We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Brew Package--not just a hit, a grand slam!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“Bed and Brew Package--not just a hit, a grand slam!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I purchased the Bed and Brew package offered by the Inn at Cooperstown and the Ommegang Brewery for my fiancé for Christmas this year. It was a blast! Sherri and Marc, the owners of the Inn were wonderful! The weekend began with a craft brew night in the lobby of the Inn (such a beautiful space) and it was so much fun to meet the other guests over good brew and fun conversation. The breakfast was tasty and got us started to enjoy a nice Saturday exploring the village of Cooperstown. Saturday night, we all took a bus to Ommegang where we got a tour of the brewery (Justin was so knowledgeable and fun!), had a tasting and then sat to enjoy a wonderful 5 course beer dinner. Marc and Sherri really took the time to get to know the guests by name, and they made the whole weekend so pleasant. The rooms were clean and so comfortable and the staff was friendly and professional. We are already looking forward to our next visit! I would recommend this package for any beer lover. They also offer lots of other packages, too, so they are sure to have something to please everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Leslie!

We had a blast getting to know you and Tom, too! Thanks so very, very much for writing such a detailed and complimentary review of your stay at the inn and the Bed and Brew package. We wish you both the very best for your upcoming wedding as well as the rest of your married life together!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    142
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
163
491
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockport, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Loved the Inn at Cooperstown. Great location. Great staff. Lovely room. Marc shared pictures of his interesting dog. We loved talking with him over breakfast. Breakfast was very good. delicious bread and muffins.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Pam,

We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments you have made about your stay at the inn. And, being the dog lovers that we are, sharing about our Basenji, Riley, is one of our favorite things to do. Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Inn at Cooperstown!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We recently went to The Inn at Cooperstown for their "Bed and Brew" weekend. My husband and dad are both home brewers, so it was right up their alley. The Inn was cozy and clean, with a very nice breakfast. Beds were very comfortable, and the location was a 5 minute walking distance to some great restaurants, shops, and the Baseball Hall of Fame. The Innkeepers, Mark and Sherri, were also very friendly, accommodating, and made you feel at home. This particular package was really fun because it included a tour and dinner at the Ommegang brewery. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Tammy,

Thanks so much for the great review! Your comment about "feeling at home" made us feel great as that is the environment our entire staff strives to create for all of our guests. Top that off with the VIP treatment at Brewery Ommegang and you've got a really fun and relaxing weekend.

Thanks again,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Inn at Cooperstown. The area just experienced a significant snow storm but that did not hinder our stay. Staff was wonderful, breakfast was great, and the fireplace in the living room was so relaxing and warming on such a cold evening. The rooms are spacious and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Staff goes above and beyond to assist you and make you feel at home.

I highly recommend this inn any time of year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Maria,

We're so happy you enjoyed your visit to Cooperstown and your stay at our hotel! We have passed your kind comments on to our entire staff as they appreciate the feedback just as much as we do. Thanks so very much taking the time to write such a terrific review.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for two nights at the Inn at Cooperstown, mainly to visit the outstanding Baseball Hall of Fame. If you are also looking to visit the Hall, or anything in the lovely village of Cooperstown, then you can’t beat the location of the Inn. From the Inn, you are literally about a five-minute walk from the Hall and all of the little shops and restaurants, and it is the location that is the main value-add of the Inn. The property itself is also very nice and the innkeepers clearly take pride in the property’s appearance. We stayed in the Luxury Suite, which has its own separate entrance and is exceptionally large and tastefully decorated (though there aren’t privacy shades on the window on the front door or on the main front window). While I don’t have a measure for comparison, I would recommend the Luxury Suite.

I give the Inn at Cooperstown four stars, only because we were expecting more in terms of service and personal attention, especially considering the very high price of the suite. Everyone at the Inn was friendly enough, but missing was that “can do” attitude that makes guests feel like they can just relax. Just for an anecdotal example, we asked on a very rainy day if any local restaurant might deliver or offer carry-out, and we were told that none would. However, after a quick internet search, we saw that New York Pizzeria offers delivery. In a small town like Cooperstown, I guess we were both just surprised that this wasn’t offered (or known) as an option by the staff.

We were also somewhat disappointed with the breakfast selections, which consisted of cereal, fruit, yogurt, and already-made frittatas. This was all fine, but considering the price, and in comparison to what we’ve come to expect from higher-end B&Bs, it did not meet expectations. At other inns, there are very often not only more selections, but made-to-order options.

Overall, if you have managed expectations in terms of service and breakfast, the Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely B&B that is ideally located near everything in Cooperstown.

Hint: Alex & Ika restaurant is a must-visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Chicago,

Thanks so very much for all your kind words about the historic hotel, our location, and the luxury suite. Thanks also for the feedback on the window treatments in the suite. For future guests, it should be noted that the bedrooms as well as the back windows and bathrooms in the luxury suite all have window treatments that provide 100% privacy. The choice of sheers for the two windows you mention was made by our designer to allow plenty of natural light into the suite since both of those windows are so far above ground level that no one walking by can see in.

We appreciate the compliments on the friendliness of the staff but are very sorry you didn’t feel the normal “above and beyond service” that our staff typically delivers. We have already discussed the particular situation regarding food delivery with the staff member in question (and also as a refresher with all of our staff). She was unaware that New York Pizzeria offered delivery service during the off-season and sends her sincerely apologies for the misinformation. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the inn that do offer take-out food however New York Pizzeria is the only one in the village that does offer delivery.

The Inn at Cooperstown serves an expanded, high quality continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast includes a hot egg entrée, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, assorted cereals and granola, homemade muffins, bread, assorted juices, tea and fresh brewed, locally roasted coffee. Our homemade muffins are oven-baked and served warm. Two types of artisanal bread, sunflower-raisin and cracked wheat, are offered for toasting. We have elected to serve this type of breakfast due to the capacity of the hotel. When the hotel is fully booked, we serve 40 to 42 guests for breakfast. The expanded continental breakfast works very well when serving a large number of guests. It allows for a great deal of flexibility in terms of food items offered. It also allows guests to have breakfast any time between 8 and 9:30 am rather than having to sign-up for a specific breakfast seating time as is common in smaller bed & breakfasts.

While The Inn at Cooperstown offers many amenities as well as the type of personal service typically found at smaller inns and bed & breakfasts, last year we purposely moved the inn to the “Hotel” category in TripAdvisor for a better fit.

One of our guests recently put it so well when they described The Inn as Cooperstown: “Evidently built in the 1880s as a hotel and restored a century later, the inn feels both old and new. Old, in the lovely porch, the series of breakfast and sitting rooms on the first floor, the high ceilings, very comfortable rooms, the black-and-white tiled baths, and the absence of telephones in the room (wake-up knocks are available!). One signs an actual register book and gets an actual key to one's room. New, in the lack of wear-and-tear; everything is clean, fresh, and elegant. The staff is friendly and unobtrusive.”

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Perfect for romantic get aways, casual stays and family reunions. You name it, they can accommodate you. Phenomenal and informative staff. Delicious breakfast. Refreshingly NOT Victorian inside absent of tons of clutter and lace - it is more a refined, elegant yet casual and modern interior. Beds are SO comfortable - you'll be enticed to take a nap! Every room has a private spacious bathroom. There is 24 hour coffee, tea, cocoa service. There is a Divine fireplace in sitting room. Great game room. Is so relaxing you feel at home, but better as there is nothing to do but enjoy. Great for a romantic getaway, a family reunion or just casual stay. Local restaurants and shops are very enticing and good.

Room Tip: We stayed in 28 which can be made adjoining to 26; 22 and 24 also adjoin. Rooms in the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thanks so very much for such a lovely and accurate review of all that’s offered at the inn! And thanks for noting the lack of clutter and lace. You are correct, The Inn at Cooperstown does not do “froufrou”.

We truly appreciate your time in writing such a complimentary review and look forward to welcoming you and your family at the inn on a future visit to Cooperstown. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came to the Inn specifically for the Ultimate Baseball VIP Experience they offer with the Hall of Fame. What a fantastic weekend! The Inn is charming, comfortable and very accommodating (esp since we were there with our 3 and 6 year olds). The rooms are beautiful and spotless. They offer a delicious breakfast every morning and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. You can tell that the owners take pride in their establishment We had a very comfortable stay in the Luxury Suite which had everything we needed and more. And to top it all off, the Inn is just a short walk away from the Hall of Fame and the many restaurants and shops Main street has to offer!
My husband is still gushing over the time he spent at the Hall of Fame. He was able to see items that are not normally on display in the museum as part of the "behind the scenes" portion of the VIP Experience. His mind was blown away with not only the artifacts he was able to see but also with the knowledge of all of the museums staff. This package that the Inn has to offer was worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Deborah,

We’re so pleased that you and your family had such a great time at the inn and at the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Our Ultimate Baseball Hall of Fame Getaway Package is definitely the way to go for a very special and unique experience as your husband found out. Thanks to you for gifting that package to him!

We extend our sincere thanks to you for taking the time to write such wonderful review and we really enjoyed visiting with you and your family during breakfast at the inn. Hope your holidays were just lovely!

All the best,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Property: The Inn at Cooperstown
Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Open year-round. Off-street parking. Handicap accessible. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing