We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting Cooperstown, NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hickory Grove Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay while visiting Cooperstown, NY”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Clean, reasonably priced, and conveniently located to downtown Cooperstown, Glimmerglass State Park, and Glimmerglass Opera House. An excellent motel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
35
34
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vestal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Booked the room last minute for a concert at Doubleday Field on Saturday, Sept. 5th. All staff encountered were friendly and accomodating, especially when calling to gaurantee late check-in. Rooms were clean and quiet. If there was any drawback to the room it was the size of the shower stall--barely enough room to turn around in unless you're a toothpick!! Overall, nice place for the money!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We were put in room 6. Site shows view of lake but pics used on website are old and you can't really see the lake through the brush/trees that have grown. What it doesn't have: coffee maker, room darkening shades, big enough shower (same size as cruise ships) or updated TV. Bath door sticks so it wakes a sleeper if spouse gets up. It's a 6 minute drive to Main St. Cooperstown and Baseball Hall of Fame. Beautiful country, weather was nice, but take OFF bug spray. Eat at the Cooperstown Diner (blue door) small but good and affordable. The corner bakery is good too for early coffee on the way into town. We were there to see our kids play at Cooperstown Dreams Park, 12 miles away. Easy drive. A wonderful week in a family oriented community.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzglorybeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We were really just looking for an inexpensive place to stay since the purpose of the trip was to visit Cooperstown & the Hall Of Fame. This motel was the least costly of the dozen or so within 10 miles that we checked. The room was fine for our party of two; would have been crowded with kids. Parking at door; typical for motels. One nice thing about their website is that it gave good descriptions of the rooms, & we were able to select the one with the best view of the lake. It was especially nice for us to see as, coming from Arizona, we don't see much water. The motel is located about 6 miles north of the town; a 10-15 minute, very scenic drive. Closest restaurants & other facilities are in town. We definitely visited off-season so our peaceful time could very possibly be much nosier from traffic during the summer. Clean room with a small fridge; we had a small continental breakfast that unfortunately lacked any healthy choices... store bought bread, bagels, donuts & oj. A short path just a minute's walk north leads to their lakeshore with a picnic table & paddleboat. Ideal spot for our particular needs and desires.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonoraDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyside
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Don't hesitate to book at this motel - it is very well-located for Cooperstown activities. Large comfortable, clean room at a bargain price. Access to the very beautiful Otsego Lake. Nothing fancy but nice people and excellent value.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysideSunnyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Earlier reviews reflect our experience. The motel is older and modest. The rooms are small. We had to take out a table and 2 chairs in order to fit in a rollaway cot. It isn't right on a beach which wasn't clear in the description. You must walk down the road a short way and then down a dirt road to the water. Cooperstown is expensive in the summer but this motel seemed really overpriced compared to its value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I spent a couple of nights here on a recent trip to Cooperstown. The room was clean and front desk was friendly and helpful. The hotel is outside of downtown Cooperstown but I don't know if there are any hotels actually "in" downtown. It wasn't anything special but it wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Terrace Motor Inn
Terrace Motor Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Grove Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Grove Motor Inn

Property: Hickory Grove Motor Inn
Address: 6854 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hickory Grove Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hickory Grove Motor Inn is a picturesque, family motel located just north of Cooperstown on beautiful Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hickory Grove Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickory Grove Motor Hotel Cooperstown
Hickory Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing