We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, On.
1 review
“We Love the Inn”
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My fiancee and I have had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Inn at Cooperstown on two occasions and each time we leave, we cannot wait to return. From the well-kept rooms to the courteous staff, everything about the Inn is fantastic. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at this wonderful establishment, we suggest you take advantage.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfortuna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    145
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
172
503
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

The inn was absolutely beautiful and perfect. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was excellent, the colors on the wall were gorgeous and the rooms were clean and beautiful. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend. Cooperstown is a lovely place to visit because of the shops and restaurants, even if you aren't a big baseball fan.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn at Cooperstown for 3 nights at the end of January. We decided on the Inn after reviewing various accomodations on the Cooperstown Chamber of Commerce website. Our primary reason for the trip was to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame for the first time but the Inn was hosting a Bed & Brew event the same weekend we were going and that finally swayed our decision to stay there instead of elsewhere. On Friday evening guests were invited to attend a reception held in the common rooms and share their own homemade brews. Although we had zero experience with home brewing, we like beer just as much as the next guy. So even though we didn’t have any beer to share with our fellow guests, they were very gracious to share theirs with us. Thanks everyone! The innkeepers, Sherrie & Marc, were present and were very nice indeed.

We were very happy to discover that all the sites we wanted to visit were just a very short walk from the Inn. During our stay we enjoyed lunch at the Tunicliff Inn, dinner and cocktails at the Doubleday Café, a bracing walk down to Ostego Lake and around the village to see the beautiful historic homes and an entire afternoon at the Baseball Hall of Fame. We also had a delicious gourmet dinner at Nicoletta’s Café. All were within 2 blocks of the Inn. On Saturday evening the owners and guests of the Inn all met at the Ommegang Brewery for a beer tasting and cheese reception followed by a great tour of the brewery led by the Brewmaster Randy. Then we sat down to an impressively catered dinner followed by dessert. At the end of the evening we received gifts of beer and sweatshirts from the Brewery before heading back to the Inn.

As for the accomodations, there were wonderful. Our room was cozy and warm and quite comfortable as we watched the snowflakes outside. We loved our room, the bedroom and bathroom were definitely of ample size, nicely appointed and the bed and pillows were so comfortable! The Inn is just beautiful inside – nicely decorated and very comfortable at the same time. We enjoyed our continental breakfast each morning and the staff was just great.

It’s the first time we ever stayed in an Inn or Bed & Breakfast type of accomodation instead of hotel/motel but we have been won over! We hope to go back and visit the lovely town of Cooperstown again and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else but the Inn at Cooperstown.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Shower could have used a shelf to hold shampoos, etc.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We have only return from our stay hours ago and had to take the time to write this. My husband, I and 2 friends booked the Bed and Brew package at the Inn at Cooperstown. We could not have been more satisfied with our stay! From the time that we arrived until the time we checked out the staff was warm and welcoming to us. Marc the owner and his wife Sherry seemed to enjoy sharing their Inn with their guests.The Package started Friday night with a gathering in the parlor of home brewers and beer enthusiasts sharing their favorite or home brewed beer. What a great ice breaker! Each morning we were awakened by the smell of fresh baked muffins and brewed coffee. At breakfast each day we were greeted by the Inn keeper, Marc. Everything that we wanted to do was in walking distance, from the Winter Festival to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Saturday evening we ventured to the Ommegang Brewery for a fabulous beer and food pairing dinner. The food was delicious and well prepared. The Brewery staff were generous and friendly. All in all, a wonderful experience.
The Inn is clean, warm and very inviting to all ages. Marc and his staff are very knowledgeable in the history and goings on in Cooperstown. I left feeling like I was saying good bye to friends not just an Innkeeper and his wife.
We will return to the Inn at Cooperstown again!
Pete and Kathi S.

  • Liked — Welcoming Staff and environment
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodFriendsRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 2-night stay at the Inn at Cooperstown. Upon our arrival, the inn was quiet, charming, well-decorated, clean, and inviting. The staff was attentive and informative. This was the perfect place for a reunion with friends (3 other couples)!

The inn is beautiful from the outside, as well as the inside. The holiday decorations were still up which made it extra cozy and charming. Our room was just right for us and I LOVED the fact that no distractions existed (no phone or TV in the room...they can be found in the sitting room downstairs). Everything is very clean and neat; the bed was super comfortable and I am very particular where I rest my head.

During the day, the gang went their own way: some to an exercise facility and some for naps. Later, the husbands took a long tour of the Baseball Hall of Fame. They all loved it (very informative), even though 3 of the 4 are not even baseball lovers. The wives had massages and chit-chatted. At night, we played board games (supplied by the inn) in the sitting room in front of a fire and caught up on old times. My face still hurts from all the laughing.

We walked to our meals 1-2 blocks and were very pleased with the quality and selection of restaurants. The shops are very quaint, too. Lots to do in this charming village.

All in all, we had a tremendous weekend with the perfect group of friends at the perfect retreat! We were completely comfortable while we were away from kids, work, and the real world. Can't wait for next year.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — nothing - it was all great!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuttsPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

After our very first visit a few years ago , we now try to visit Cooperstown every year. The only place we stay is the Inn at Cooperstown (very conveniently located to the village -- literally a stone's throw). We'll plan our schedule around their availability, if that tells you anything. Quite simply, the hospitality aspect is nothing short of outstanding. The inn is meticulously well-appointed and maintained, including the common areas and the actual guestrooms. There is an undeniably warm and comfortable feel to the place, and that extends to the staff, all of whom are extremely accommodating. They've always provided us with excellent service without being obtrusive -- a balance that is not always easily accomplished in the lodging industry. The Inn's attention to detail is superior, right down to the coffee, tea, and cookies that are available all day long in the room adjacent to the main living room. You get the sense that the innkeepers have really gone the extra mile to make you comfortable.

It does not take long at all after you've arrived for you to feel at home. You have the run of the place while you're there. Whether I was reading the paper by the fire in the living room, or playing cards or board games at a table in the breakfast nook, or just catching a nap in my room, the Inn provides the sort of atmosphere in which I can really relax and unwind. That quality is not easy to find. I never feel as though I'm simply passing through a lobby to get to my room -- you're made to feel as if the whole place is yours to use at your leisure. You genuinely feel as though you're home.

On our last visit, there were 8 of us that stayed. To a person, everyone thoroughly enjoyed the Inn. My mother, someone who had always chosen to stay at franchise hotels, was made into a convert. Based on her experience at the IAC, she is now sold on bed-and-breakfasts and will not stay in a cold, impersonal hotel. In closing, I cannot recommend this establishment any higher. You will not regret a decision to stay here.

Matthew and Stephanie Kimber
Keene, New Hampshire

  • Liked — overall feeling of hospitality
  • Disliked — that we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattyMVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

The Inn is tucked away in the quaint little town of Cooperstown, NY. It's super clean, beautifully decorated and the staff is over the top friendly and personable! It is located in the heart of the town where all the attractions (Baseball hall of fame and all the good restaurants and bars) are within a short walk-
The breakfast is hot and fresh and the owner was indeed informative about the happenings around town was quite the host- We would go back in a heartbeat- the only thing we kind of missed and wished for was a T.V in the room- I understand the concept of the B&B and respect that but needed to but it all out there! The Inn at Cooperstown gets big thumbs up from us over here in Vermont!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank starletteuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Property: The Inn at Cooperstown
Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Experience Cooperstown with one of our unforgettable and exclusive packages. The hotel is open year-round and offers amenities including free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, handicap accessible rooms, and family friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing