We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”

Gaffer Grille and Taproom
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Price range: US$1 - US$24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Gaffer has become my new favorite Twin Tiers restaurant. Their steaks are some of the best I have ever had. Try the chicken wig dip, homemade perfection. The draft beer selection is large and impressive. Can be pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsBilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    90
    36
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great bar and service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Watched a world cup soccer game at the bar. Fun company, great service, good selection of beers. Also had dinner. Food was very good (pork medallions; chicken). Would go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank XineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent a couple of days in Corning - lots of choices for eats. Based on Trip Advisor ratings and the on-line menu we decided to have dinner at the Gaffer Grille and Taproom - great choice!

The Chicken Taco Dip appetizer was to die for - we joked with the waitress that we wanted boxes for our dinners and we'd have more of the appetizer!

Two of us had steak and found the cuts first rate - and the choice of toppings was great as well. The other entrees served to our party were equally as enjoyed.

Nice selection of beers on tap - including both local and imports ... and some you don't often see on draught.

The chocolate raspberry torte was great as well ... and certainly large enough to be shared and enjoyed.

Overall - highly recommended - we'd put this place on the top of the list to return to when in Corning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Bar; Adequate Food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

At dinner twice at Gaffer. Good bar scene; nice selection. Staff was helpful and friendly. Food was OK but not memorable. Prices mid-range. Overall satisfactory and better than much of the competition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painted Post, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seems to be getting worse”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I ordered the Jambalaya with orzo, it came with a generous helping of chicken, sausage, shrimp, and peppers. It was pretty good I also ordered the chicken covered with mushrooms which was very bland. I must say my last few times there haven't been great. The food doesn't seem to be as good as it used to be. I have been going to other places on market st because the food has been getting worse. This used to be my favorite place on Market st.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaffer Grille and Taproom also viewed

 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Gaffer Grille and Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing