We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, friendly & delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly & delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I just met his longtime friend/wife in Cooperstown for a fun and relaxing weekend. We all stayed at the Rose & Thistle B&B and had a great time! Patti is a wonderful host - a natural - with a fun sense of humor and a manner that puts you at ease from the moment you meet her. Steve is a chef extraordinaire - 4-course breakfast extravaganzas included fresh fruit and whipped cream, out-of-the-oven bread pudding and quiche, fresh muffins and breakfast breads. Their sweet, small Westie terrier Morgan is quiet and unobtrusive and if you really must get your hands on a dog, she will graciously allow you to scratch behind her ears. The setting encourages relaxation - we watched an especially active thunderstorm with a number of the guests on the large wrap-around porch, generously furnished with wicker chairs and couches and surrounded by Patty's lovely flower beds. The B&B is just slightly outside the concentrated B&B massing of Cooperstown (a bonus!), but well within walking distance to town. We certainly hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny05489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
121
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Had a wonderful experience with my first B&B. I arrived at The Rose and Thistle and was pleased from the minute I pulled up. The building itself is darling and charming beyond belief. It was a wonderful experience. Patti and Steve were wonderful hosts and were very attentive. My husband and son stayed on the grounds of "Dreams Park" in a week long baseball tournament, while I enjoyed my stay at the Rose and Thistle each day and night after the games. The breakfasts were delicious each morning and all the guests including myself enjoyed wonderful conversations over hot, fabulous coffee. A wonderful place to stay and a definite recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbucias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I spent a sumptuous week at the Rose and Thistle. What's not to love? The owners are delightful, the home charming and the town of Cooperstown adorable. I awakened each morning of my stay to the aroma of bacon and freshly brewing coffeee which gently (yet compellingly!) guided me downstairs to the beautifully appointed dining room for a gourmet breakfast. One can be as social or solitary as one chooses-- the public rooms invite pleasant conversation, but I equally enjoyed an hour or two each day reading on the front porch or in my room. I am looking for a reason to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Steve and Patti's Rose and Thistle Bed and Breakfast is a treasure! From Steve's hilarious and information-packed introduction to Cooperstown, to Patti's New York stories and the best breakfasts, this beautifully appointed inn offers a great location, warmth, rest, and a true family atmosphere. It's a short walk down the main road in town to all the Cooperstown attractions, and one of our best "finds" was a leisurely walk along the backstreets filled with quaint houses and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briankLakeStevens_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

My husband & I stayed at the Rose & Thistle on our trip to Cooperstown for our son to play at the Dreamspark. What a GREAT choice! The house was adorable, clean and cozy. The breakfasts were yummy and the owners, Steve & Patti were the best. They recommended places for us to go, made our dinner reservations and really surpassed their job as hosts. We felt like we were family by the time we left! We would highly recommend anyone to stay at the Rose & Thistle. As a matter of fact, we hope to go back one day and visit again. The location was perfect only minutes from anything you'd want to do in Cooperstown. I will suggest the Rose & Thistle to all my baseball friends who will be traveling that way!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalcoleman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

My wife and I were in the Cooperstown area for a wedding and stayed with Steve and Patti for four days. We have been to many B and B's over the last five years up and down the east coast and the south and we both agreed that this was the best place we have ever stayed. Steve and Patti were the two most gracious, generous, hospitable and truly down to earth hosts we have ever had the pleasure to meet. I will give them the highest recommendation possible and it was truly a wonderful experience. The stay at the Rose and Thistle was like staying with family. This was our first stay and we will always stay here on our future visits.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandkat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartsville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Rose and Thistle is one of our favorite destinations. This was our 3rd time staying with Steve and Patti. They make us feel like family. Their house is absolutely immaculate, and so beautifully decorated. They always have little surprises in the rooms to make your stay more comfortable. Now lets talk about the breakfast, Oh My Goodness !!!! Patti sets the most beautiful table I have ever seen. She uses a different set of China each day. Every time we have stayed we were served something different. This time we had Apple Puffed Pancakes and Corn Pudding with a delicious fruit cup with homemade whip creme. They also offered a selection of other delicious breakfast items. This is a place that we will use for a fun, romantic getaway. Oh one more piece of info. I referred them to a friend that used their family suites next door and they had a ball. Their party had 2 adults and 3 kids and being right down the street from the Baseball Hall Of Fame and great restaurants and shopping I was a hero for a great recommendation. I give them thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing