We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park - Cooperstown
Nearby Hotels
Bayside Inn & Marina(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hickory Grove Motor Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace Motor Inn(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Front Hotel(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cooper Inn(Cooperstown)
US$464
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Otesaga Resort Hotel(Cooperstown)
US$301
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Motel(Cooperstown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
26
13
17
9
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
13
17
9
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Last week My wife and I along with our 2 nieces (12 & 10 years old) spent 5 days/4 nights at the Jellystone Campsite. We are planning in going back next year! We rented the Two Room Efficiency cabin.
GOOD:
-The Cabin was very clean along with the bathroom and shower; we even checked out the public bathrooms and they also looked very clean
-We did a bunch of day trips; but there is lots to do at the campsite.
-The pool was very clean and nice!
-The staff was very nice!
-We went on a wagon ride with Yogi and had a unexpected visit from BooBoo to our cabin which was nice.
-Go visit Oneonta and Cooperstown while you are there! 2 Great towns!
-I would definitely recommend this campsite!!!!
BAD
-The cabin had 2 bunk beds; but the top bunks are useless unless you have a little child under the age of 8. They are very small to get into.
-Bring a air mattress to place on top of the mattress; its more like a box spring to sleep on
-The stove/oven in the cabin was useless; we tried to make a frozen pizza the first night we go there since it was getting late and we were tired. The electric smoke detector kept going off; the oven was clean. We had to open everything up and wave towels around to get it from stop beeping. Another morning we tried making pancakes and the same thing happened! Since it was electric; we couldn't pull the battery!
-Cell Phone Service is VERY limited; you have to be standing at the right place at the right time (We have Verizon)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlarnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We are not campers, so we didn't know what to expect. We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin which appeared to be small from the outside, but was just the right size with room for all 4 of us. We have a 19 year old, a 9 year old and of course the 2 adults. They do a great job with Yogi & Boo Boo - they are out and about all the time and are so friendly and fun. In fact, we were there only 5 minutes and we ran into Boo Boo. They gave us quite a few laughs! Yogi came to our campfire and wanted to share our dinner. Our little guy got quite a kick out of this. Another day we were playing wiffle ball and Yogi joined in the fun. We were there on Wet N Wild weekend. What an absolute blast!!! They do a great job with this and we TOTALLY enjoyed it!! In fact, we couldn't wait for Round 2 to start later in the day - the campers vs. the staff twice a day! We would come back just for this. But we will be better prepared to take on the staff next time!

Cooperstown is close by and the reason we chose this location. It is a beautiful town and we really enjoyed it.

Most of the staff was very friendly, some were just quiet and seemed uninterested and may even have been a little short with the guests/bordering on rude. But I would say the majority were positive encounters with the staff. Especially Kate at the front desk - she is just a lovely lady! I read a review about "Ranger Danger" - that is too funny! He is such a nice man and is really just looking out for the safety of the many kids running around. Good job! Keep it up.

The negative things: they really need to do some renovating. The mini golf course, while we thoroughly enjoyed our time together needs some work. The lake is VERY dirty and probably should be dredged. There is so much grass in it, that the paddle boats were not available for use and you could see why. They need to come up with more events to do as a family versus activities for just the younger children. We loved canoing, fishing and using the paddle cars but there is only so much of that you can do.

Overall, our entire family enjoyed ourselves and would probably go back again with other kids for the boys to spend time with. Two boys with that age gap don't always enjoy the same things.

If you decide to go, remember you are camping and you are there to enjoy your time with your family and simple pleasures - make the most out of the no frills simple fun!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suz2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We read all of the reviews on line and thought this would be a very family friendly campground to take our two young children. Upon our arrival, the site we were assigned to was VERY small and the sewer and utility hookups were on opposite sides of the camper, which is very inconvenient, at least with our camper. When we asked for a different site, the manager was completely rude, however a staff member who came to our site to check out what we were talking about completely understood and basically told her that she needed to move us.

The speed limit through the park is 5 miles per hour. This is absolutely understandable when the park is full and there are a lot of children and campers around (like on Saturday and Sunday), however when we got yelled at on Thursday night when there was hardly anyone there for going 10 miles per hour (based on both our speedometer and gps), that is a little much. And, I get that rules are rules, but they do not need to be so rude.

After getting set up, and our kids were in bed, my husband and I were sitting quitely at a campfire just talking, and a security guard came by at 11:30 to tell us that we need to let our fire go out right then. Now, I could understand if we were being loud, but we were just talking and enjoying the fire. And, not to mention that there were no other campers on the entire street!

Then there was the man we termed "Ranger Danger". I kid you not that he drove around on a prowler with lights and sirens on top and pulled people over if they went over the 5 mile speed limit. He also pulled anyone over that did not have a "tag" in their windshield. I have to say that was quite funny!!

The campground even ran out of ice on Sunday morning! How does a campground run out of ice for the day??? They are in the middle of NOWHERE and they run out of ice. Are you kidding me???

Our neighbor's mother who was staying with them, went up to the store to buy syrup on Saturday morning. She was 2 cents short and they wouldn't let her have the syrup!!! Are you kidding me 2 cents??? That is just poor customer service. i could see if it was 2 dollars or even 1 dollar, but 2 cents??

There was sewage leaking from the dump station into the stream that feeds into the lake....can you say environmental concern??

Now, the one positive thing I can say is that they did have crafts for the kids, mind you you had to pay for them, but my kids really enjoyed making their own tye dyed shirts.

All in all, I would definitely say you might want to choose a different campground for your family weekend or week away!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We just returned from our camping trip at Jellystone Park in Cooperstown, NY. There is so much not good things to say about this campground, I will only mention a few. First, when we got there with our 29 ft. travel trailer, we were given a site that would make it absolutely impossible to "hook-up" so once we requested to move, the manager was not very helpful nor was she very friendly. We finally were able to move sites after insisting. We also did not like how close they "pack" in the campers... we had 5th wheels as well as class a motor homes that were practically on top of each other. The price per night seemed reasonable however, they made up for it when you needed something like ice from their camp store. One day they ran out of ice! I am not sure I understand how/why you would run out of ice on a holiday weekend with beautiful weather and your campground is full. Some areas stunk terribly of sewage. It was obvious that a few sites were "dumping" into the nearby stream... Security was OUT OF CONTROL... I believe New York State law states helmets are to be worn on individuals 14 and younger. Their rule is 16 and younger. If you were 16 or younger and not wearing a helmet, he would pull you over (and yes he was driving a cart that had red "police" lights on the top) and ask you how old you were, if you said you were 16 or younger, he put your bike in the back of his cart and drove you to your campsite to your parents. They do enforce a 5-mile per hour speed limit. We had 2 young children with us so it was actually nice to not have "speeders" through the campgrounds however, kids/adults would still ride infront of your car....... Over all I think this campground is not worth the trip... even if you do live 5 miles away....... TERRIBLE PLACE! RUDE STAFF!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reesie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed with our 2 tents and the site we were at was big enough to fit 2 tents plus it was at the end so we had extra room which was really nice. Showers were clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. All the staff were friendly. The prices for rentals on boats, canoe's are reasonable. Need a few more canoe's. Had lots of events for the kids and the kids loved Yogi coming by and doing a personal visit. Our older children loved the dance and fishing and activities. They have putt putt, pool, hayrides, boats, hiking. The people around us were friendly..only complaint was after hours, still got a little loud and saw no one driving by to tell to fix the issue. We stayed at Lake Placid KOA...and the staff drove around and told people to be quiet down. They should do this here and than it would be perfect. We will go again. Like I said the staff was really great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulips75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews