We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Further from Dreams Park than we thought...at night in the dark :)”
Review of Lake N Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake N Pines Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The place is outdated, the upkeep not great. The beds were brand new and VERY comfortable. The view looking out of the lake side window was outstanding and incredibly I still think of the great time I had in Cooperstown just relaxing. Staff were friendly. Apparently only Verizon phones worked there! There is free internet so we could email. There is no microwave in your room, there is one in the office, which is not so convenient but there is a fridge. You will need to stock up on snacks, drinks as there is no handy store or restaurant. If you can bring your own towels then do so for the pool and shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNP11, Owner at Lake N Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your review of our establishment. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay at Lake 'N Pines Motel during your time in Cooperstown. We are located 12 miles from Cooperstown Dreams Park, about a 20 minute drive, which is explained on our website and our front desk would have explained that to you upon request during booking. In our lake area we do only have Verizon cell coverage due to the strict town laws preventing more towers in our area and that is out of our control. From the picture provide it appears you stayed in our units 7-10 that have a private balcony overlooking the lake. Those rooms do have brand new mattresses and all 4 of those rooms are going to be remodeled this winter. Our maintenance staff takes great pride in maintaining our property on a daily basis. Most of the restaurants are located in Cooperstown, which is only a 10 minute drive from our location. We hope to see you here on your next trip to Cooperstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were part of a large group that chose this motel because of its proximity to Dreams Park where our 12 year old boys were playing in a baseball tournament. The location is convenient both to Cooperstown (about 7 miles) and Dream's Park (about 12 miles). The motel is right on the lake and our children were able to swim and use the paddle boats. The view from our room (the lake) was wonderful, but the view in our room was not very nice. The motel itself has very dated rooms with very thin/small towels. The lake front/beach is not maintained very well. The continental breakfast was okay, but nothing special. The front office was not at all friendly upon check in and not helpful when the power went out. The maid/cleaning service did a great job. Overall, an adequate motel in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgetnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Okay, not technically in Cooperstown--you will not be walking to the area attractions--it's about a 7-8 mile (scenic/beautiful) drive from the main drag in Cooperstown--very dated but clean--we are not 'motel' people but we needed a place for a one night stay--I tried several B&Bs but almost all of those require a several night stay--so we gambled a bit--and not so bad--I was greeted by name upon arrival--we were offered a discount on area attractions tickets--It was a very pleasant stay--the wood paneling etc. added to the dated look--but I went in with no expectations and was very satisfied with our stay--we had a view of the lake (there was an electric pole with numerous wires in the way but gorgeous view)--we did not experience noise issues as other visitors did--we stayed in #9 room private balcony, two double beds--also had a small fridge--and small tv--it was $165 +tax= 184.80 total--I thought that was a bit pricey but we were treated very nicely--the Jacuzzi/ indoor pool area was kept open a 1/2 later for us personally because we got back to the room right before 10pm--the office clerk also brought us pool towels--she was very accommodating--and we did appreciate it! The complimentary continental breakfast was acceptable--right on the lake with a beautiful lake view--we wish we had time to try out the paddle boats and other equipment available for use on the lake--if we went back to Cooperstown, I would stay there again--it's a bit out of the way and relaxing--if you are not high maintenance this place may work for you! (We have no children but --this motel seems very kid/family friendly) Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishhadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Lake 'n Pine Motel's website does not do it justice. The views of the lake are great, and its location to Cooperstown was exactly what we needed. The rooms are definitely out-dated, with thin walls and cheap towels. But we were only there for one night, and the price was good. Be sure and "upgrade" to a balcony with a view. It was well worth the extra $10. The staff at the front counter was very nice and helpful.

The little breakfast house is cute, but the selection was pretty lame. Don't plan on a hearty breakfast here, but you can get enough to hold you over until lunch!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this motel for two nights in mid April during our visit to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. Make no mistake, this is not a top end, star heavy resort with fancy amenities. What it is, is a charming, quiet motel on a beautiful lake that is a tremendous base of operations for excursions in Cooperstown. The staff was friendly, and the room was fine, but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were great. It rained the entire time that we were in the area, with the exception of a brief apperance of a blue sky during a Friday afternoon, so we ended up spending a little more time in our room than we ever intended to. Aside from a few minor complaints, the towels could be larger, and newer carpet would have been nice, we will utilize this motel the next time we return to Cooperstown. Between the tremendous view, and the more than fair price, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if they are available. Impossible to beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JpocJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Lake N Pines. Our room was clean but the décor was tired and dated, the towels small and very thin and the walls were not insulated against noise. We could hear conversations going on beside and below us. Our porch was very narrow which would have been fine but it was constructed such that when seated we looked at the railings rather than the lake. It is really sad that this motel has not been updated or landscaped nicer because it could be the place to stay when visiting the area. It is situated right next to beautiful Glimmer Glass Lake a prime spot and very near to the Town of Cooperstown and the museums and opera house.

Room Tip: Check it out first before you book it to see if this is what you would be comfortable with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just stayed two nights and it was our base for Cooperstown. Ten minute lakeside drive and your in downtown.
Check in/out was easy, room was clean and having an indoor and outdoor pool was a plus. Hot tub and sauna was also a nice to have. The views from the room and breakfast room were perfect. Sitting on the porch overlooking the lake is hard to beat.
Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors on either side of you (fortunately nothing to crazy was heard as I didn't want to have to explain to my son).
Breakfast was simple, coffee, bagels, toast, juice, cereal etc..
Recommend the Lake N Pines..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
10.0 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
868 reviews
11.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
0.1 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake N Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake N Pines Motel

Address: 7102 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: £62 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake N Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake 'N Pines Motel offers a tranquil and picturesque view on beautiful Otsego Lake. Our guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the only motel/hotel in the area to offer both, and a large picnic area overlooking Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake N Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake n Pines Hotel Cooperstown
Lake n Pines Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing