We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We truly enjoyed ourselves...our boys had a great time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park - Cooperstown
Patchogue, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We truly enjoyed ourselves...our boys had a great time”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We are not campers, so we didn't know what to expect. We stayed in the Deluxe Cabin which appeared to be small from the outside, but was just the right size with room for all 4 of us. We have a 19 year old, a 9 year old and of course the 2 adults. They do a great job with Yogi & Boo Boo - they are out and about all the time and are so friendly and fun. In fact, we were there only 5 minutes and we ran into Boo Boo. They gave us quite a few laughs! Yogi came to our campfire and wanted to share our dinner. Our little guy got quite a kick out of this. Another day we were playing wiffle ball and Yogi joined in the fun. We were there on Wet N Wild weekend. What an absolute blast!!! They do a great job with this and we TOTALLY enjoyed it!! In fact, we couldn't wait for Round 2 to start later in the day - the campers vs. the staff twice a day! We would come back just for this. But we will be better prepared to take on the staff next time!

Cooperstown is close by and the reason we chose this location. It is a beautiful town and we really enjoyed it.

Most of the staff was very friendly, some were just quiet and seemed uninterested and may even have been a little short with the guests/bordering on rude. But I would say the majority were positive encounters with the staff. Especially Kate at the front desk - she is just a lovely lady! I read a review about "Ranger Danger" - that is too funny! He is such a nice man and is really just looking out for the safety of the many kids running around. Good job! Keep it up.

The negative things: they really need to do some renovating. The mini golf course, while we thoroughly enjoyed our time together needs some work. The lake is VERY dirty and probably should be dredged. There is so much grass in it, that the paddle boats were not available for use and you could see why. They need to come up with more events to do as a family versus activities for just the younger children. We loved canoing, fishing and using the paddle cars but there is only so much of that you can do.

Overall, our entire family enjoyed ourselves and would probably go back again with other kids for the boys to spend time with. Two boys with that age gap don't always enjoy the same things.

If you decide to go, remember you are camping and you are there to enjoy your time with your family and simple pleasures - make the most out of the no frills simple fun!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    17
    9
    16
See reviews for
63
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castleton, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We read all of the reviews on line and thought this would be a very family friendly campground to take our two young children. Upon our arrival, the site we were assigned to was VERY small and the sewer and utility hookups were on opposite sides of the camper, which is very inconvenient, at least with our camper. When we asked for a different site, the manager was completely rude, however a staff member who came to our site to check out what we were talking about completely understood and basically told her that she needed to move us.

The speed limit through the park is 5 miles per hour. This is absolutely understandable when the park is full and there are a lot of children and campers around (like on Saturday and Sunday), however when we got yelled at on Thursday night when there was hardly anyone there for going 10 miles per hour (based on both our speedometer and gps), that is a little much. And, I get that rules are rules, but they do not need to be so rude.

After getting set up, and our kids were in bed, my husband and I were sitting quitely at a campfire just talking, and a security guard came by at 11:30 to tell us that we need to let our fire go out right then. Now, I could understand if we were being loud, but we were just talking and enjoying the fire. And, not to mention that there were no other campers on the entire street!

Then there was the man we termed "Ranger Danger". I kid you not that he drove around on a prowler with lights and sirens on top and pulled people over if they went over the 5 mile speed limit. He also pulled anyone over that did not have a "tag" in their windshield. I have to say that was quite funny!!

The campground even ran out of ice on Sunday morning! How does a campground run out of ice for the day??? They are in the middle of NOWHERE and they run out of ice. Are you kidding me???

Our neighbor's mother who was staying with them, went up to the store to buy syrup on Saturday morning. She was 2 cents short and they wouldn't let her have the syrup!!! Are you kidding me 2 cents??? That is just poor customer service. i could see if it was 2 dollars or even 1 dollar, but 2 cents??

There was sewage leaking from the dump station into the stream that feeds into the lake....can you say environmental concern??

Now, the one positive thing I can say is that they did have crafts for the kids, mind you you had to pay for them, but my kids really enjoyed making their own tye dyed shirts.

All in all, I would definitely say you might want to choose a different campground for your family weekend or week away!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We just returned from our camping trip at Jellystone Park in Cooperstown, NY. There is so much not good things to say about this campground, I will only mention a few. First, when we got there with our 29 ft. travel trailer, we were given a site that would make it absolutely impossible to "hook-up" so once we requested to move, the manager was not very helpful nor was she very friendly. We finally were able to move sites after insisting. We also did not like how close they "pack" in the campers... we had 5th wheels as well as class a motor homes that were practically on top of each other. The price per night seemed reasonable however, they made up for it when you needed something like ice from their camp store. One day they ran out of ice! I am not sure I understand how/why you would run out of ice on a holiday weekend with beautiful weather and your campground is full. Some areas stunk terribly of sewage. It was obvious that a few sites were "dumping" into the nearby stream... Security was OUT OF CONTROL... I believe New York State law states helmets are to be worn on individuals 14 and younger. Their rule is 16 and younger. If you were 16 or younger and not wearing a helmet, he would pull you over (and yes he was driving a cart that had red "police" lights on the top) and ask you how old you were, if you said you were 16 or younger, he put your bike in the back of his cart and drove you to your campsite to your parents. They do enforce a 5-mile per hour speed limit. We had 2 young children with us so it was actually nice to not have "speeders" through the campgrounds however, kids/adults would still ride infront of your car....... Over all I think this campground is not worth the trip... even if you do live 5 miles away....... TERRIBLE PLACE! RUDE STAFF!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reesie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed with our 2 tents and the site we were at was big enough to fit 2 tents plus it was at the end so we had extra room which was really nice. Showers were clean and the staff were really nice and helpful. All the staff were friendly. The prices for rentals on boats, canoe's are reasonable. Need a few more canoe's. Had lots of events for the kids and the kids loved Yogi coming by and doing a personal visit. Our older children loved the dance and fishing and activities. They have putt putt, pool, hayrides, boats, hiking. The people around us were friendly..only complaint was after hours, still got a little loud and saw no one driving by to tell to fix the issue. We stayed at Lake Placid KOA...and the staff drove around and told people to be quiet down. They should do this here and than it would be perfect. We will go again. Like I said the staff was really great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulips75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2008

We camped w/3 other families over the Columbus Day weekend. We made our reservations 6 wks in advance, due to the end of season time frame the sites were half priced. The park did make us pay for 3 nights due to the fact it was a holiday weekend. We had lakeside sites and there were a bit on the small side but since we had 4 sites in a row, the size did not effect our stay. The staff was extremely polite and friendly. The campground had activities planned from 10am to 5:30pm for the kids to do the entire weekend. The activites included: wagon rides, candy bar bingo, arts & crafts, pedal kart races, mini-golf tournament, ceramics & personal campsite visits from Yogi. The bathrooms were VERY clean, the women was cleaning them everytime I was in the bathroom. Hot showers were never a problem. One of the children of our group injured themselves while we were there and the staff immediately showed up and asked if we needs an ambulance and then checked on the child later on during the day. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone. It has a ton of things for kids to do and I loved the lakeside campsites. We will go back!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbarrett3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We called ahead and was told dogs were allowed in the cabins. We were given the wrong information and had to leave, but that was our fault.
But the staff was extremely rude, yelling and offering no suggestions to other places, after we had driver 200+ miles to get there. They even went as far as calling security to escort us off the property while we spent time in the parking area phoning other places, trying to find another place to stay.
Finally we found a cabin at Beaver Valley Campground, great staff, they offered us alternatives to house the dog in a friend's kennel overnight, while we stayed in a cabin .

Keep away from Jellystone!!!

  • Disliked — the staff - no one wants to be treated rudely after travelling 200 miles
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandarins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2005

I would like to be extremely positive, but unfortunately I can't be. The publicity from the park site on the web builds anticipation, but the campground just does not live up to the expectations. No activities list was provided when we arrived and there were few activities, one staff member was extremely rude on our way out because he thought we exceeded the park 10 mph speed limit (we had tried to be so careful). upon arrival the cabin floor was sticky and so bad we had to clean it ourselves so our sneakers didn't make that awful sucking noise, and the pool while overall was attractive, was not well maintained (the water was not the cleanest), the snack bar was never opened once during our stay during peek season, the cabins are spaced too closely together with no shade, and for everything, there is an extra charge. However, did the three boys we had in tow manage to have fun - yes! Were the reservation staff friendly - yes! Was the cabin nice when clean - yes! When we needed bandaids and charcoal and ice were they in stock - yes! Were the hot showers hot and free - yes! All in all okay, but not terrific from the adults point of view. Rental worth perhaps $75.00 - $90.00, but not $115.00 plus $5.00 extra per day for a third child.

Helpful?
7 Thank Ginks03244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
296 reviews
14.4 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
386 reviews
14.1 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park - Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park - Cooperstown

Property: Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park - Cooperstown
Address: 111 E Turtle Lake Rd, Cooperstown, NY 13342-1801
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 240
Also Known As:
Jellystone Park Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing