We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sandwiches & ice cream!”

Old World Cafe and Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches & ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

One of my favorite places in town! They have great hard ice cream with huge servings, and fun choices for milkshakes. I also love the gourmet sandwiches! The atmosphere is nostalgic of an old candy/soda shop, and it's located in heart of Market Street next to the park, so you can sit outside too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
266 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great ice-cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped here just to have an ice-cream during a really hot day. Cute old-fashioned decorated place on the main street. The ice-cream was delicious with a variety of flavors. Next time we would like to try the sandwiches and soups.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PepperNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple soup and sandwich place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

As my title says, it's simple: soups and sandwiches. You get enough but don't expect to be stuffed for the ten in your wallet--which is about what it runs per person. If I had to do it over again, we would have preferred to go to Slammin Sammy's BBQ--better prices, more food, more flavor. I wish the Japanese place would have been open--which was our first choice. Nonetheless, this kept us running with a standard lunch. Cheers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent soup and sandwiches. It is homemade, healthy and there are great vegetarian sandwiches. They are very friendly and is clearly a local favorite . Tried it twice and have always been pleased

Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
338 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“Excellent variety of offerings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Terrific sandwiches, and absolutely outstanding home made soups. The Manhattan Clam Chowder is especially noteworthy and recommended.

A very nice and different atmosphere for this restaurant located in an extraordinary small city, Corning, New York.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old World Cafe and Ice Cream also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old World Cafe and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing