We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent steak, good wine selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaffer Grille and Taproom

Gaffer Grille and Taproom
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Le Muy, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, good wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Well located in old Corning downtown, walking distance from the glass museum and nearby hotels, the Grille offers classic pubfare with great steaks and a good selection of beers and wines.
We had a great steak supper there in July, with my kids chosing from the children menu. Good food and a specially good wine selection.
Good service, no surprises. I have been going there for years (on business trips) and was never disapointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    87
    36
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to dinner here after reading other positive TripAdvisor reviews. We had an ok experience. I had a steak, 3 of my companions each ordered the chicken dip appetizer (after reading "it was to die for!") and another ordered a burger. My steak (a strip) was cooked to order as the reviews had mentioned, but had a lot of gristle and was a bit "chewy" versus being tender (I order strips a lot so I know the type of steak they are, and should not be compared to a filet mignon, etc.). My companions all were a bit disappointed in the lack of chicken in their appetizer - they had thought there would either be shredded chicken or small chunks of chicken, but all mentioned that there were little chicken bits and not many of them. They also said it was a pretty spicy dish. The person who had the burger said it was pretty good. The acoustics were a bit off as it was really noisy in the back dining room, and our server seemed overwhelmed with too many tables that night (she mentioned that she had quite a few other tables in another room), so our service was very slow and drinks were not refilled often (which was not great for the spicy dip eaters). It was not awful, and maybe we were there on an off night, but as in the title, it was an ok place with ok food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
382 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere right in Corning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We we're referred to this restaurant by our hotel and it was spot-on. Good food, good beer menu and friendly service. It's located right on the Main Street in Corning, with lots of neat shops and restaurants. My wife's steak was cooked just right. I had the blackened Mahi-Mahi (which I asked them to go light on the blackening / get it the regular way for more seasoning).

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Gaffer has become my new favorite Twin Tiers restaurant. Their steaks are some of the best I have ever had. Try the chicken wig dip, homemade perfection. The draft beer selection is large and impressive. Can be pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsBilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great bar and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Watched a world cup soccer game at the bar. Fun company, great service, good selection of beers. Also had dinner. Food was very good (pork medallions; chicken). Would go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank XineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaffer Grille and Taproom also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Gaffer Grille and Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing