We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only positive is the location!”
Review of Tunnicliff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tunnicliff Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only positive is the location!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not pleased with any aspect of this hotel with the exception of the location. The only member of the staff who was friendly was the manager and no one was professional. The blankets were threadbare, roll-aways were not even comfortable for kids, the hotel is run down even to the point of being dangerous in places. The cost was much too much for this experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lah7852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    41
    24
    12
See reviews for
46
145
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. Most everything else in town was booked, so we ended up staying here.

Pros:
Location, location, location. Right in the heart of the village and a quick stroll from almost all of the major attractions, restaurants, hall of fame, etc.

Large flat screen tv with lots of good cable channels.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

In room refrigerator was a nice touch and helpful.

The maid service seemed to do a good job.

Big comfy sofa.

Cons:

In dire need of a makeover. Everything was just plain old, unattractive and worn out. Like something out of the 50's. Don't expect antiques or nice furnishings. This probably was a very quaint place at one time, but forget about it now.

The free breakfast, while standard fare, was not good at all.

The room has an old style window air conditioner which was a bit loud. Of course, you rarely need it up north, unless the street noise is so loud it will either keep you awake (which it did) or wake you up (which it did). We then ended up using the air conditioner, which made both my wife and I sick (kind of the way you get from exposure to mold). There was a band playing the first night a block or two away, but could easily be heard with the windows open. It went on well after 10 p.m. The next morning at 6:00 a.m. sharp a large, loud food service truck pulled up to the hotel and started the delivery. After some conversation between parties below our window and the up and down of hydraulics it finally left. Just in time for the coffee shop (very good place) to open up and the ensuing parade of conversations, strollers, screaming kids, slamming car doors etc.

My wife literally just came home from work sick. We both were having congestive problems on the drive home.

The shower is so small you literally cannot turn around in it.

You get better bathroom amenities at a motel 6 - don't expect Aveda here, expect shampoo in a ketchup package type of deal.

Bathroom sink dripped constantly. Sink was very crazed and cracked.

Broken desk chair.

Curtains and shades pretty useless at keeping the sun from streaming in in the morning. We basically did not sleep much at all. Just too many variables. I travel a lot for business and we rent lots of vacation homes. This was one of the least pleasant stays we have had in a long, long time.

The cancellation policy of one month in advance is ludicrous.

There are quite simply nicer places to stay in town at or below the price of this inn. So, unless you are in a bind like we were - stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Away from Pioneer Avenue as the street noise can be unbelievably loud quite loud for such a quiet li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkthesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while taking in a tour or two of the Baseball Hall of Fame. Our room was upgraded to a king-size bed for what reason I'm not sure but I'm not complaining. It was clean. The staff seemed very friendly. A free breakfast buffet was offered each morning which made my husband happy. The HOF is a block away. The streets are lined with little shops. And a restaurant is right below the hotel! We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. As in 2020....AFTER the actual induction of Derek Jeter!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishgem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I often stay here on trips to the Baseball Hall of Fame. The inn is a short walk from the Hall. The Tunnicliff is a very old building, and thus lacks some of the amenities expected in a newer establishment. There is no elevator, which doesn't bother me, but might put some people off.

But the tradeoff is that the prices are extremely reasonable, especially for Cooperstown. The inn is very clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The full breakfast, included in the room price, is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesovermyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My Girlfriend and I decided to take a long weekend and head to Cooperstown just to get out of Dodge and relax. We headed out Friday morning with no reservations or plans. On our arrival we did some internet search's on TripAdvisor. A few phone calls later we decided on the Tunnicliff Inn. There were only 2 rooms left and we were shown both. After we chose the room the clerk explained all the amenities including how to work the controls for the room fan, lights, TV etc... After settling in we headed out and were once again greeted by the same clerk who asked us if everything was up to par we acknowledged it was and headed out. As the weekend progressed the Tunnicliff just got better! Friday and Saturday in there Restaurant/Bar (The Pit) they had some Great specials. The waitstaff was very friendly and the food was very good! I would stay here again if I head back to Cooperstown!! Only downside in our room the Bathroom was extremely small, but it was all very clean and we didn't spend all that much time in there!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gliden07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotopaxi, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Inn in October and it was a perfect base for our visit to the HOF, Quirky room but very comfortable and we loved the history of the place versus staying at a chain outside of town. Great breakfast that kept us going all day at the HOF. Great tip for free parking from the excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Took a group of 8 people here for the hall of fame film festival. It was the perfect locAtion. We had free parking. we had a good breakfast each morning. We were walking distance to everything in down town Cooperstown that a baseball fan needs. The reason I say perfect was during the trip my fiancé got sick. We were worried about what to do because check out was at 11. Tom was so understanding of the situation that he took care of us and made our stay easier by extending our check out so she could stay in bed longer. We were able to get her dinner in bed. She was able to stay comfortably while she rested. Tom also helped our many requests from changing rooms last minute to answering questions at 11:00 at night to helping out our visually impaired travelers. Yes the place is an older place...but it's a nice play to stay, feel welcome and be In The heart of the hall of fame. we will be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnicliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnicliff Inn

Property: Tunnicliff Inn
Address: 34 Pioneer St # 36, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1072
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn built in 1802. Located in the center of downtown Cooperstown. Only 498 Feet from the Baseball Hall of Fame. All Rooms include our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet and Free Wi-Fi. 17 Rooms each with a Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Television, DVD Player, Hairdryer, Iron, Telephone, Radio Alarm Clock and Ceiling Fan. Mini-Fridge and coffee makers in our Executive rooms and Suites. Family Restaurant on premise serves Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tunnicliff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnicliff Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing