We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice-cream!”

Old World Cafe and Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Restaurant details
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great ice-cream!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped here just to have an ice-cream during a really hot day. Cute old-fashioned decorated place on the main street. The ice-cream was delicious with a variety of flavors. Next time we would like to try the sandwiches and soups.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple soup and sandwich place”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As my title says, it's simple: soups and sandwiches. You get enough but don't expect to be stuffed for the ten in your wallet--which is about what it runs per person. If I had to do it over again, we would have preferred to go to Slammin Sammy's BBQ--better prices, more food, more flavor. I wish the Japanese place would have been open--which was our first choice. Nonetheless, this kept us running with a standard lunch. Cheers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent soup and sandwiches. It is homemade, healthy and there are great vegetarian sandwiches. They are very friendly and is clearly a local favorite . Tried it twice and have always been pleased

Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
“Excellent variety of offerings”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Terrific sandwiches, and absolutely outstanding home made soups. The Manhattan Clam Chowder is especially noteworthy and recommended.

A very nice and different atmosphere for this restaurant located in an extraordinary small city, Corning, New York.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful homemade soups and sandwiches!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Very popular local spot! It is right on the open area where concerts are held, and Santa has his splice in December. Great ice cream counter and the sandwiches, paninis, and homemade soups are REALLY favorable. Good choice for a light lunch or ice cream!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old World Cafe and Ice Cream also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old World Cafe and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing