We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute Get away!”
Review of Tunnicliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tunnicliff Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last minute Get away!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My Girlfriend and I decided to take a long weekend and head to Cooperstown just to get out of Dodge and relax. We headed out Friday morning with no reservations or plans. On our arrival we did some internet search's on TripAdvisor. A few phone calls later we decided on the Tunnicliff Inn. There were only 2 rooms left and we were shown both. After we chose the room the clerk explained all the amenities including how to work the controls for the room fan, lights, TV etc... After settling in we headed out and were once again greeted by the same clerk who asked us if everything was up to par we acknowledged it was and headed out. As the weekend progressed the Tunnicliff just got better! Friday and Saturday in there Restaurant/Bar (The Pit) they had some Great specials. The waitstaff was very friendly and the food was very good! I would stay here again if I head back to Cooperstown!! Only downside in our room the Bathroom was extremely small, but it was all very clean and we didn't spend all that much time in there!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gliden07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    80
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
46
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotopaxi, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn in October and it was a perfect base for our visit to the HOF, Quirky room but very comfortable and we loved the history of the place versus staying at a chain outside of town. Great breakfast that kept us going all day at the HOF. Great tip for free parking from the excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Took a group of 8 people here for the hall of fame film festival. It was the perfect locAtion. We had free parking. we had a good breakfast each morning. We were walking distance to everything in down town Cooperstown that a baseball fan needs. The reason I say perfect was during the trip my fiancé got sick. We were worried about what to do because check out was at 11. Tom was so understanding of the situation that he took care of us and made our stay easier by extending our check out so she could stay in bed longer. We were able to get her dinner in bed. She was able to stay comfortably while she rested. Tom also helped our many requests from changing rooms last minute to answering questions at 11:00 at night to helping out our visually impaired travelers. Yes the place is an older place...but it's a nice play to stay, feel welcome and be In The heart of the hall of fame. we will be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This place is a true gem. Park your car in the free parking lot out back, and enjoy your stay in Cooperstown. The Baseball Hall of Fame is literally steps away, as are many other prime attractions in town. The place was clean, with plenty of colonial charm and character. Built in 1802, you wont find modern amenities like a gym, spa, or pool, but the room we had was great, and the free breakfast was amazing. Stay here- You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tunnicliff Inn. The location is unbeatable and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit. It is very close to the hall of fame. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this property, the first being over 20 years ago. We decided to stay in town rather than on the lake for this visit.
It is true that this Inn IS steps away from the Baseball Hall of Fame. They offer free Wifi, free breakfast and free parking (although there are only 8 available spots).
This hotel needs an overhaul! The rugs in the lobby are threadbare and downright disgusting in the breakfast dining room. The linens in the bedrooms are threadbare. We stayed in the executive suite where the floors are so slanted that it was difficult to walk. The requested roll away bed was horrible. We asked for a replacement since the one they originally gave us had popped springs and a horrible mattress. The replacement wasn't much better.
I can appreciate an old charming inn but this misses the mark! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereISthebeach?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staying here is so worth it. We didn't need our car at all. It's within walking distance to he Hall of Fame and plenty of restaurants. Hotel room was clean and the price is reasonable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnicliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnicliff Inn

Property: Tunnicliff Inn
Address: 34 Pioneer St # 36, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1072
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn built in 1802. Located in the center of downtown Cooperstown. Only 498 Feet from the Baseball Hall of Fame. All Rooms include our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet and Free Wi-Fi. 17 Rooms each with a Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Television, DVD Player, Hairdryer, Iron, Telephone, Radio Alarm Clock and Ceiling Fan. Mini-Fridge and coffee makers in our Executive rooms and Suites. Family Restaurant on premise serves Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tunnicliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnicliff Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing