We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but ordinary”
Review of Sorge's Restaurant

Sorge's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 71 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Corning Family Dining Tradition since 1951. Sorge’s is a 2nd generation family owned restaurant specializing in homemade pasta, sauces, desserts, and our own special blend of top choice beef for our burgers. Features: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with Children, Groups up to 80, Reservations, Romance, Special Occasions, Takeout, Full Liquor License, Handicap accessible, Free Parking in front.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's hard for this restaurant to stand out as there are several places on Market Street to eat and the menu is pretty typical Olive Garden fare without the ambiance. If you want Italian, I'd suggest Tanino's in Horseheads or the Olive Garden by the Arnot Mall.

Thank Phoenix14830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time for your review. We are the only place in the area that hand makes our pasta daily. And of course we also custom make our sauces. Our customers also really enjoy the ambiance we have created. Thanks and come again. Mike & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We went here after reading the TA review. We had four different meals the lasagne was fine but nothing special the sauce was good but lacked the subtlety of flavouring for me to class it as great. grilled chicken salad was excellent and the spag boll was lovely. The chicken scampi was very oily and the quality of the chicken was not great. The server was fab and the restaurant was busy for a Monday

Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello Ray, Thanks for your comments. We strive to provide a high quality dining experience to all of customers. I am sorry we did not reach that level on your last visit. We only use high quality ingredients and produce in our meals. I wish you had shared your opinion of the chicken scampi plate while you were in the restaurant and we could have fixed it immediately. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the other meals. Mike & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very impressed with the food and value. Superb meal without breaking the bank. The fresh bread was outstanding and the service exceptional.

Thank wvgolfchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you. We love it when our out of town visitors share their experiences. Mike & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Getting greated at the door is always nice.
I used to eat there when I worked in that area and needed to go back. The food and service was still good.
I had the angry shrimp and it had just the right "hot". My husband had the lasagna and he said it was delious.
We waddled our way back down the street to our car.

Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks Judy. The Angry Sauce is becoming a very popular choice. Glad you and your husband enjoyed your meal. Mike & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went for the gluten free pasta and it was very good. Quaint little remodeled restaurant in the scenic downtown area. I would love to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janetlynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorges_in_Corning, Owner at Sorge's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you JanetLynn13. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts. Mike & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorge's Restaurant also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sorge's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing