We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to start our vacation!”
Review of Lake N Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake N Pines Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Lake 'n Pine Motel's website does not do it justice. The views of the lake are great, and its location to Cooperstown was exactly what we needed. The rooms are definitely out-dated, with thin walls and cheap towels. But we were only there for one night, and the price was good. Be sure and "upgrade" to a balcony with a view. It was well worth the extra $10. The staff at the front counter was very nice and helpful.

The little breakfast house is cute, but the selection was pretty lame. Don't plan on a hearty breakfast here, but you can get enough to hold you over until lunch!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this motel for two nights in mid April during our visit to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. Make no mistake, this is not a top end, star heavy resort with fancy amenities. What it is, is a charming, quiet motel on a beautiful lake that is a tremendous base of operations for excursions in Cooperstown. The staff was friendly, and the room was fine, but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were great. It rained the entire time that we were in the area, with the exception of a brief apperance of a blue sky during a Friday afternoon, so we ended up spending a little more time in our room than we ever intended to. Aside from a few minor complaints, the towels could be larger, and newer carpet would have been nice, we will utilize this motel the next time we return to Cooperstown. Between the tremendous view, and the more than fair price, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if they are available. Impossible to beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JpocJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Lake N Pines. Our room was clean but the décor was tired and dated, the towels small and very thin and the walls were not insulated against noise. We could hear conversations going on beside and below us. Our porch was very narrow which would have been fine but it was constructed such that when seated we looked at the railings rather than the lake. It is really sad that this motel has not been updated or landscaped nicer because it could be the place to stay when visiting the area. It is situated right next to beautiful Glimmer Glass Lake a prime spot and very near to the Town of Cooperstown and the museums and opera house.

Room Tip: Check it out first before you book it to see if this is what you would be comfortable with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just stayed two nights and it was our base for Cooperstown. Ten minute lakeside drive and your in downtown.
Check in/out was easy, room was clean and having an indoor and outdoor pool was a plus. Hot tub and sauna was also a nice to have. The views from the room and breakfast room were perfect. Sitting on the porch overlooking the lake is hard to beat.
Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors on either side of you (fortunately nothing to crazy was heard as I didn't want to have to explain to my son).
Breakfast was simple, coffee, bagels, toast, juice, cereal etc..
Recommend the Lake N Pines..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent service was the take away for us. Also the lovely indoor pool and hot tub area. It rained all weekend but the grounds and our room were welcoming, clean and convenient. The continental breakfast was sufficient, the breakfast room is clean, and is on the lake. Great views. Great parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowHampshireTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were married in Buffalo with a bad Motel experience in Amherst. Found Lake and Pines for a one night stay before heading to Baseball Hall of Fame. What a beautiful place. Enjoyed our one night stay very much and left wishing that we could have spent our whole Honeymoon at L&P.!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyReasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here with my Mom in September while we attended Freedom Guide Dog' School's open house in nearby Cassville. Overall, it was a great experience, and I would stay there again if we were in the area. Check-in was quick and the front desk person was friendly. The room and facilities were immaculate, and the view of the lake is truly gorgeous. While this is not really a vacation destination in itself, if you are in the area to visit Cooperstown, Glimmerglass, or some other event, Lake N Pines will do quite nicely.

The wi-fi connection was okay but a bit temperamental. I would not rely upon it if you needed to conduct business online while traveling. Also, I did not always have cell reception (AT&T), which is not the motel's fault, but I think it is helpful to know since I usually don't have problems. The only significant negative was the noise from overhead. We were on the first floor and the people above seemed quite noisy when they were moving about, which was especially annoying at all hours of the night. I'm not sure whether this would be an issue at another time or if these people were just lead-footed. We weren't disturbed by the room next door to us or people outside.

As for suggestions, I only have two: a guide to the TV channels would have been helpful and I wish the second lock on the door worked, especially given the easy access from the parking lot. While I never felt unsafe, I was leery about leaving my laptop in the room especially without access to a safe. All in all, however, it was a lovely stay and suited our purposes perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitrinMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
309 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
10.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake N Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake N Pines Motel

Address: 7102 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: £65 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake N Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake 'N Pines Motel offers a tranquil and picturesque view on beautiful Otsego Lake. Our guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the only motel/hotel in the area to offer both, and a large picnic area overlooking Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake N Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake n Pines Hotel Cooperstown
Lake n Pines Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing