We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will give them another chance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spencer's Restaurant - CLOSED

Spencer's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bath, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“will give them another chance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

the restaurant has sent us a $100.00 gift card to compensate the new years eve treatment and meal,,,,we will go back in april as the 2 other people that were with us that night are in the south visiting their daughter....I was assured by the owners that they are very sorry and hope this will make sure that we will want to come back again and again,,,looking forward to visiting spencers again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank icylady125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“dont go there on new years eve!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

i had made reservations for 4 people 5 days before new years eve for 6 oclock. ,i requested a table(not a booth) 2 of the four all large people. we arrived right at 6pm. the hostess was going to seat us in a booth.i said to her I requested a table. of course no tables were available. we waited 20 min to get a table. they we short of menues so we had 1 menu to look at....then even before we ordered a hostess came over and took our menu. they only had 2 waitresses on for the evening. we ordered.....the salad came right away...the French onion soup followed but was COLD.....I had ordered chicken with a side of spaghetti... when it came the chicken was cold and the waitress said they ran out of spaghetti so gave me noodles with sauce.my husband ordered steak cooked med rare with pot wedges...steak was over cooked wedges were hard and cold. the other couple meals were just as bad..this restaurant needs a new manager or they will go under...I know the four of us are not pleased with it and probably wont go there again...we spent over $120.00 for four terrible meals!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icylady125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“freaking astounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

best in the world.. amazing food, people who say otherwise are ignorant and deserve to be upset. I recommend it highly

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank respect44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

There wasn't anything about the place to make me return.They supposedly have a "Salad Bar" when in reality the server brought you your plate of greens and some veggies. The fish fry was mediocre at best. The wait staff was more interested in catering to a large party than in assisting the two of us. The atmosphere is more inviting than the food!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
609 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Basic Good Local Joint / Reasonably Priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have been to Spencer's before in my visits to Corning and will likely go again. It is not haute cuisine but a good local place with good value. Their fish fry on Fridays is very popular. There is a nice variety on the menu of meat & fish and pasta. There is always a good and congenial crowd - a relaxing place for home coooking and cozy atmosphere..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spencer's Restaurant also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing