We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, clean and well-maintained”
Review of Mohican Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohican Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, location, clean and well-maintained”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here only one night, in a king room at the back. With its nice yard it had the feel of a B&B but with more privacy. It was minutes from Cooperstown village and everything was in great shape and spotlessly clean. There was a nice large flat-screen TV, a dorm-size fridge, and the bed was very comfortable. The only down sides were that the room was pretty small, there was no coffee, and the shower (no tub) had mediocre pressure, but for a short stay those were not a problem at all. I would definitely stay here again if I go to Cooperstown. Lovely motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
28
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was a trip planned to celebrate my travelling companion's 60th birthday. She had wanted to go to the Baseball Hall of FAme in Cooperstown.One of my jobs was to find accomodation.I decided on the Mohican after I called a few other places.The MOhican seemed to match our needs.
It was a clean,cozy room with a small fridge and enough other furniture to suit our needs for a three night stay.The fridge and clothes hanging area were in an alcove that was in the back corner.It was good to have to have the clothes hangers in the back corner and not right at the entrance which is the norm
We didn't use the air conditioner and as a result can't comment on that. It was lovely weather but we had a good cross breeze.
The owner and staff were very pleasant.
You could walk downtown to shop , eat or go to the baseball of fame
The bathroom was clean and looked as if had been updated in the past while.
The TV worked very well.
I would defnitely stay there again.

Notes: 1.There wasn't a coffee maker in the room.
2. The first night deposit had to be mailed. Couldn't use credit card over the phone to make first night deposit.

Room Tip: Note: I don't have a particular tip this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Now mind you, that's "value for money" by Cooperstown standards. Almost anywhere else, this very basic spot would seem overpriced. But if you want to stay right in town here, you'll probably not do better. Photos on website are accurate. Clean, good housekeeping, paint job and carpeting looked recent, mattress acceptable, room lighting adequate, bathroom squeaky clean and well lit, shower pressure excellent, lots of hot water. Bar frig in room, nice flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi but oddly, no phone, and therefore no phone book. Always can make good use of a phone book when visiting a new locality.

We enjoyed Cooperstown and would probably stay at this same place in future but one should be aware of certain limitations. While certainly "in town", the Mohican is not really close enough to town center that one could do without a car. Our unit was in a two-storey building that had eight other units. On the weekend of our stay, several of these other units had been taken over for some sort of group or family gathering, and we had major noise issues. Also, my wife (who suffers with allergies) found our unit very musty. Didn't bother me at all--just like Natty Bumppo's rustic cabin, right?--but choose your room carefully, the units in the one-storey building might have been preferable on these issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed two nights over Labor Day weekend. The room, bathroom and area outside were all very clean. Our room had a new flat screen tv and new, small fridge. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch and the lawn area. My only complaint is the condition of the mattress-our room really needed a new one. Our relative who stayed in another room said her bed was very comfortable. We all agreed that we would return for another stay. The rates were very reasonable and the location of the motel was very good. Its close to town and convenience stores. The staff was very nice too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyVacations48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The room was nice and clean, and reasonably priced (have you seen Cooperstown's prices?!?). And really, what else matters?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckyChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fallston
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I do two trips a year to Cooperstown. Always stay at the Mohican. Best local stay for the price. Walking distance to the HOF museum. Although it is an older motel the rooms are updated and always clean and comfortable. Thanks again for a nice weekend! Try to see you in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcaslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, PA
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet (we faced the back alley). I would have preferred a larger shower but this was OK. It's within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohican Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohican Motel

Property: Mohican Motel
Address: 90 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1420
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cooperstown we are convenient to museums, restaurants, and stores. We are in walking distance to the Baseball Hall of Fame and about 3 miles to Dream Park. We offer a choice of rooms with one double bed, one king size bed, two double beds, or three double beds. The rooms with 3 double beds have two separate bedrooms each with its own TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mohican Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohican Hotel Cooperstown
Mohican Motel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing