We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Learning Experience and a Visual Delight”

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. From children looking for an adventure to artists looking for inspiration, there is something for everyone at The Corning Museum of Glass. Browse 3500 years of glassmaking history in our collection galleries, then watch glass come to life during the live Hot Glass Demo. You’ll be inspired to experience the wonder of glassmaking for yourself during a Make Your Own Glass workshop (reservations available online). See the stunning Contemporary Art + Design Wing, which houses a 26,000-square-foot contemporary gallery and 500-seat Amphitheater Hot Shop for live glass demos and design sessions. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free! Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+. Blue Star Museum- Free Admission for Active Military and family Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Learning Experience and a Visual Delight”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The Corning Museum is one of the places I had always wanted to visit and I was so pleased to
finally do so. It is fascinating to watch demonstrations of glass making and to view the many examples of glass throughout its history. My only disappointment was that we had only a few hours to spend, because a few days are really needed to really read and view all that is there, and to absorb it all. The colors, textures and forms absolutely dazzle ones eyes.

Particularly charming was a truck, parked just inside the entrance, with vases of daffodils, roses and other flowers, all made of glass.

An added surprise was the cafeteria; unlike most museums, the food was reasonable and quite tasty.

My visit was with my adult daughter and college student granddaughter. We all enjoyed it equally, but it is a museum that can be appreciated on different levels, by all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connecticutosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for the review of your Girls' Getaway! We are pleased you had a good time and hope you come back soon to see more. Thanks for sharing these great images as well. We are installing a new Tiffany Window that I'm sure you'll also enjoy during your next trip to Corning and The Finger Lakes. We're open year round so we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,177
    461
    84
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Corning Museum of Glass was worth the stop since we were in the area. Demonstrations were frequent and varied, exhibits were interesting and the gift shop was beautiful. It is kid friendly (despite being a glass museum!!). The make your own activities were fun. Only drawback was with everything (except sandblasting) you either have to come back the next day or pay to have your items shipped because the glass has to cool overnight. Staff was very friendly - everyone!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your review! Thanks for mentioning the value as well as the tip for considering the different glass working techniques into your trip schedule. Some guests choose to take advantage of our 2 consecutive day admission and stay in one of our partner attractions so they can see their handmade treasure the next day instead of shipping it home; others like that vacation reminder to arrive just after they’ve returned home from The Finger Lakes. We hope that learning about the requirements of glass working (like the annealing (cooling) process) were interesting. I will pass on your comment about the staff friendliness to our guest services staff; thank you for recognizing them as a part of your great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Visit!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

So many interesting exhibits! For technical or artistic. And the live glass - blowing show. Many good restaurants in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Be sure to check out our upcoming exhibitions for the rest of 2013 and into 2014; they are great exhibitions as well as great compliments to our permanent collection. Thank you again for your visit and review during your trip through Upstate New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely nice museum”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Everything was state-of-the-art, the demonstrations were very interesting and definitely worth the time. Everyone who worked there seemed very enthusiastic and friendly. The food in the cafe was some of the best museum food I've ever had!
Extremely glad I spent the time to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Corning. We are also extremely glad you took time to visit and share your experience with other travelers. I will be passing your comments on to the guest service staff as well as the cafe so they know to keep up the good work! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Worth the time!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I love this museum. Very modern but lots of history. I am sorry that the factory is no longer there. The new cafeteria is very nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank YurNeighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your visit last year! It's great to hear that you were able to return and see the improvements in the cafe and additions to our galleries and demonstrations. We hope that you saw that the Steuben factory space (always seperate from the museum) is a part of our expansion project and will continue the legacy of glassblowing that Corning is so proud of. If you haven't seen the images of upcoming expansion, check our our website for more info.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing