We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Glass Lover's Paradise”

Corning Museum of Glass
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.50*
and up
Corning Museum of Glass Admission
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. Open 9am-5pm every day year-round. Open 9am-8pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. Offering unique opportunities to explore glass: Live glassmaking demonstrations, Make Your Own Glass (addtl fee), hands-on glass exhibits, and stunning glass art collections. See the newly opened (March 2015) Contemporary Art + Design Wing. Make Your Own Glass projects reservations available online. Kids and Teens (17 and under) Free. Adult admission tickets are $19.50 and are good for two consecutive days. Discount of 15% for AAA/CAA, Students, Military and 55+.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Glass Lover's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

It has been many years since we were here last, and there were many changes. The massive gift shop was one of them, with all types of glass items available. The museum itself contained stunning pieces, with a large part of the modern grouping highlighting the work of Dale Chihuly. My grandson and I attended the "Hot Glass" demonstration, and then went to make our own ornaments in the glassblowing class. We could not stay in Corning another day to pick up our works, so they were sent to our home, in perfect condition. Recommend this highly!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to visit us again after a few years away. With your own handmade treasures to remind you about the art, history, and science of glass we hope you continue to explore more of this material. Visit again soon as we will have more contemporary art on display in the coming months. It sounds like you made great memories during your family trip to The Southern Finger Lakes! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,996
    433
    78
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great live demonstrations. Don't miss those. Uniquely designed buildings. Very crowded with bus loads of tourists on the weekends, so try for the weekdays. Sign up ahead of time for a workshop to make something from glass. Really, the best part of the trip. Definitely worth a stop for a few hours. Walk across the footbridge into town for great places to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janetlynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review! It sounds like we were a highlight to your trip to The Southern Finger Lakes. We are thrilled that you took the time to visit us as well as include the historic downtown in your trip to The Crystal City. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It Is As Good As Everyone Says”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I have a very strong interest in glass and have always wanted to visit. It happened that our trip took us in the area. This is a first class museum in every way. The historical exhibits are excellent and their demonstration of glass art processes are also well done. Bring the kids. They will love it and so will the old folks

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidKeltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for looking to us as you explore your interest in glass. We hope you were inspired by your visit. We invite you to visit again and perhaps explore the Rakow Research Library (check it our on our website as well) and/or visit the Studio for a class in various techniques. Be sure to follow our social media to fill you with even more glass, our events calendar for educational programs and seminars, and live stream demonstrations from well known artists. Thanks for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A two-day must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited the Corning Museum of Glass on August 3 and 4th. It was great. I was impressed by the number of places that they had for people to sit. I have a bad knee that needs to rest when I am doing a lot of walking and I could always find a bench to take a few minutes to rest. The only drawbacks and they are certainly no reflection on the museum is the number of guests who have no respect for personal space. You are looking at an exhibit and they squeeze right in front of you to view it and take photos. This might come to an end if photos were forbidden.
Also the number of people who insist on bringing very small children. It is evident by the running around, carrying on and just being children that they are bored out of their minds. Maybe the museum could consider an admission day or a few hours that is an adult-only time. That being said, we will be sure to visit again if we are in that area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank monroeville890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you found great places to pause and enjoy the art, history, and science of glass. We are glad that the 2 day admission provided you with flexibility in your travel through The Southern Finger Lakes. It sounds like your interactions with other guests didn't match your otherwise positive interactions with our staff and our collection. We appreciate you sharing that part of your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again as we continue to tell the world about glass. Thanks again for taking the time to visit and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpectedly excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Bad weather resulted in a last minute decision to visit Corning and the museum of glass. Unexpectedly excellent from the live demonstrations to the exhibits to the food....and making your own glassware was an enjoyable and unique experience for the whole family, teens and youngsters.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank seanj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing! It sounds like even though the weather required you to adjust any outdoor plans, that you were pleased with your option to learn about the art, history, and science of glass. We hope you made great memories and enjoyed your time in The Southern Finger Lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing