs to all...and we'll definitely be back to visit! - Kathy and Dave

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we weren't really sure what to expect. Those fears were quickly put to rest upon meeting Steve and Patti. After spending a few minutes with them you feell ike you're visiting old friends.Steve gave us some history of the area and some great dining suggestions. When he told us the best burger we would ever have was at the Cooperstown Diner...he wasn't kidding! We had such a good time we just booked a couple of nights in October to go back and see the Fall foliage. This is the kind of place you will want to go back to time and time again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBQUINCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
858 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: £92 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing