We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than home”
Review of Villa Bernese

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Bernese
Ranked #2 of 3 Corning B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Never have we felt so welcome into a B&B. A truly memorable experience with gracious hosts. The breakfasts were enormous and wonderful. We felt we weree in the home and not just occupying rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcnjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Villa Bernese
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

I guarantee you will love this place! The owners, Marianne and Tony, really go out of their way to make you comfortable. It's set back on a mountaintop overlooking the valley and is absolutely beautiful! Our room was great and the breakfast was fabulous! I will go back again and recommend it highly!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank frisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Set high in the hills above Corning, it was an ideal stop for travelling between New England and Ohio as well as visiting the interesting town of Corning.

The charming couple who own this B & B take great pride in their hospitality and the comfort of guests. As one of the rooms was being decorated both couples were upgraded. One couple stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite and the other in the Valley View Suite. The house is spotless. The rooms and the beds were very comfortable. Even though we were tall we found the sleigh bed long enough.

The breakfast was something else. I just wish we could have done justice to all the home made food at breakfast. Pancakes, croissants, bacon, eggs, cake and more. An enjoyable stay.

Would love to stay longer and visit the Finger Lakes.

We ate at Gaffers and also visited the Glass Museum which is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripper100England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Approximately 1/2 hr from Finger Lakes winery area. Beautiful home with great decor....very clean and cozy. Plenty of room to move around the house. Situated off the beaten path in a quiet neighborhood in Corning, the grounds have a lovely view of the valley. The surrounding woods offer a quiet respite with wide walking trails that would be great to explore in any season. The breakfast offered is unsurpassed (don't be surprised if you find yourself daydreaming about it later in the day). The jewel of this B&B however are the hosts, Tony and Mariann. Can't say enough about the genuine warmth and hospitality of this special couple. It was such a pleasure to stay with them, I only wish we could have stayed there longer!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdpezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My daughter and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast run by Tony and Marianna who are originally from Switzerland. They designed and built their house and open their home as an exclusive Bed and Breakfast place. As soon as we arrive we are greeted warmly
by Tony and Marianne who do everything possible to make you feel welcome and to consider it our home away from home. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and as I was to meet my daughter who was running a marathon at the finishing line they were kind enough to take me there. We plan on returning soon.

.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeymommy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

A good Bed and Breakfast is known for meeting the expectations of a savvy traveler. The Villa Bernese B&B takes the B&B experience beyond expectations.

The proprietors of the Villa Bernese (as in Bern, Switzerland) are a most charming and gregarious retired couple of Swiss origin who have designed, built, and also operate their extraordinary home in the Finger Lakes region as an exclusive Bed and Breakfast.

Guests are treated like family, or even like royalty by Tony and Marianne who do everything possible to make you feel not only welcome, but like a close friend. The Bed and Breakfast is their home, but they ask guests to consider it their own home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwwaverider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed at Villa Bernese for two nights on a trip to the Finger Lakes wine country. This is without doubt one of the best if not the best B&B experiences I have ever enjoyed -- and I have been to many excellent ones around the world.

The hosts, Tony and Marianne, are a delightful Swiss couple. They seem to run the B&B for the sheer enjoyment of entertaining. The house and grounds are beautiful. The room was spotless and magnificently furnished. And if that's not enough, the lavish (and I truly mean lavish) breakfast was better than any I have had in even the best hotel.

Tony and Marianne take the time to make sure guests feel totally welcome. They encouraged us to roam their grounds, and to relax on one of their decks. They also joined us and another couple for some wine (which they offered to us) and a chat.

The amazing thing is that they offer this level of hospitality for all of their guests, and it is a well-booked place. But we felt like we were once-off guests in the home of old friends, that's how genuine and wonderful they are.

You can't put a price tag on how great this place is. In fact, it's not expensive. But if it was five times the price, it would still be worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart_K_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
3.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
273 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
6.9 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bernese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bernese

Address: 11881 Overlook Drive, Corning, NY
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Corning
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing