We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hickory Grove Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Don't hesitate to book at this motel - it is very well-located for Cooperstown activities. Large comfortable, clean room at a bargain price. Access to the very beautiful Otsego Lake. Nothing fancy but nice people and excellent value.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank sunnysideSunnyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

Earlier reviews reflect our experience. The motel is older and modest. The rooms are small. We had to take out a table and 2 chairs in order to fit in a rollaway cot. It isn't right on a beach which wasn't clear in the description. You must walk down the road a short way and then down a dirt road to the water. Cooperstown is expensive in the summer but this motel seemed really overpriced compared to its value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I spent a couple of nights here on a recent trip to Cooperstown. The room was clean and front desk was friendly and helpful. The hotel is outside of downtown Cooperstown but I don't know if there are any hotels actually "in" downtown. It wasn't anything special but it wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The staff is friendly, and the room seemed ok when I arrived. They had plenty of vacancies so they gave me a lake view room. I noticed some bugs flying around the place but the beds were clean and so was the bathroom, so that's usually good enough for me, especially for just 1 night.

Well, I took a shower and all seemed well. Then my girlfriend turned on the faucet and that's where we got turned off. The water suddenly started to turn brown, and we thought it was dirt or something, then we noticed sediment forming at the base of the sink. It turned out to be rust so I don't know why or how, but it seems as if an upgrade is needed in the waterworks department. We were grossed out so we bought a bottle of water from the vending machine and used that to brush our teeth and wash our faces in the morning.

Other than that, I guess the place is fine enough, for one night I suppose.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maideneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Stayed for one night in August. Didn't want to pay the inflated prices at Cooperstown . This was moderately priced, an old motel which was adequate, Very small bathroom. with thin towels. People working there were accomodating. Had a small breakfast- coffee, juice, donut, danish and bagels. Nice extra. People did take the paddleboat on the lake, so damage was repaired. Nice view of the lake from the window.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wonderms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Room was ok not very big. Not very much room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Room was clean, bath room was clean. Just right outside of town. Very quiet and the Lake was nice. Would stay again if only have two people.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Z-Allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We stayed at the Hickory Grove Motor Inn for one night while visiting Cooperstown. The bathroom was small, with a very small shower. The bed was comfortable but the room had a slight musty smell that went away after opening the windows. Probably because it is by a lake. There was no coffee in the room and you couldn't get any in the office until 8:00 AM, so we went to town and had coffee. The people in the office were pleasant and helpful.

The room was very inexpensive, since we went after Labor Day, so it was a good deal for us. However, I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
892 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake N Pines Motel
Lake N Pines Motel
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Grove Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Grove Motor Inn

Address: 6854 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: £63 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hickory Grove Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hickory Grove Motor Inn is a picturesque, family motel located just north of Cooperstown on beautiful Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hickory Grove Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Grove Motor Hotel Cooperstown
Hickory Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing