We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely hospitable and great for traveling with Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Cooperstown
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I'm rarely compelled to write reviews, but staying at the Inn at Cooperstown is worth it. Anyone who has a baby knows that traveling can be a PITA. Firstly, the when I made my reservation I let the staff know that I had a baby. They told me they could provide a pack and play. They did provide one with very nice cute blankets. They also had a diaper pail, which I have never had at a hotel. They also made sure we were on the first floor, so that we wouldn't have to lug our stroller, baby, etc. up the stairs. The inn has a nice parlor area with board games, so after our son went to bed, we could spend some alone time outside of our room without leaving him (we were about 20 feet away). The staff was super friendly and just lovely all around. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique, so make sure you tell the staff the number of travelers you have, so th...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Kim,

We so enjoyed having you and your family stay at the inn. Thanks so very much for all the very nice comments and details about how we take care of families traveling little ones. We truly appreciate your review and your choice of The Inn at Cooperstown for lodging. Have a wonderful fall!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Cooperstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My Husband and I arrived shortly after 3pm on a Monday, for a four night stay in the "premium suite". The rooms were available when we arrived, and we were quickly registered, oriented to the Inn, and taken to the suite by the welcoming desk staff. The rear-facing, 2d-floor suite was roomy, airy and comfortable, pin-drop quiet at night. Breakfasts were ample, well prepared, and the staff made sure that late risers didn't miss out on anything on offer.
Overall, the Inn is well appointed, well maintained, cozy, and staffed by a friendly, helpful crew. The inkeepers, Marc and Sherrie, were a fount of useful information about the Inn and surrounding area, aces at making your presence feel appreciated. Most everything worth seeing in Cooperstown is within brief walking distance.
We were here to attend performances at the Glimmerglass festival, and the Inn could hardly have been better situated, a 15 minute drive to the festival grounds, and next door to the festival box office.
We'll be back ...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Toreadroable,

Wow! Thanks so very much for such an awesome review of The Inn at Cooperstown and our staff. We sincerely appreciate your business and all your kind and wonderful words about your stay at our property. Hope to see you for the Glimmerglass Festival 2015!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this inn for five nights while attending operas at Glimmerglass and visiting the Cooperstown sights. The overall Cooperstown experience was great, the inn was good. Our room on the first floor was clean and attractive. The tile bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean.
The view of the parking lot was most unattractive, but in a town where parking can be difficult, it was worth the trade-off. The inn is within walking distance of all the in-town sights and just a mile away from the Fenimore Art Museum and the Farmers' Museum, both of which are terrific.
Check was a breeze, and the desk clerk offered help with our bags.
Initially, we thought we would not like the first floor location, but my brother (who had a room on the second floor) said he could hear every little noise from the room next door to his. We had no one near us and the only noise we heard was from the morning staff's radio.
Other reviewers have noted the sameness of the breakfast served, and after five mornings, the choices had lost their appeal. There's a great local bakery right at the corner - a collaboration might be good business for both the inn and the bakery.
Early risers will not get coffee until sometime after 7:30. Store-bought cookies and a single-serving coffee/tea machine are put out in the afternoon - and taken away around 10:30. Too bad - for the opera crowd arrives back at the inn about 15 minutes too late. I suggested it might be a nice idea to leave the coffee/tea out a few extra minutes during opera season - the owner did not even respond to me - just stared at me. I thought it a rather benign suggestion. That was on the last morning, so I left with less than warm feelings toward the place.
What would make this a five-star instead of a four-star rating would be a bit more attention to guest details - and at least a "We'll consider that," when a suggestion is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Catherine,

Thanks so very much for your review and your compliments on The Inn at Cooperstown. Our brewed, specially blended coffee (beans fresh from the best local roaster/coffee shop in town, Stagecoach Coffee) is available promptly at 7:30 am each morning. Our single serve hot drink machine is actually put out just before that each morning and is put away each evening between 10:30 and 10:45 pm. Oh how we wish we could leave the single serving machine out 24/7. We have in the past and been greeted in the morning with a broken machine that couldn't be repaired and on other occasions with unpleasant spilled drink messes. Due to these unfortunate circumstances our best option at this point is to put it away in the late evening.

We are so sorry about the miscommunication with Marc at breakfast. He was in the midst of the busiest time during breakfast service and was trying to catch your eye with a nod in agreement to your suggestion of leaving of the hot drink machine out a little later during the opera season. We are hoping to make that happen for next season. The biggest challenge with that is that the opera performances can vary significantly in length. We truly appreciate and are open to all guest comments and suggestions and we do thank you for yours.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked a classic room at a reasonable price for the Cooperstown area. Our room, as well as other classic rooms, was on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator available so be aware before you book. No one offered to help with our suitcases either. The room had tired furnishings and lacked even nightstands, although the bath was very nice. Outdoor seating was limited to the front porch and complimentary drinks were provided with store bought cookies. Breakfast was okay but not exceptional or memorable. Overall, we were underwhelmed by our visit and would look for another place next time. This inn is definitely not deserving of Select Registry status.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 3rd floor rooms unless you like lots of exercise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CaptainCosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Captain Cosmos,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so disappointed that our lovely historic hotel was not a good fit for you. The Inn at Cooperstown has been part of the Select Registry organization for well over 16 years. There are 400+ member inns and small hotels across North America that are part of the Select Registry. While each property is unique in terms of its architecture, décor, and other amenities, the distinction between a Select Registry member and any other inn or small hotel is the system of quality assurance. Select Registry carries out a quality assurance inspection of each member property annually. This program involves independent inspectors - not employees of Select Registry - with years of experience in the hospitality industry. The inspectors arrive anonymously, spend the night, and evaluate the inn based on a detailed point system, which translates into a grade for the member property. The Inn at Cooperstown’s annual Select Registry inspection took place several months ago and, as has been the case for many, many years, the inn received an outstanding grade.

We constantly and consistently receive compliments and accolades in regards to the maintenance, décor, color selections, and furnishings throughout the inn. Every guest room at the inn does have a bedside table and the great majority of the rooms have one on each side of the bed complete with lovely lamps. In a very few instances those tables maybe doing double duty as small chests or dressers in order to provide more storage space for our guests. Our beautiful and sweeping front porch, a favorite spot for guests to relax, is complete with the maximum amount of brand new rocking chairs with side tables as well as oversized, cushioned wicker furniture. With our guests constantly on the go to visit the attractions in the village it is rare that the seating on the porch is fully occupied.

During the reservation process at The Inn at Cooperstown it is standard procedure for our front desk staff to review the location/floor of the room being reserved with each guest. We are extremely sensitive to the fact some guests may need a room on a lower floor and we do our very best to accommodate those needs. Our staff is more than happy to carry bags from the trunk of a guest vehicle to their room and back again. This service is offered at check in and we do apologize if it was missed on your arrival.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married in Cooperstown last month, and stayed at The Inn at Cooperstown for five nites before and after our wedding. We usually go for more modest digs for our trips to Cooperstown, but wanted something special for the wedding weekend.

The Inn is a gorgeous old building, with its standout feature being the huge front porch with rocking chairs. All day long, guests enjoy beverages on the porch, rocking, reading, and watching people walk by. It's very relaxing, and we ate our breakfast out there every morning.

The breakfast, which comes with the rate, is delicious. Huge selection of fresh fruit, a rotating muffin assortment, and yummy frittata, in addition to the standard toast and cereal offerings.

The staff, particularly those working breakfast, were very friendly and helpful. They really made everyone feel welcome and didn't seem put out by any requests.

Another plus is the large parking lot in the back. Parking is at a premium in Cooperstown during the summer months, and The Inn is close enough that you can walk everywhere you want to go downtown with ease-- no parking worries.

One disappointment was how tiny our room was. We saw other rooms at the same rate that were much more spacious, and were bummed by our quite cramped corners. As the bride and groom (which The Inn knew), and as a couple who was bringing multiple other guests along and booking multiple rooms, we were hoping The Inn would have put a bit more thought into our room. It's little hospitality touches like that that make a hotel stand out as extraordinary.

Still, it's a beautiful building that's cozy and grand at the same time, and provided a wonderfully peaceful stay-- we'd recommend it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Skittles,

Congratulations once again to you and your husband! We wish you the very best for a long and successful life together. Thanks so much for choosing our historic hotel for lodging for your wedding weekend. We truly appreciate your business on this special occasion as well as your very complimentary review of the inn!

The inn was fully booked during the time that you stayed with us otherwise we would have automatically upgraded you to a classic room or to one of our suites had they been available. When you made your reservation you selected one of our standard rooms which are a bit smaller and do come at a lower price point than our classic rooms and suites. With high season in full swing all we had to honor all of the reservations for the various types of guest rooms as booked by our other guests.

Thanks again for the review and all of your wonderful words about the inn. We hope you will come back to celebrate a special anniversary at some point in the future!

Warm Regards,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Inn was a perfect base for our family during our visit to the HOF. With two kids and grandma, the luxury suite was just perfect. We were able to stay in luxury within EASY walking distance to the HOF and restaurants. Also it was nice to be able to enjoy a B&B with kids and not worry about them disrupting other guests since the luxury suite was totally separate. As well behaved as they are we are sensitive to the B&B ambiance and were so glad we happened upon this. Luke, the front desk agent, was super helpful during the reservations process and well as during our stay We did not get to interact too much with the owners, but when we shortened our stay they refunded our last night since they were able to rebook us (without us even asking them to do so, this was a very pleasant surprise). We only had breakfast there once but we all enjoyed it. Lemonade and cookies on the porch was a very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this inn to B&B fans and for families, if you can book the luxury suite. I am not sure it is the place for kids in the main hotel.

Room Tip: luxury suite for families
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dawnk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Dawn,

Thanks so much for your kind words and wonderful review! When we added the luxury suite to the inn 6 years ago our thoughts were that it would be the perfect space for a family or two couples traveling together. With about 1300 square feet of space, a private entrance, a beautiful living room area, two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, and more, the luxury suite has become just that. And, your review certainly underscores it!

In addition to the luxury suite, our hotel also has two sets of adjoining guest rooms as well as a few other rooms that can accommodate a party of three making the entire hotel very family friendly. We love welcoming kids of all ages to The Inn at Cooperstown. Thanks again for staying with us and for all of your fine compliments.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just had a three night stay at the Inn at Cooperstown that was comfortable and pleasant. The plusses of the Inn include its location, cleanliness, breakfast offerings, and relaxed atmosphere The owners were friendly and the staff was pleasant. While we had no problem with being on the third floor, potential guests should be aware that there are no accommodations on the first floor and the stairs to floors 2 & 3 are narrow and steep, which could pose a challenge to those with physical limitations. The rooms were on the smallish side, but ours was very comfortable. My only complaint about our room and bath was the tiny, curtained shower. A help-yourself small coffee bar was available throughout the day/evening, but the cookie jar was meager, with supermarket cookies that left something to be desired, especially in comparison to other B & Bs we've stayed in over the past few years. Overall, the Inn at Cooperstown afforded us a decent place to stay while we did what we wanted to do in the area. However, again, by comparison, their attention to detail and amenities were luke-warm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mary,

We sincerely appreciate your compliments on our historic hotel. Thanks so very much. There are two guest rooms on the first floor of The Inn at Cooperstown. In addition, the luxury suite has two bedrooms one of which is on the first floor. The remaining sixteen guest rooms at the hotel are located on the second and third level of the building. During the reservation process at The Inn at Cooperstown it is standard procedure for our front desk staff to review the location/floor of the room being reserved with each guest. We are extremely sensitive to the fact some guests may need a room on a lower floor and we do our very best to accommodate those needs. Our staff is more than happy to carry bags from a guest vehicle to their room and back again.

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.0 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
269 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Address: 16 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: £91 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Experience Cooperstown with one of our unforgettable and exclusive packages. The hotel is open year-round and offers amenities including free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, handicap accessible rooms, and family friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing