We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great lunch”

Old World Cafe and Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Restaurant details
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great lunch”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stopped here for lunch while in Corning. The sandwiches were delicious and very substantial. Also had soup and it was very good. Prices were not outrageous and service was quick. Definitely a do again when back in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachTraveler1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    45
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ice cream & candy bar!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The ice cream is so good. We probably stopped in here, 5 times, during out two week visit to Corning. This place is old timey in that it is decorated this way and there is a variety of candy next to ice cream that you would see in Willy Wonka & Chocolate factory. Really cool place to hang out for a few.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mymarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bena, VA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Casual & Good”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is counter order, table served. Building is probably restored, but looks authentic. Not usually crazy about counter order restaurants, but the lunch menu selection looked good so thought we would give it a try. Both my wife and I had sandwiches of which we ate about 1/2 each. Took leftovers in "go boxes" and made great leftover dinners. Only complaint was minor in that I thought the only beverages available were bottled. Later found out that could have ordered fresh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TidewaterVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch before going to the Museum of Glass. Our sandwiches were delicious, and the ambiance is perfect - just what you would expect in this pretty little town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suze412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattsburg
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a deal”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The reason you stop at a place like this is ambiance. Well, you will find that here AND wonderful ice cream. To top it off, great value as the portion was larger than expected. Downright good good good!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old World Cafe and Ice Cream also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old World Cafe and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing