We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice camping environment, Lots of outdoor activities.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taconic State Park Campgrounds
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We spent the July 4th weekend at Taconic SP. I was a little unsure of what to expect since it was a holiday weekend. The park was basically packed, but for the most part, all quiet hours were observed. I can see how one might feel cramped in the A or B areas, as the sites seem to be a bit closer with less natural separation. However, we stayed in the C loop, which seemed a bit quieter. We are tent campers and not all sites in C seem like a good fit for tent camping...some have a bit of gravel, but ours (#89) was nice. My one complaint about our site is that it was next to the bathroom, so we had a lot of foot traffic do to that.

The Park has several nice trails of varying difficulty. We hiked South Taconic Trail up to Sunset Rock and then took the Cedar Brook Trail back down for a total of about 4.5 miles. A nice hike with good views. We also drove down Rt 22 about 10 minutes and climbed up Brace Mtn. The trail itself is about 1.7 miles one way, but is difficult and has some rock scrambles. The views are nice from the top. We got a pamphlet from the Park booth describing several hikes, including the ones we did. Just a note if you're starting the hike within the park. We started on the yellow trail, which is marked in the pamphlet as between sites D98 and D100, however it actually begins a few sites further up. The Blue Trail starts at D98.

There is a short section of the Harlem Valley Rail Trail that starts at the park. Right now it's only about 4 miles of trail. It's nice, but will be even nicer once it has been expanded. We rode the existing trail and found a suggested ride on the web that took us on some of the local county routes. A nice ride and the few cars that passed us gave us lots of space.

In general, this could be a crowded park. It's relatively close to the city, and probably attracts a lot of cityfolk on the weekend. However, we found our fellow campers to be courteous and mostly quiet. There are always a few.....Lots of great trails and a nice area in which do take a longer bike ride. My one complaint about the park is the bathrooms. I grew up camping in state parks all over the east coast. The bathrooms weren't horrible, but I felt like the floors could have used a good hosing down.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kats319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

Visit the museums, two in the walking area!!!! There is plenty to do in the local area too,visited the Hudson area with the antiques on Warren Street about a 25 minute ride. There is awonderful tea shop called Harney Tea where you can sample two teas and also shop tea from all over the world. Great !!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We went up to Taconic State Park to camp in mid-july 2009. Saturday night, it was fully reserved, no space left. There were so many people around, it was like being back in Manhattan. The swimming pond was teeming with people. All day & evening, blaring stereo systems, car alarms, and shreiking kids made for endless noise.

At night, a big group of campers walked over to our relatively less-crowded corner of the campground and set up a portable movie screen, plugged their digital projector into the bathroom electrical socket via a 200-foot long extension cord, and proceeded to play a movie, at top volume with booming subwoofers. They started it at 9:15 PM and clearly were not going to be done by the 10 PM noise curfew. We had to go over there around 10:15 and ask them to please turn it off, as it's supposed to be quiet hours. At least they agreed without making a fuss, though we heard a lot of grumbling, and walked back to their own camping area.

Elsewhere in the park, people continued to shout and scream, set off car alarms, and blare music for hours into the night. Then in the morning, kids were shreiking by 7 AM, and stereos were back at full blast by 8 AM.

If you like a big party atmosphere, and don't mind it being noisy til about 2 AM, then this is your park. But if you are looking to actually connect with nature and enjoy some peace & quiet, or expect your neighbors to be a bit considerate about their noise levels and screaming kids, then stay away. (At least on Sunday night it emptied out and was much quieter.) We plan to do wilderness backpacking next time, and will never set foot in a state park again -- at least not one within 2 hours of NYC -- on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is really tough because the park itself is a beautiful place but I will never go back. It's unfortunate but from the first time I called until the day we left most of the employees were rude and belittling. Unfortunately it all had to do with attitude-- and it seemed to be universal. We think we were basically flagged because are a relatively young group and even though we respected the space and all the people we came in contact with, the favor was not returned.

I camp a lot and have never encountered such a rude bunch. There is one park employee in particular that we are in the process of making a formal complaint against.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
4  Thank Nirol_Semaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Just came back from camping at Taconic State Park. Like it very much, nicely maintance campground with clean bath and shower, many hiking trails for different levels, Bash Bish Falls is beautiful with just a short hike (3/4 -1.5 miles depends on where you start). A nice canpground for family with children.

8  Thank Babooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copake Falls
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
690 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
308 reviews
19.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
8.9 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
234 reviews
7.0 mi away
Elm Tree Motel
Elm Tree Motel
#1 of 1 in Craryville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taconic State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taconic State Park Campgrounds

Address: 344, P.O. Box 100, Copake Falls, NY 12517-0100
Region: United States > New York > Copake Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Copake Falls
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Taconic State Park Campgrounds Hotel Copake Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing