We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What You Would Expect from a KOA”
Review of Copake KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copake KOA
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for a short weekend get away and were sadly disappointed. We had a tent site that was badly setup in regards to the power box and picnic table & firering. And when i sat at the picnic table i was eaten alive by fleas, i have many bites on my ankles to prove this . Not much to do for recreation that didn't cost $$ - i asked if we could play ping pong in the adult area and they said no. Bathrooms were okay but forget about trying to take a shower - you had to keep pushing this buttom and didn't know if the water would be hot or cold. I would say that if you are in the area - go the campground at Bish Bash Falls instead.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Our Bathhouse showers are of the new on demand type of system. It does save water and is "Green" but can be annoying to those unfamiliar with it. Water is not heated continuously. Water is heated for the first time when someone presses the shower button. Just like at home if you are the first shower in the morning the water is colder until it runs awhile as there is unheated water in the piping. End units will be colder than the center units at first as heated water has to travel farther. Unlike at home the water temperature is not adjustable. The water heater must be set to a specific maximum temperature as required by the health department. Some people feel it is too hot, other campers feel it is to cold. Wish we could allow you to adjust it, but by law we can't.
Your title states "Not What You Would Expect from a KOA” but in looking over your previous reviews I don't see one ever written about a KOA. I wish I knew what KOA you had stayed at that you liked better. It would help us as we continue to make improvements to our campground and our tent area specifically if we could determine if what you liked about their tent sites was something that we could incorporate into our campground. As a family owned and operated campground we care very much about every camper. We want every camper to have a great experience. When we travel in the off season we bring back ideas to incorporate into our campground that we see at other campgrounds. Specific suggestions from campers are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We just got back from a 2 night weekend at the Copake KOA. What a nice clean campground! We were running a bit late on friday and called them to let them know, They said they would wait for us to arrive(they closed @8 got there by 1/4 after) as to not have us park outside the gates for the night and then have to unhook and hookup again the next morning! It was a pleasure to stay there and with us being less then 2 hours away, we will most definatly stay here again!! A great weekend getaway!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Always happy to help out whenever we can. The fact that you took the time to communicate with us that you were going to be arriving late made all the difference in our ability to help you have a great camping experience. Thank you for making it easier for us to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Again Copake KOA clean and well kept, the owner and staff are the best and will do there best to help you with any needs or concerns you have. This year I brought a couple of people I work for (persons with disibilities) the welcoming kindness they recieved when they arrived was outstanding, in dealing with the community as a hole this Campground welcomed them with open arms a nice thing to see.
When reserving a campsite Kathy does everything she can to put us on the site that we select other campgrounds is you get what you get not here!! And if we didn' t like the site for some reason we just asked and were able to switch with out any problems.
Thanks again for another great year of camping!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

So delighted that you enjoy camping with us. We really enjoy having you too! The fact that you tell us where in the park you would like to have a campsite really helps us out. Then we know you are going to love your campsite!
To all our camping guests: We want you to know that we are always more than happy to honor speciifc campsite requests if they are available at time of reservation since every site is a little different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My children and I stayed here for a week late last season. The stay was fine: bathrooms were clean, as was the cab; however, there were many bugs in the pool. When I went to check out, I asked about leaving a tip. The lady at the front desk/store informed me that you don't leave a tip at a campground. When I went back to the room to leave the key, there was a man cleaning the cabin who started yelling at me, cleaning the mini fridge in a rage (the last night we had pizza and I had not seen some sauce had gotten on the fridge). The cabin was not unreasonably messy. In any case, yelling is unacceptable. I left a tip (which - given the fact he was yelling, I probably should not have), but would not recommend this KOA.

Room Tip: Tents, fine, Cabins: consider yourselves warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit of last season in a cabin. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We really do try to make every guests stay a terrific experience.
We appreciate the offer but we do not accept tips of any kind. Any tips that are offered, we encourage guests to place them in the Care Camp donation box. We (as part of the KOA system) raise money for special camps for children with cancer where the children can go camping with other children that also have cancer. This gives them the opportunity to experience the outdoors with doctors and nurses to take care of them.
At our campground we require a security/cleaning deposit for all rental unit reservations. Unlike a hotel we do not offer daily cleaning services nor do we provide linens at this time. Sometimes it is difficult for a guest that is used to traveling by staying at hotels to understand the difference in vacation experience between a hotel stay and a campground stay ahead of time. Unfortunately this occasionally leads them to be unhappy with the vacation choice they made.
We receive many compliments about the friendliness and courteousness of our staff. We are sorry you did not feel your interaction with our staff was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this campground in May 2012. For the most part we enjoyed ourselves. Most of the activities wrre great, although my daughter showed up one minute late for Bingo and wasn't allowed to join even on the next round. she was very upset about it. Other than that the activities were good.
There is one bathroom/bath house with individual units that is very clean. The bathroom closer to the pool was not nearly as clean as the other one.
The sites are nice and spacious, although I would say don't book on the pow-wow group field---there is no shade at all. We were miserable on this site and it seemed like a waste of money for us. We couldn't use the site until the sun went down. we paid a decent amount of money to lay down once it quieted down (one night at 11 and the other two nights people were very loud until 12:30am)
All in all it is a nice campground, although because of where our site was feel like we didn't get our money's worth. We spent all of our time on someone elses site to escape the baking sun!

Room Tip: stay away from the group field and you will enjoy yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamaduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Glad you were mostly happy with your stay. Wish you could have been totally happy with your stay. That is what we strive for.
We play Bingo with the candy bar pots divided at the beginning when the games start for the night, which is why when you were late you couldn't join in for the last round as several other rounds had already been played and the pots divided. We are sorry if this wasn't explained to you.
Memorial Day weekend the campground is always booked to maximum capacity. We book sites with the criteria of best available at time of reservation. The pow-wow sites are always the last sites in the park that we reserve. Being right next to the pavilion make them not private at all and most guests do not like the location. Surprisingly some of our guests actually request the pow-wow sites as they like being in the full sun right in the center of things.
Since Memorial Day weekend is the first time the pool is open for the season, the pool bathroom gets an exceptional amount of use. Housekeeping cleans all the bathrooms in the park multiple times a day but unfortunately once in awhile they look dirty in-between. Please feel free to come in and tell us in the office if they need attention. We will send someone over right away.
Our quiet hour is 10PM and we do our best to enforce it with multiple security drives around the park. There are occasionally those campers that quiet down when we drive by and start up again after we leave. Please call and use the emergency night number located on our site map if you are being disturbed and we will take care of the situation. We can't fix it if we don't know it is happening.
We hope when you are doing your vacation planning that you think of us again. Please remember to book as early as possible to get your choice of sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We first visited Copake KOA for Memorial Day 2011. We were so impressed with the campgraound, we made reservations for Labor Day 2011 and Memorial Day 2012.

My parents came with us Labor Day 2011 and were very impressed; they could not believe how clean and quiet the campground was.

Cathy and her staff are very friendly. They have a great fire pit area were you can just sit, relax, enjoy the fire and the entertainment that is provided. They had things going on for all ages.

We are looking forward to our next visit - Memorial Day 2012. We would recommend this campground to everyone. The pull through sites are very spacious and the amenities are very well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Reviews such as yours make us so happy. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your camping trips with us. So glad you want to keep coming back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have been camping here at Copake KOA for the past 2yrs. What a friendly CLEAN campground. The Owners are such nice people and thier staff as well each time we have camped we have always had a good time at there thymed weekend. We recently got married and we spent our Honeymoon here. I would recommend this campgound to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopakeKOA, Owner at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We always enjoy having you camp with us. We were honored that you chose to camp with us for your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Copake KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copake KOA

Address: 2236 County Route 7, Copake, NY 12516-1417
Region: United States > New York > Copake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Copake
Price Range: £34 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Camping Retreat where three states meet - NY, MA and CT. Wherever you are, we're not far from your front door. We are open every season from Mother's Day weekend to Columbus Day weekend, but we welcome advance reservations anytime! We are located in Columbia County two hours from New York City. Enjoy our themed weekends with corresponding themed fun and daily activities (in the months of July and August)! Our campground provides many amenities with sports fields, mini golf, game room, swimming pool, cable TV, wi-fi and 30/50 amp full hook rv sites! Leave the tent at home and rent one of our Deluxe Cabins (a bathroom inside!) Or our one room cabins tucked in the woods near our spotlessly clean bathhouse! With a park that is rated in the top 10% of all campgrounds in the United States by KOA and Trailer Life you will be guaranteed to have a super great time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing