We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gatehouse Motel

Gatehouse Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gatehouse Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corning
North, VA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Surprise value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

I picked this place based on previous reviews. No frills and outdated but clean. The owner was very helpful with where to go for dinner/breakfast.
If you need amenities like shampoo, hair dryer, clock, etc, Go up the road and spend twice as much. If you are like us and want a clean, safe and inexpensive place to sleep stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    12
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here one night in September. Petty basic hotel, clean and quiet with no real extra amenities. But it was definitely a value motel. The room was clean, albeit musty. We had a mini fridge which was a nice surprise. Definitely nothing luxury, but if you're looking for a good value and a place just to lay your head, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggysue_NY48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Dates of stay - September 7 thru 9th.

Very basic accommodation. Worn sheets and towels. No coffeemaker -- nor coffee offered in office area. No clock. Ice and soda machines broken. Unfriendly manager who liked to sleep late. A sparse setting. On the plus, our room was clean.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012musicman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I will go to Corning again, knowing that I can stay here. Staff is lovely, grounds are well kept. I had a room with a view of what appeared to be the owners back yard with trees and a small garden. It was very quiet, I heard no noise from neighbors or the road. Yes, it's older, just think of it as time travel. :-) I travel alone and was very comfortable here. Don't expect a refrigerator or coffee maker. The ice machine looked like it hadn't worked in a while. Great price, good location. I paid $64.00 which included tax. Read what others have said because they said it well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtravler_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Its true the Gate house is dated. If you are willing to overlook this you will find a clean comfortable room for a great price. The location is just outside of town.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPacoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

A short drive from Corning, a mom and pop place, that hasn't been upgraded ever, it was clean and $60 a night. The Raddison is on the main street and with in walking distance to everything, Stay at the Rad if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

A nice bargain less than 4 miles from the center of Corning. No frills but very clean and comfortable, with a friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful owner. I would definitely go there again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Motel

Property: Gatehouse Motel
Address: 11409 Lpga Dr, Corning, NY 14830-3663
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corning
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated for over 25 years, we provide clean and comfortable accommodations at an economical price.Conveniently located to downtown Corning, Elmira Airport, Watkins Glen, and the Finger Lakes Wine trails.Extended stays are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gate House Hotel Corning
Gate Hotel Corning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing