We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tasty of Texas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ

Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“A tasty of Texas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Omg good! Fast fresh and awesome all the way around. Family friendly! The brisket is great and my son had the pulled pork! Fry's are boardwalk style and great!

Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slamminjammin, Owner at Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am happy to see you liked the food. The fries are defiantly a customer favorite! Hope to see you again!

Thank you,

Ben Lewis- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    61
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
366 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Stopped here for lunch with girlfriends. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The place has a nice smoky aroma when you walk in. The staff are friendly and the meat was nicely done. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich, a friend got the brisket and another the chicken fingers.

The sides were a sweet coleslaw, French fries and corn on the cob.

Everything was quite good. The meat was tender and had a nice smokiness to it.


We used the bathroom in the rear and the meat was just coming out of the smoker and was still warm. Everything was clean and looked good.

Helpful?
1 Thank cakedeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and just down the street from MoCG”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Crazy, rainy day in the Finger Lakes so we decided to visit the Museum of Corning Glass which we had never had occasion to visit on earlier trips to the area. Figuring we'd probably take in lunch while we were there, we referred to Tripadvisor to narrow down a place to eat. After a few hours at MoCG we hopped in the car, headed to the historic downtown area looking for the restaurant, (I hadn't paid attention to where the restaurant was situated), only to find out that it was down the street from MoCG and we could have walked.

Situated in a strip mall Slammin Jammin doesn't really stand out and since it was pouring at this point and a little late for lunch we didn't have the benefit of seeing lots of cars parked there or people eating outside on the patio. Nevertheless we ventured in and had a fabulous meal. This is a really casual restaurant with high tops and rustic wood furnishings. No pretension here just extremely friendly people making really good food.

You order at the cash, find yourself a seat and then wait for all that delicious food to be delivered to your table. On the owner's recommendation we started with the bacon-wrapped stuffed jalapenos (fabulous) then followed that with a huge rack of ribs and barbecued chicken. Everything was tasty, the meat flavourful and juicy. Since we were the only ones there at the time (remember it was pouring and late for lunch) the owner, Ben, stopped over several times to check and make sure everything was o.k. and to see if there was anything further he could do for us. Other than getting us a take-out box to pack up the remaining ribs we were happy and full.

Slammin Jammin has plans for expansion and the addition of beer/wine on their menu. In the meantime it's definitely worth tracking down and enjoying some great southern BBQ especially if you're visiting the MoCG because it's just down the street. But even if you're just looking for some really good food, eat in or take out, make the effort to stop in.

One question we did have for the owner was how a Texan who creates such tasty southern barbecue found himself in an unlikely place like Corning N.Y. You'll have to ask Ben for the answer, and you should because it's a really beautiful story. You MUST eat here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ryerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

BBQ sauce and ribs were excellent. Good fries and corn muffin as well a pulled pork. Sweet tea was also refreshing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We decided to stop by for a bite. The food was very good but I found the person taking the order was unpleasant but the owner made up for it by asking how the food was. Would definitely go back but just because we ordered water she gave us a weird look.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mocha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing